Steemit Experiences: Playing with Steemauto!

in #steemauto7 years ago (edited)

Hello! Welcome back to my blog! I hope you are having a lovely day and learning all sorts of things on Steemit. I sure am! I am experimenting with SteemAuto as of late (and some voting bots) and like to share what I have learnt so far.

Steemauto is pretty awesome! It is similar to other tools like Steemvoter or Streemian, neither of which I used before. Basically, it helps take care of some curation for you, and also lets you support certain curators in their trail! Steemauto has other functions as well though, which I will explain how I use em!

I was not super into the idea of automated curation nor into voting bots like a month ago, but lately I have seen the need arise for automated curation in my life. Voting bots, not so much, though they can be fun and interesting to play around with. 

I like @minnowbooster but that is about the only one so far I enjoy. For 0.1 SBD I get a vote of 0.26. Not bad, not amazing, not entirely worth my time! (I don't want to use voting bots unless I make like hardly anything for a post I worked hard on! and even then..... sometimes you will see me playing around though, all in good fun! The ecosystem here is so interesting, I gotta explore it!). I recommend curation guilds such as @qurator though instead of voting bots (not to mention I don't get bidding at all aha).

Busy as a bee I will be!

Basically, as spring comes closer and closer, I am getting busier and busier! Steemauto is going to help me take care of some Steemit housekeeping when I spend most of my time outside in the warmer months. Right now, I am just playing around with it and working out some kinks. It takes care of some very important functions!

  • First off, Steemauto helps me upvote the curation guilds I am in such as @qurator and @geopolis. These guys are doing some awesome work so I love to support them, and I also get into a higher tier if I upvote their posts! These guys are by far the BEST way to get extra votes! Steemauto automatically upvotes their posts at a set percentage so that I don't have to visit the blogs all the time and manually upvote. I did that manually for a while, and of course I still do check out their posts to support the peeps on there, but if I am having a busy week I know I am supporting them still and don't gotta fret.
  •  I also have a few other friends on my fanbase who get automatic upvotes from me. I have found through @ginabot that there are a few people who have me on their fanbases and it is very endearing and helpful! I wanna pass that forward. Some of the cool peeps on here write a lot and I really can't keep up with all of that reading unless I spend all day on here so it helps with that too. I have been playing around with voting % so that I keep my voting power at a decent level. Like with the curation guilds, it feels good knowing I will be using some voting power everyday even if I am busy as heck and not online!
  • I am using the curation trails as well for @qurator and @geopolis. I have run into a little trouble with this last night haha. Basically I am now one of those accounts that upvotes your post, trailing after @qurator or @geopolis curation. I have been playing around with the percentages and I think I found some limits! First off, I found the difference between the scaled and fixed options very important. You can choose at what percent you upvote, and you can choose if that percent is fixed or if it will change depending on the original vote. I set it to fixed at 4% yesterday and totally drained my voting power! I voted on soo many qurator posts (they have over 900 members!) so this was not a good idea. Luckily Steemauto makes it so if your VP goes down to a set percent it stops all the voting. Phew, I was left with 70% VP at least this morning! Gotta recharge! I think I am going to try it at 5% or 10% VP but on a scale. We will see how that works out!
 Ill let the FAQ of Steemauto explain  the fixed and scaled thing better: " Fixed voting weight means you will upvote with exact percentage you entered. Scale voting weight means your voting weight will changed by trail voted weight. Let's say you followed a trail by this method with 10% then if trail upvotes any post by 50%, your upvote weight will be 5% (10% of 50%) "
  • Now, this one is useful! I have not tried it yet but will very soon (probably with this very post!). It is a function that ques your posts for you! MAN, this will be SO HELPFUL. I am not in a writing mood everyday, and when I am I often push out a couple posts at a time, like right now. I also struggle with the whole waiting to post thing. Most of the time when I finish a post I just wanna hit the button and see the results roll in. The que function will solve these problems for me! When I finish a post but could probably wait a few more hours or even a day before posting, I can que it up! This will also help for those busy days where I can't post at all. That way, when summer comes and I am busy as a bee, I can take a rainy day to hash out a few posts, que them all, and still have consistent content! Super helpful!
  • Ill let you in on the other two functions Steemauto holds but which I don't think I am ready to use yet! The first is automatically accepting your rewards in your wallet for you. This seems pretty useful if you get a lot of rewards, but as of right now I really like accepting my earnings and doesn't take much time. It helps me keep track of it all too, and a sense of satisfaction :P
  • Secondly there is an option to automatically upvote comments from certain users, at a certain percent, and with a limit of 2 comments a day! This seems useful for some people, maybe if I get REALLY busy or have some fans that ALWAYS comment. But as of right now I enjoy reading my comments and replying more then most things, and I like to tailor my upvote on those comments to the quality of the comment. Plus, I really dunno who my super comment supporters are haha. I have no need for this function yet, but I am sure it could be helpful for some!

Thats about all there is for Steemauto as of now, so far I am loving it and its pretty fun playing around with this kinda stuff. I will figure out the best practices and then I will be on top of curation well still being a busy bee this summer! Of course, nothing beats manual curation. I still read posts and curate the mythology tag, but its nice having some breathing room with some automated stuff. If you want to learn more and sign up for Steemauto, check out this post!

Thank you for visiting friends! I hope this day and week and life treat you well. Blessed be <3

All images are from pixabay or canva! 

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 49.791461 lat -119.485245 long Okanagan <3 d3scr)


Sort:  

Thanks for the info! I will check it out, sounds pretty useful I've come across a more people putting up good content every day, so I can see where soon it will be hard to keep track. I also don't know about voting bots, One guy told me most of the voting was done on here was by bots so I tried it, and it's nice to get the extra coin but something about it doesn't seem quite right. I need to learn more about it. I think I'm gonna try the resteem bot, it seems better to me to put the post in front of as many people as possible and let them decide. Especially when your rep is low. Another great post!

Yeah for sure the resteem bots are interesting. I find voting bots questionable too, it is really easy to misuse them. I think occasionally they could be useful and more interesting and fun then anything :P I like bots that support a good cause like treeplanter!

Did you try Steemdunk? I think I will set up automatic upvotes there. I have school and can't spend a lot of time upvoting.

no I havent, just Steemauto for me so far. There are so many sites, I cant keep track of them all!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=skycae
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemit-experiences-playing-with-steemauto-1517872712


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for the article and for the vote. I indeed learned a lot about steemauto and will give it a try right now.
Think of bidbots as analyzers of all their incoming transfers, calculating voting power needed to satisfy as many of the transfers in order of profit. So you make a transfer and you will get your vote in a few hours if they can squeeze you in.
I never used bid bots and as a general rule they are frowned upon by the community because of the deservice they do to the platform.

I tend to follow introductory posts and reward promising people ( for which 1 SBD is a LOT ) and since I don't have your delegated SP (:P), I use MinnowBooster to vote regardless of my voting power. I usually give more than 50 votes a day.
This is the reason I only followed you and will drop by on your next post with the vote! Great job again!

I see the current pattern of your votes!
Go science! :D

Sweet ideas man, it seems smart for a small fry as yourself and myself to use minnowbooster! I never even thought of that but indeed it does make your vote worth more I suppose. Have you ever tried treeplanter? Its one of those voting bots I love haha, because you gotta share someone elses content and you plant trees :P
Thank you for stopping by and finding value in my blog <3 I appriciate it!

You are welcome! I will read about it. You gave me serious homework today!

Sweet :P There are so many cool things on here its redic! Have you heard of Steem Basic Income?

I did and I read about it once. I followed them now. I had a busy day at work today and I managed to write my new article about orbital dynamics. I will post it in a few hours after I proofread ( I write in html code directly ). I am reading now about treeplanter and steem basic income. Thanks!

ahh I see, the html thing is confusing for me, I like editor but use the html for a few formatting things. I am looking forward to your article!

Congratulations @skycae! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33