Have you downvoted today?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Since Hardfork 21 a couple of weeks ago we all have some free downvotes to use. You can effectively downvote 2.5 times at 100% each day if you want it to recharge by the next day. This does not eat into your upvoting potential as it used to, so you do not miss out on curation rewards. The outcome has been that lots of big accounts have been downvoting posts that buy excessive votes for their posts. Here is a prime example. We need some whales and orcas to get in there before it pays out as this reward is for a weather map and a few lines saying there is a typhoon coming (in Korean).

Excess

There are lots more people doing this still. You may say why should you do anything? The reason is that these people are reducing what you can earn on Steem as they eat into the daily reward pool.

If you are looking for something to downvote then check out the posts by @dmacs that give examples and reasons. @steemflagrewards also lists posts that their team have found and already downvoted. If you delegate to @curangel you can nominate posts for them to downvote.

Of course there is some risk of retaliation, but a lot of these people hold very little SP as they power it down to buy more votes.

There will be posts that deserve to be seen, but it should not be necessary to buy multiple votes for that. In any case a lot of these posts have little or no interaction, so it is not working as promotion. It is pure greed. Rewards are intended to be distributed by users, not bots. Just because the freedom of Steem allows bots to operate does not mean we have to tolerate this selfish behaviour.

Do what you can for Steem. Every cent counts.

Sort:  

I'm not the biggest fan of downvotes, but holy crap this one is out of control.

They are a part of curation and necessary to control this sort of behaviour. Imagine what it would be like without them.

Nope. I haven't. And I won't. I'm not here to signal what isn't of value to someone else. I am here to signal what is of value to me.

That is your choice, but you have to accept that those people you vote for will get less than they could. If nobody does it then Steem would be much worse than it is.

That amounts to a fundamental discomfiture with stake weighted curation. The argument that "a downvote is an upvote for everybody else" overlooks the fact that "everybody else" inevitably includes tons of content I'd find as objectionable or worse than whatever I'm looking at.

Well we don't get to decide what everyone else votes on, but if they are abusing rewards then there is a better chance they will be downvoted now. All we can do is use what VP we have to support what we like. There's no perfect system and we have to work with what we have. Maybe the witnesses will decide this model does not work and change it again. There will be winners and losers if they do.

I follow @dmacs and downvote the selections and posts I feel are the grossest examples of reward farming

I don't down vote unless a post is plagiarized, spam, scams etc

How you find out about that all?
The list of reasons is getting longer and longer.

It was meant to fight bad content and plagiarism.

Now the wrong tags, asking for attention and personal issues are used too.
What more to expect?

Happy day 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I know for photos you can reverse search them to see if they're stolen.

Posted using Partiko Android

You know my connection is too slow to test it all. I stick to some basic rules. Min amount of words text, a layout etc. I am not going to hunt for plagiarism unless I am 200% sure this is the case.

Same with tags I do not know all of them or what they stand for.

I will also not check on correct spelling, grammar since I cannot in all languages.

I just hope they do not only catch the smaller fish.

I wish you a great day.
Have a look at @team-ccc here you can find contests easy to join.

👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

👍
~Smartsteem Curation Team

@steemflagrewards is using a list that is not very updated. If you mention a person several times who did not post in the past 4 months it is better to find some bad content yourself.

I assume the 2.5 downvote is 2 times at 100% and once at 50%?

If you join this group you are a mob member?

Posted using Partiko Android

@steemflagrewards is using a list that is not very updated

That's really more of a report of past actions. You are better off checking out the activity feed of either the main SFR account or tune in to SFR mentions.

Thanks for answering I will have a look at it. I wish you a great day 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29