How will SMTs send STEEM "to the moon"?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Since the announcement of Smart Media Tokens (SMTs) a lot of people have been saying that the price of STEEM will "go to the moon". In a post I made earlier today I asked "why will it go to the moon...what am I missing?". I stated at the beginning of that post that I had not yet read the whole SMT whitepaper and lo and behold on page 56 there is a section entitled:

 Increasing Market Demand for STEEM with SMTs and Implicit Value Drivers rather than Fees 

Which, in layman's terms, means "why SMTs will increase the value of STEEM"! So I figured I would make another post to answer my own question since it seems like others were wondering the same thing as me and probably don'[t want to read through the whole white paper to find out.

I don't typically make two posts in one day, but with all of the excitement around SMTs I thought maybe I could do it just this once...anyway I'm going to jump into my understanding of the items in the white paper from the above quoted section. Please feel free to jump in in the comments if you think I'm wrong about anything - which is quite likely!


Reason 1 - Bandwidth Restrictions

STEEM Purchased for Transaction Bandwidth Enables Maximally Profitable Participation across SMTs 

My reading of this section is that people who want to use SMTs will need to have some STEEM in order to have the bandwidth to transact on the Steem blockchain. I don't think this will apply to regular users much but they specifically mention "power users" will need this. I don't expect this will really drive all that much demand for STEEM but I could be wrong there.

Reason 2 - STEEM Supply Locked Through Market Makers

STEEM Supply is Locked into Liquidity Pools by Automated Market Makers 

In simple terms, this means that for each SMT some amount of STEEM will be set aside or "locked" in order to always allow that SMT to be bought or sold for STEEM. This means that if I want to sell some SMTs there will always be some STEEM available to make that trade. Again, I don't really expect this to drive too much demand for STEEM.

Reason 3 - STEEM can influence the reward payouts of other SMTs

STEEM and SMT Demand Increases with Advent of New Powers of Influence 

Please correct me if I'm wrong about this one - but I read this to mean that people with vested STEEM (Steem Power) can vote on posts created using a SMT and thereby influence the reward payouts for those posts. So for example if Reddit created their own SMT, then since I have some Steem Power I can vote on a Reddit post and increase the rewards payout even though I don't have any of the Reddit SMT myself. So basically it gives more power or influence to vested STEEM and thereby could drive up the value of STEEM. I really can't say how much of an effect this would have on the price of STEEM but it could be significant.

Reason 4 - You need STEEM to buy into an ICO

STEEM Demand Increases with Proliferation of SMT ICOs 

This is really the big one - to buy into a SMT ICO, you need STEEM. If ICOs on Steem are anywhere near as successful as Ethereum ICOs have been over the past year or two then that's a lot of STEEM that will need to be purchased and I see that as the real driver for the price to increase. The thing is that I think there will be a big initial demand for these ICOs but then over time it will die down and they won't be so common or raise so much money. At that point it will be interesting to see where the STEEM price ends up and how much the other 3 reasons above contribute to its value.

So there you have it - 4 reasons of why SMTs will increase the value of STEEM (or my interpretations of them at least) straight from the white paper.

Sort:  

If you imagine that only about 40K steem is mined each day and we onboard let say 500 million users. What price do you expect?

500M users is a huge number, more than 1000x what Steem has today. Still what I struggle with is that more users doesn't necessarily mean a higher STEEM price. Only more buying of STEEM will increase the price and new users don't need to purchase any STEEM to participate, so if we get a bunch more users and they don't buy much STEEM then the price won't go up much.

If speculators buy STEEM as the user base increases only because they think the price will go up then that just creates a bubble which will end at some point and the price will go back down to some reasonable value based on the actual utility of the STEEM token.

So that's what I'm trying to figure out - the utility of the STEEM token and the value of that utility. To it's credit, STEEM is the only cryptocurrency I'm aware of that seems to be used for anything other than speculation - it's used to promote content, which is great. Based on the above post, it seems likely that SMTs will give it even more utility beyond that which should actually increase the value of the token itself.

If just 1M out of 500 buy 10 steem then the price should go up.

Amazing job @yabapmatt Followed...

This is actually some awesome work! Followed

This post has received a 25.97 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @yabapmatt. Send at least 0.25 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 13.79 % upvote from thanks to: @yabapmatt.
For more information, click here!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.97 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @yabapmatt. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 5.71 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @yabapmatt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82