How To Retrieve Historic Vote Payout Values From Steem? Anyone Know?

in #steem6 years ago

I am currently in the process of coding a proof of concept for the generosity rank algorithm for Steem that I posted about recently.... But I'm stuck - how to calculate the value of votes historically?

steemsql

This first version of the algorithm is just for testing and it is likely that the finished article will be quite different to the version I originally posted about - however, I can't do much to improve it if I can't access the data needed to make it work. I am using the steemSQL system from @arcange to manipulate and access the Steem blockchain data and I have been able to do that successfully but I need to know specifically what formulas to use to calculate the value of any historic vote - the value it would have held at the time it was made. As far as I can see, that data isn't easily available in the blockchain/database - although I could just be missing it.

I found a post from @paulag that clarifies the logic and fields used to calculate the value of a vote in the present moment (e.g. a vote that is about to be cast) - but nothing so far that explains how to calculate historic values. I know this can be done though since the Steemit browser extension by @armandocat does it - but that user profile has been inactive for 3 months (and the browser extension is broken too). Maybe the source code for the extension is on Github? I haven't found it as yet.

So in short - if you know how to access this data - whether using the TxVotes table in SteemSQL or though some other method - do let me know! Thanks!

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul


signature

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

Well, I found this post that goes some way to answering the question, but the actual formula is still incomplete.. I continue!

Well above my pay grade.....Too technical for me but I do hope you find your answer :) BE LOVE BE TRUE FOR THAT IS YOU.

I think you need to look at the Steemd source code.

From their you can scrape people's account history, and thus their posts.

Filter out all of the 'follow', 'authored', 're-steemed' and 'replied' messages.

At that point, you should be left with a list with only outgoing votes and author/curation rewards.


That would be the best strategy I can come up with right now.

As far as I am aware, the Steemd system doesn't record historic payout levels, relative to the reward pool at the time the post paid out - at least not visibly in the UI. The only place I've seen that data used so far is in the browser extension I mentioned - but I'll bare in mind the idea of looking at the Steemd source too.

Should not we ask the person who made it?

SteemSQL is just a database version of the Steem blockchain. The documentation for the blockchain is not the best, so yes it is good to ask the people who created it all but they are very busy and hard to reach sometimes.

Yes thanks for information
Maybe I do not know yet because I'm new here

this is the one piece of information I was not able to get my self. I have found all of the data except the users voting power at time of vote. let me know if you do find this. But it has been confirmed to me that it is not in steemsql

I see, have you found a way of accessing reward pool values for specific timestamps? I think I have only seen the function so far that returns it for the present moment.
this post appears to give some parts of the answer - I need to learn more about Rshares.

You do work hard :)

I am very busy, yes! At some point I will stop and rest :)

you create a great post..i like it...i hope everybody like your post...thanx for shear it

Sinceramente estas haciendo un gran trabajo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76