You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blog rewards CAN’T be widely distributed

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

The blogging platform is a Trojan Horse (Dan's term, never forget that)... basically a device to bootstrap something infinitely more valuable = a fast currency that can handle microtx on a general purpose platform.

https://steemit.com/steem/@dan/steemit-s-evil-plan-for-cryptocurrency-world-domination

In terms of the blogging rewards, it's meant to replace Google ad revenue that drives professional blogging. So any discussion that ignores how random whale upvoting will replace Google ad payments to professional writers misses the point.

This may be a harsh reality for some, but the world is not crying out for more 22 yo amateur bloggers.

Sort:  

Note that dilemma predicted by my 2016 blog is happening.

Vitalik wrote an excellent blog on the game theory of Collusion which is relevant to this blog of mine.

I had seen allusions to Dan's use of that term. Haha, I think he got that subconsciously from me, as I had so often referred to Bitcoin as a Trojan Horse of the DEEP STATE since 2013, and he has turned it around to have a positive meaning. I am just joking about him getting it from me, but I was known to be the one heavily using that term at Bitcointalk.

Of course most of us understand the motivation to move away from spamming ourselves with ads.

And the greater incentive for mankind is to stop the sort of censorship and theft of followers that the behemoth social networks are doing (see my comment reply to @spookypooky below).

As for professional bloggers, I think it is all about building community and monetizing the community. Ads are a form of that but they have low relevance which is why we find them spammy.

Thus intuitively I don't expect a globalized monetization to be conceptually correct. One of the differences between the design instincts of Dan and myself, has always been that I am looking for degrees-of-freedom and (at least in the past) he was trying to design in some globalized interest rate and collectivized monetary aspects. This was one of the key differences I observed between our thought processes when he and I used to discuss before he left Bitcointalk for his Bitshare forum. However, I also see he has innovated in ways that are insightful. I am thinking the globalized debasement can be used with some localized community degree-of-freedom, but I haven't yet worked out exactly how to do this. I am still in analysis mode.

Btw, this system is a tremendous accomplishment. A lot of development effort in this and an ecosystem with a lot of people contributing. Kudos.

This experiment is providing much data and a testbed for increasing our understanding; and is causing a lot of brainstorming in our cryptocommunity.

Edit: note I have replied to Dan's latest blog proposal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51