Not Enough Bandwidth

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steem now for just over a week. I've been enjoying it and trying to be active as a user. I haven't made many blog posts yet, but have tried to be involved in discussions. Today I logged on and was trying to comment on someone's post and I received this message:

Granted, I don't have the most Steem or Steem Power, but I have gotten a few rewards and have put that into getting more Steem Power. How does it make sense to limit the bandwidth of new users who are still adopting the technology and building habits of using the platform. If anything, it would seem that Steem would want to make sure there are no impediments to users utilizing the system.

It appears from a quick google search that some users got around this by purchasing Steem from an exchange which reset their account, but I don't know that's worth it. I can't keep buying Steem just so I can use the site. It's one of the reasons I chose Steem over Medium.

~~ update: I had a little SBD in my wallet, so I was able to use the market to purchase a small amount of #Steem and the problem was solved. If I didn't already have SBD it could have been bad. Hopefully this is something that the #witnesses are working on ~~

Sort:  

I think you and I are in the same boat along with potentially thousands more. I've been sitting on steemd.com and noticed that the delegated steem they've been giving new accounts went from 27-something to 12.854. Made an instant difference in bandwidth and my ability to upvote.

I'm guessing this is in anticipation of me receiving my first rewards? Would have been nice for the adjustment to take place after the rewards so we could keep working without getting the error message. :)

Since I'm new, I'm sure someone's logic is being applied, but I'm in full agreement—from the Plankton perspective, it doesn't make sense to do this so early on in the game, at least without someone way to warn people.

Unfortunately, without a means of direct notification, we're left guessing until somebody confirms it here or posts about it.

I just checked and my delegated Steem Power went from 27 to 10 overnight. Thanks for using some of your limited supply to comment! Once you get those rewards coming in it should help.

Sorry for the frustration you are feeling. I am sure the witnesses will work on this issue. For now I hope my upvote helps.

Thanks, I appreciate your support!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @themanwithnoname to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

We agree with you @themanwithnoname.

Initiatives like this one are moving towards helping.....

Eventually we intend to give out our first Upvote for each person free.

Perhaps another initiative will start delegating additional SP to new and verified accounts.....

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation as part of our effort to bring equality and abundance to all races, creeds and classes of humankind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67