Still Lacking Steem Clarity :(

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

This will be a quick post, but I'm still looking for some explanation on where value gets derived. I can't seem to create my own mental algorithm that fits with what I'm seeing from various posts.

I understand that Steem power plays a big role in the curation of content, but after recently powering up to about 290sp (heyoo!!!), I've actually seen a drop in my post earning.

This post is the particular one in question: https://steemit.com/notifications/@tayken/steemit-the-one-site-where-i-want-notifications

63 upvotes at the time I'm posting this, which well exceeds other posts which have generated much greater returns.

Feeling like a minnow once again in a very big pond and would love the support of this community in helping me to make sense of this crazy pond I've stumbled into.

Much ❤️
@Tayken

Oh, and say hi on:

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Snapchat

Random acts of kindness appreciated to help the #SteemDen meetup happen -- 1EB9MEfCC3fYo6dmW7zuWFJDVC53GVNA8J (BTC)

Sort:  

Congratulations @tayken! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey, have you seen any of @scrooger’s posts yet? He explains voting and voting power really well, IMHO. Good luck, friend! Don’t feel overwhelmed, just keep on steaming and it will all make sense eventually! ;)

I just took a look, and as much as I enjoy a good baking analogy, I'm still not sure it puts me any closer to an understanding. With experience comes wisdom...I think that's the best perspective for me at the moment. Thanks @oleg326756

How about this one then? I think it explains the voting process and different strategies in better terms than the baking analogy. :))

Thanks @oleg326756 Apparently I'm more of a boxer than a baker :)
I've done some added research and understand the voting power fairly well at this point. I suppose it was just difficult to invest about $600 usd into SP, write a post that gets 65 votes, and then see the payout at $2.37.

https://steemit.com/notifications/@tayken/steemit-the-one-site-where-i-want-notifications

Likely just a matter of timing and the effect of illusory superiority at play :)

Awesome! I am sure that with your investment you will thrive here on Steemit and build up wealth in no time. Soon we will be swimming proudly as dolphins, my friend! Remember my words! ;)

Appreciate that optimism and I hope to look back and say, "damn, look at that, @Oleg326756 was right!"

I dont have any advice but definitely going to go follow you on instagram now :) :)

Well I'll take that as a small victory @jennypottuh :)

I at a lose how it works my friend. But that is a cracking photo bud!

I would be repeating myself... this may or may not help... I wrote it for my followers earlier in the week:

New people: Why is my post payout changing? Why is it cut in half?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42