Commander Steem Reporting for Duty! (Also Celebrating My 2,000th Post!)

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Commander Steem seamlessly enhances steemit.com with voice recognition and text to speech features! A voice based command & control mechanism, custom made for steemit!

Recently I found out that I have a degenerative condition that is stealing my eyesight. I realized I needed a superhero, so I created Commander Steem to ensure that me and others like me, will have the tools needed to make participation a breeze from here on out.

This is my 2,000th post on steemit.com and I just wanted to use this opportunity to announce the project and thank everyone for all of their support!

My goal is to enable a new level of user interaction and engagement for low and limited vision users while allowing everyone to reach out and participate more naturally.

Commander Steem isn't limited to just the differently abled or even just old guys like me.

The road map includes a number of handy features, with the eventual goal of allowing you to engage and interact with steemit completely hands free, simply by talking to your computer or cell phone.

Before final release, Commander Steem will have the following features...
[+] Dictation of replies
[+] Dictation of blogs
[-] Support for Multiple Languages
[-] Speech Directed Pagination
[-] Highlight and read
[-] Speak to vote
[-] Speak to pay
[-] Speak to transfer
[-] Speak to trade
[-] Notification of new replies
[-] Notification of new votes
[-] Notification of new followers
[-] Notification of new content mentioning you
[-] Share on steemit (highlight content on the web, say "share on steemit" and he will start a blog about it)

... If there is anything else you'd like to see, it goes here

features with a + are code complete, while features with a - are planned for future releases
I'm aiming to knock out one feature per week and if all goes as planned they will be completed in the above order.

Everyone is welcome and encouraged to use Commander Steem and provide feedback.

By changing the way in which we engage the platform, I believe we'll be able to grow our user base by bringing in many, many people who have been left out in the cold by other social media platforms.

This is an alpha version for testing purposes only.
It is presently available only on github because it still needs a lot more testing and isn't ready for primetime... yet.

When released, it will be available in the Google Chrome webstore.

At the moment Commander Steem is limited to dictation tasks and will need a bit more refinement even at that task, which is why I'm reaching out at this time. Since it's a chrome extension It should work the same on Windows, Linux, OSX, Android and ChromeOS.

Commander Steem Needs YOU!
We need documentors!
We need testers!
We need feedback!

Because I plan to eat my own dog food, I will be using the dictation feature of Commander Steem to dictate all my replies going forward. So please feel free to comment and ask lots of questions!

A big shout out to @novium who has also started an initiative to address accessibility concerns in steemit in general. Please make sure to give him some upvote love as well!

Sort:  

Congradulations and keep up the good work!

Thank you so much.
It's been a lot of work but I'm glad to have gotten this far.

Congrats! :)

I'm also nearing in on 2k soon! We'll be some of the few ;)

2000 or 20000 pretty soon it might be a million.
This isn't just social media, it's a serious addiction!

This is absolutely great! I have no disability, but typing is a pain! Voice dictation is the future. If you pull this off, I will donate something from my meagre funds, you deserve a reward, and I think others should do the same.

Wow I really appreciate that!
The best way anybody can help right now though is to download it and give it a shot exclamation point

Sounds great. Btw, are you planning to run for witness? We need more people like @klye, and I think you have what it takes for that role.
Also, is any help needed for i18n support? I might be able to help with Russian. Or does it use existing code/libraries/whatever for it?

I don't have the resources to run for office right now. however thank you for the compliment.
As for internationalization yes we could help with that actually.
There will be a translators table available for the command and control section. Hopefully it will just be a matter of finding correct word mappings.

I'll give it a look when it is going to appear. :-) Keeping mye eye on developments.
And be sure to announce when your situation changes, would love to vote for you.

William, this is fantastic! Thanks heaps for developing this. I'm sure I will try this out in the future. I looked at the link you sent me the other day, and it looks very promising. I will try to test it when I have more time and let you know how it goes.
I particularly like the dictation to vote function, as I currently can't do that on my mobile. So I'm looking forward to the addition of that feature.

Excellent I really hope that that will help you. It's using exact same API that we are. But it's the developers demo that Google put out there for the web speech API. And now we just need to leverage that.

Great job!

Why would you eat your own dog food?

Eating your own dog food. is an old saying that means you are using the products that you make.
It's a figure of speech, and it's not intended to be taken literally.

Well good luck to you I hope it is a great success. The world could use a better translator... it would be great if it could also do languages.

Translation isn't actually a goal of this.
What it will do is allow for command and control functions in your native language. As well as recognizing speak in your native language. The particular API that were using, happens to be multilingual.
We just need to enable that functionality. But it's a matter of exposing it and that is a lot of code!

Congrats on your 2000th post and best wishes on this new project which should be helpful to the community!

Thank you very much! I hope it helps the community. It's been a lot more work than I had anticipated just to get it this far. I'm glad to see it finally coming together though.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

2000 post is really something. keep bring us the good stuff.:-)

I know when I saw it I nearly flipped out.
That's just an unbelievable amount of activity on the social media Network.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69