The no bullshit guide to living off Steem

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Im not sure what being the top1000 SP holders on STEEM can really mean. Perhaps being top50 would be a big deal ....
@crypto.piotr source

This was a comment in reply to one of my comments on @felander's post on his 2-year Steem anniversary a couple days ago. My comment was asking him if he ever thought about what being in the top 1000 SP holders might mean one day.

Yes, top 50 would be a big deal. But @crypto.piotr is missing the point.

This is how you do it.

This is dependent on the price of Steem, but I am going to set the value at 20 dollars for this purpose which is currently 80x higher in price than today and, 2.5 above the ATH. Seems high? Nope, it ain't gonna be in my opinion and it is my opinion that drives my behavior - Not your opinion.

So other things remaining equal is my 50,000 SP. Currently, 50K delivers a 70 cent vote but if Steem was 20 dollars, it would be a 56 dollar vote - 10x56 = 560 dollars a day. I can definitely live off of that. However, that is not the point here that @crypto.piotr is missing.

Many could live off Steem if they have stake and they don't need anywhere near the stake that I have. As I have said, steem is becoming an investor's wet dream as it allows for investment without risking the capital at all.

The pool is currently generating and distributing about 26 million Steem a year and while that is worth a disappointing 7.5 million dollars a year, 20 dollar Steem would make that 520 million dollars a year.

520 million dollars of potential.

Are you seeing it yet @crypto.piotr?

You see, while some people want to live off of Steem directly, some smarter people will use Steem to invest into and bring in businesses on Steem. This will both increase the value of the tokens they hold as well as give a great deal of incentive for these companies to build their startup or onboard their established services onto Steem. This will in turn bring in more users and inspire more business ideas to develop on Steem as well as raise all the STeem boats with the tide.

The Steem blockchain is by default design arranged to be perfect for direct stake investment and calculation of staked ownership in various experiences, but of course, you might see a problem. My 560 dollars a day doesn't go far does it?

But, my brother @galenkp has 11K so that is another 100+, @felander has some 15-20 so that is antoher 200, @acidyo might want to get in on this and add another 1000 to the daily pot and suddenly we have 2000 dollars a day or, 700,000 dollars worth of Steem available per year. That is 4 of us and only 3 of those are currently in the top 1000 accounts.

See it now @crypto.piotr?

Yes, those top 50 accounts are going to be enormous and users like @theycallmedan are going to have so much wealth that they won't know what to do with but, do they will. I know dan is the kin of person that likes to research and invest now, what will he do when he has 12,000 dollars of vote a day (that is just on his main account) to place for investment purposes? 7 days a week, 365 days a year.... 4.4 Million dollars a year to invest without having to risk his stack.

Fuck. Yeah.

 
And, he doesn't have to invest alone as while I might not have the stake he does, he might not mind if I tag along with the 200,000 I would have a year and also support some of the investments he supports. How many will follow one of his picks for a bit of stake in a future unicorn - and not have to risk their principle?

Living off Steem isn't living off what comes out of the pool (although many believe this and once upon a time I did too), living off steem is building the stake to solidify the blockchain and then using it to empower the Steem blockchain to become the entrepreneur's and the venture capitalist's dream come true in so many ways. The income streams aren't from the Steem pool, the income is going to come from the startups and businesses that the Steem community invests into for a percentage return.

People are buying into coins at the moment and looking to gain which is great - for now - but what needs to happen is that people need to start investing into businesses that are going to leverage the blockchains and the capital available and provide products and services to the masses. This in turn drives more users into crypto and the money churns while traditional economies burn.

The 0.1% have played themselves because the new technology allows for mass investment sources of any amount, low to no fees and a supply and demand of what it will actually invest into. It is all opt-in and the market will decide the success. Why would any small to medium business sell a percentage to a bank when they can get much better terms from getting their investment from some of their potential customers and those who will help them succeed in many ways to protect their investment? And once the small and medium utilize the potential, the large will follow as prices increase and now that 20 dollar Steem s 40 dollar steem and the investment potential is 1 billion out of the pool a year.

And this doesn't mention the values of all the other pools operating on Steem either.

There is absolutely immense potential in the way Steem operates to become a mega vehicle for investment opportunities that not only generate a mass of revenue streams for many people, but continually drives ownership outward to the people at various levels.

Currently, we live in a world where 80% of us believe we have no possibility to invest at all, but once people start investing on Steem and work hard toward the future of investment on Steem, that wide community will be able to collect and pool their resources and support businesses at a loal level, instead of selling businesses and resources to the global conglomerates and banks - the 0.1%ers.

In time, ownership and portfolio diversity becomes common place and the supply is driven by the demand of people who have more in the game than just he hunger of a consumer.

While the top 1000 holders are going to have more possibility than the top 1000 *sellers, it doesn't matter what level you hold, the potential to invest it into something that will increase in value is there. Banding together with others means that larger projects can be developed and not all has to go into one, there can be investment spread with different contracts of return and risk involved.

The sky isn't even the limit because, they will be explored too.

But, you might look at the price now, the community now, the interfaces now and the arguments now ...

And miss out on the future.

You wouldn't be the first and you won't be the last to dismiss the thoughts of the passionate idealist and:

be wrong.

 
So, this is how you live off Steem.

Invest in Steem - invest in things on Steem.

 
Feeling bullish?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

You made my day reading this man!
Hope one day we all can comment about staking steem was so easy like nowadays and how we all made our best to reach that heaven .
Steem on.

Glad to hear it mate. I know this place can be crushing at times (2.5 years feels like 20), but it has so much potential it is insane how so few see it.

Interesting read, I have not reached 1000SP yet. I am trying to increase my stake, but as I am looking for a job right now I do not have any free fiat to increase the stake. I am also trying to engage with people here and gain experience writing posts. I am not as capable as you or your brother in writing things down. I am also attempting to learn how to invest my existing stake for growth.

I do enjoy reading your and @galenkp posts, although I still struggle to understand most of the investing advice I read here.

The more you write, the more you will want to write. The improvement comes along the way as you find your own style. I find writing enjoyable, not something I must do.

When it comes to understanding the investment stuff--- I don't understand a lot either but try to do my best. For me, participation is the greatest teacher on Steem.

Thanks for the reply. I will keep trying to write more each week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mytechtrail thanks for your comment. I also struggle with all the crypto stuff, tribes and all of that here. I tend to just write some blogs now and then and get enjoyment out if it. If something comes from steel, some financial reward in the future then happy days, if not then at least I had a but of fun. I've followed you now, and look forward to seeing some of your work.

All the best.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the follow. I have been reading your and @tarazkp posts for a while now. I am attempting to lean about the investing side of things.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome, and all the best with the investment-learning. I was just on the phone with my brother chatting about some stuff...Gives me a headache sometimes but I can see the benefit so I push on. :)

My account isn't huge yet, but I'm working on it and love how you think!

Huge or not, we are all heading toward something much larger than we currently realize. Pretty exciting :)

It's the age-old dividends vs. capital gains question.

Do you take earnings now and spend them or do you reinvest to get a larger payout later?

The answer mostly depends on what else is going on in your life and your future expectations. If you are older and have enough assets, take the earnings and use them for your living. If you are younger and are still trying to build wealth, then reinvest.

The difficulty with STEEM is that the outlook is so variable. You see 20 USD/STEEM in the future. I see maybe 0.10 USD/STEEM. That change in future outlook will influence the decisions we make today.

I see maybe 0.10 USD/STEEM. That change in future outlook will influence the decisions we make today.

At that price I buy a lot more and then hold til the 20 ;D

I prefer your version!

Dear @tarazkp

I just had a pleasure to read your recent publication (naturally i've been mentioned, so I couldn't miss it :)

Thank you for sharing your own complete view on with us. I surely may be missing the point and I always love to learn something new. I love to learn how other people see things (different angles, build on different experiences and expectations).

some smarter people will use Steem to invest into and bring in businesses on Steem

I absolutely agree with that. Is it also your goal to bring businesses to steemit?

It has been a great read, however somehow I still don't feel that being (or not being) in top1000 stakeholders mean much to me. I value relationships I managed to build here and having some SP powered up helps a bit (making impression always matter). However I just dont "feel" any other potential benefit from being a top1000 stakeholder. I guess even being in top100 would not change it.

The income streams aren't from the Steem pool, the income is going to come from the startups and businesses that the Steem community invests into for a percentage return.

You nailed it. Very wise words. Wish more people would see things this way.

ps.
gonna check right away out your post about "investors wet dream" (what a clickbait :)

Yours,
Piotr

Is it also your goal to bring businesses to steemit?

Yes it is. I am working away at some things I hope will work out but, I go long on my investments and don't rush. Investing into onboarding companies is a long process for some of them.

Hi @tarazkp

If I could ever be of any help then just give me a shout. I love your idea of bringing businesses into steem blockchain

A resent knee injuey forced me away from running. (Something I loved) now I am devoting that time to building steem and learning how I can use steem to benefit others (and myself 😀) steem has much potintal for those who have the courage to pursue it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Make sure you still exercise as Steem has a way of making people fat (I talk from experience) :D

Make sure you still exercise as Steem has a way of making people fat (I talk from experience) :D

Congratulations! This post has been manually curated by @leocurator and will be showcased in the LEO Curator Daily curation feature post. "The LEO Curator blog intends to compile all top curated #steemleo posts for the convenience of other LEO users in search for time worthy posts."

Thank you.

One thing if you vote ten times a day at $56.00 that is $560.00 but if curation does go to 50/50 what you would get would only be 45% (because of the 10% Steemit will take) better said $252.00 the other $252.00 to the author you curated, still not bad.

Steemit doesn't take 10%.

I can powerdown my curation amount to keep it an even 50k (for the purpose of this exercise) and the author will be the one I am investing into. So, they can get the full 560.

But it will after the hard fork, remember 10% for projects? And in the article it is implied that the curator keeps all the $560.00.

You had me at 50k SP! Everyday a little closer makes it feel great these days at these prices.

You are smart enough not to be influenced by me
(in other words, don't blame me later)

But if this all works out, i can take the credit :D

This is the type of economy I prefer mostly because despite generally hating people I’m generally more interested in people as investments 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m generally more interested in people as investments

Unlike the Sixth Sense kid who saw dead people, you see faces as numbers and charts ;D Thank you.

🤣

I don’t know if the way I actually see people (and most things) is weirder than that or not 😝

You seem to be double posting? 😳

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am trying to get my comment count up ;D

I deleted the other. Seems I am getting some lag or something with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97