Temporarily pausing my anti-abuse efforts while SBD is off the chart.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

It is currently too contentious to flag people self up-voting.

I believe the current reward from SBD are so far off what contributions should earn that it is not sane to not allow large investors to benefit equally.

I've been expending most of my SP to support Steem ecosystem development / education and fight vote-collusion - self rewarding abuse for the last two years.

Those who know me personally know I am also paying developers to build projects benefiting Steem with scope and costs far beyond what an announcement post could generate.

All fund I earn through self-voting will be used toward such initiatives. I will come up with a mechanism for disclosing where the money will be spent in the upcoming days. Suggestions?

Those willing to counter my self-upvotes on comments are more than welcome to do so.

Sort:  

Nice, enjoy the benefits! A big dose of freedom and mind your own business is overdue on the site.

Yes, leader. @whatsup
Freedom is the most important thing
The world has become amazing by this rare technology and creativity in all the business magazines, economy and many ... The list is long

you said well.
BUT he takes a good step
so we should support him.
#whatsup

Why should the amount received dictate whether self voting is allowed or not? I’m pro self voting but I see no reason a rise in return should sway a person’s opinion.

If the value rises to an unbelievable amount and you can’t see sense in not voting your own up maybe people who were previously self voting just had a lower amount to hit their threashold at.

Just something to consider. Good on you for announcing it though!

I believe the rewarding dynamic should be allowed to change artificially depending on the current need of Steem. Right now I believe Steem need more software development and maybe more marketing than expending money to incentivize content at the constraining rate of 1 vote every 2.4 hours and payout after 7 day. The 7 day windows doesn't allow to direct the reward efficiently at the most needed contributions and create a lot of ephemeral initiatives like softwares that end up unsupported and initiatives that fade out.

Fair enough. I guess I’d like a static set of rules regarding self voting but to each their own.

In regards to criticism for voting on your own posts you’ll find none from me. If you want your content to be seen self voting can be a useful tool. Thanks for spending SBD to improve the ecosystem though :)

There is a LUDICROUS payout right now, for articles and blogs that wouldn't possibly [in most cases] make 10% or even 2% that in the open market. I don't know nearly enough, but there's something certainly not right there.

Do you know anything about what the deal is with people being able to accept paying votes only for 7 days, and if that will change?

There is NO direct democracy of any kind in steem right? We'd have to elect witnesses, and have them act as representatives?

At what point does it make sense to spend time and contribute here, but to work on further appropriation of so many good open source ideas, and to invent on top of that until we get to an UUCC. An Ultimate Use Case Coin. [i assume that there could be, in some circles at least, "ONE COIN" to rule them all.

What's the deal with "ONE COIN"? I could google that. I'll google that. Alx.

yeah i also agree with you..

Since you allied yourself with this dude, it is worth posting it here:
No idea how busy you are and if you are aware of this:
https://steemit.com/@rewardpoolrape/comments
https://steemit.com/@eatsrewards/comments
Your old friend went on a crusade to destroy the STEEM blockchain.

For everyone who have stuck with steem throughout the fall whilst the Bitcoin train went right up without taking steem with it, this seems only like a fair end of the year treat to the community.

I would not have anything against it, assuming the person is responsible also in what type of comments/posts they self-vote. I.e not leaving half empty comments saying "nice" or "cool" on posts or comments made by others that they don't even upvote, but then put their own comments to the top.

Also I think that this period of high SBD price is a good opportunity to reward the active members of the community in a way that can be good for the platform. As more new users come onto steem, having a larger number of users with 500+ STEEM that at least then makes for a few cents worth of upvotes means that there will be a higher correlation between the number of votes you get and the rewards. This will help offset a problem I see on steem where people don't care about the number of people they attract to their content, but only whether they can secure the auto-votes from a whale or two. This prior mindset has, in my mind, been very harmful for the organic growth of the platform, which is what any social platform needs.

Selfvoting for stopping selfvoting.
Nice joke:)
Being a good person will not allow you to explain your self voting. You can do that, then you should not stop others from selfvoting.

You have been doing well so far. If you decided to put a stop for now is ok.
Most self voters do what dey do to earn and get reward for what they invested. Although some do is selfishly without spreading the vote.
I really do admire what you do. Keep up the good work.

A little message to the users who think @transisto is just going from flagging to self-upvoting for max-profit here:

He delegated 13k SP to my service @welcoming without me even asking him and has even declined receiving his share of curation rewards. See more details here: Update on @welcoming, over 400 intros resteemed

And @welcoming is not the only thing he supports, I see him having delegations to other great projects (@utopian f.e.) as well

Definitely not the move he would be taking if he was going for max. money at the moment!

Just wanted to leave this information to the ones who might not be aware of that!

Upvoted this myself for a little visibility!

Nice to know, thanks @theaustrianguy. Interesting initiative to help new Steemians feel at home.

Thanks :) Posted the above linked update yesterday, you can check it out and tell your opinion on the open questions I posted there - Would love to see the voices of some bigger accounts as well, in the end it's something which will effect our investment! Greets

I think accounts should not be able to upvote their own content but that will only lead to users having separate accounts for posting and curating.

The only other option I can think of is having accounts upvote their own content, both posts and replies, by default so that users do not have to make the conscious decision to upvote themselves.

PS: I will be upvoting this reply when the 7 days is about to elapse so that I don't offend anyone but still get the few cents from my upvote.

I think for now this is a way for all of us - investors and authors alike - to increase our SteemPower as quickly as possible. I power up over 90% of my SBD earnings and will continue to so as long as the ratio SBD to SP is so great. It will allow all active Steemians to become more powerful and strengthen the network through diversification. Self-upvoting is a means to speed this up. I have not upvoted most of my posts and missed a bunch of money. I am glad I did but I will sneak in more this week again because I know I will put the additional SP into good use in the future.

Out of curiosity @flauwy, why do you not upvote your own articles?

I read a post one time by an active member who stated, upvotes are for quality content and I focus on writing quality content so my stuff deserves a post.

This made sense to me. I dont post youtube videos or stuff like that...I try to produce quality content that people will enjoy.

Just curious as to your reasoning.

Yeah, you are right. Self-upvotes are totally justified if you create good content. It was just an experiment of mine because @fulltimegeek has delegated Steem Power to me for free and runs an analysis of all his delegees. I wanted to get a better ranking and see how it goes. I did that for a week but that is over now. LOL

Hello! Its really just a philosophical stance, since self-voting doesn't give any real information to the coming to agreement on quality, I really don't think it should be allowed.

But it is! And since it is, it can be done, and probably no one should complain about it. But I masterbate in private. Usually.

Upvoting is tied to reward. The problem is that reward is heavily tied to influence and visibility. Loosening the relation between reward and visibilty easily solves this problem.

Agreed @flauwy, for those of us who joined in June when the price was up, we have endured a sustained bear market. It is only recently we are reaping the rewards of our persistent belief in steam to such an insane degree! Who knows how long it will last, but it is a Happy Holidays indeed! Wishing all Steemians great success, both current and those who flock to the platform in this time of abundance!

@d-pend

Ah the great June rush. That’s when I started as well!

It is always interesting how some approach things on here. There are some who are very open about what they are doing and telling everyone their plans, like @jerrybanfield, and their actions. I think he writes a post each time he puts an ad on youtube.

Then there are those who quietly go about their business. I know there is a ton of software/app development taking place on this blockchain and I cannot tell you who is doing it at all. I guess it is a difference in personality....coders and programmers put their heads down and go about there business while marketers and sales people need the attention.

I am glad you are helping to create/develop/fund those projects that help this blockchain. We need a lot more of that (I think since I am not sure what is being done).

Anyway, the future of Steemit and STEEM is bright if we dont screw it up....LOL

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52