Flocking together

in #steem6 years ago

Today in a class we were talking about creating habits and improving chances of success. My client was thinking about joining an exercise group for older men which I think is a decent idea considering not only will they have similar goals, there will be the added benefit of social interaction, something that he (like so many these days) lacks.

As I have recently stated, what we surround ourselves matters and this of course includes who we surround ourselves with also. The types of people we associate with have affects on how we behave and influence our view of the world in a spectrum of ways from the obvious tho the very subtle.

One of the things I have noticed over two years at Steem is that those who spend their time with community-minded people are much likely to not only enjoy their experience more, but do better overall. Whereas those that hang with the negative FUD sellers generally don't have much fun here. Which ones have the highest rate of attrition, I wonder.

Part of this can be general differences in personality, but I think that a large part of our comes down to the choice of association and, it is a choice, especially on the internet. The beauty of Steem and the internet I general is that no one need be tied to their born station in life and can explore much more of their world. This is even more true on Steem as anonymity is possible.

I sometimes wonder what kind of person I would act like if I had stayed in my little hometown with the same social circles I had at high school. I say 'act' because that is what it really is. While I might change behaviours depending on social experience, it would still be me, acting.

Sure the action might be unconscious but that just makes it more important to consider the establishment of our habits. Well developed habits make us unconsciously competent which means, e act well without having to think about each move.

The easiest way to develop good habits is to spend time surrounded by people who consistently exhibit those traits. For example, if one wants to get into shape, spend time with people who are actively exercising and eating well rather than those who are happy predominantly sitting on the couch eating junk food.

Again, on Steem it is the same for most people and if you spend most time with those who have a negative view, the chances are that you will develop a negative view too. This works for positive views to though so it depends in what you want to achieve.

There is no problem spending time in many groups but be aware of your thoughts and the habits you are building because it will be those actions that will dictate your behaviours, results and if course, your attitude and experience of life's circumstances.

If you are interested in benefiting from Steem in the longer-term, find people who are thinking, writing and acting for that future position. If you want a quick fix, find people who promise that. No one is forced to associate with anyone in particular here so, who choose to take on the habits of what doesn't support where you want to be?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)


I am testing using @Partiko for the first time as part of the State of the Dapps blast I wrote about. I have to turn off some notifications I think but so far, so good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I agree that you need to hang out with people who either like the things you do or who have a open mind and positive outlook, so they don’t mind talking about the things you are interested in and most important don’t feel the rain to constantly rain on your parade. I sometimes feel like my blog might make me seem like a cheerleader for crypto, but I think it reflects my overall interest in this space and my very optimistic appraisal of crypto in general and Steem in particular. I think all the positive articles on my blog about Steem are a careful compilation of positives meant to educate not brainwash. I have some positive followers and some who are routinely negative. I try to reward the ones who are positive but understand that cautious optimism is not negative, but just cautious. I enjoy your blog.
Steem on!
@shortsegments

Being enthusiastic isn't a bad thing of course, one has to be careful to temper it by asking different questions too. Nothing wrong with being cautious nor understanding the risk but, not much benefit in whining.

Agreed, whining is counter productive.

We are all a product of the environments we find ourselves in. It's hard to avoid.

It's a bit of a chicken & egg scenario... How does one group foster a certain mentality if that mentality is lacking in the environment.

Some people are fortunate enough that they might be able to muster up the energy to shape our environment to some degree and be a thought leader / champion / community builder.

You seem to be one of these community builders -- keep doing what you're doing.

The benefit of the internet is that we aren't tied to the environments in which we live and with attention, we can move on from what we have learned. None of us are victims of circumstance once we recognize we can do differently.

It's also important to avoid immersing yourself in an echo chamber of hearing what you want to hear. I enjoy a wide range of opinion on this platform.

People are only depressed about the state of the bear market because they live in a dichotomous world of slave/master relationships. I say let them be depressed. It is pretty depressing after all. Those who can see the better future need to trudge their way forward to lead the rest.

Depression is passing and if people get depressed because of crypto prices, they have other issues. When it comes to echo chambers, that is a different thing again and the risk can be mitigated with a decent reference group. Attaching to any and every FUDster's opinion isn't overly healthy though :)

I agree with you as I think my engagement has felt smarter every since finding your content and interacting with you on a daily basis! Your perspective has added to my thought process which is no where near as creative as yours so thanks for that! Great to see you trying @partiko!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am glad that what I do here has some effect on people (hopefully for the better) as I think that in time this is what is going to strengthen the network. The blockchain's trustless feature is a benefit but, trusted relationships are important for other aspects of life. One thing I enjoy about Steem is all the avenues to be creative. :)

I so agree with this. I've noticed that after Steemfest, where I met so many community-oriented people. It really changes the way you view things. I mean I believed in the community before SF, but afterward....wow, a lot more. And all because I spent a lot of time with people who care so much about the community.
This is very true in life as well. It's hard to keep a positive outlook when you're surrounded by negative people. So, you should constantly assess things, I believe. If you're not happy with where you are, maybe you should leave, just to check if things change. It could very well be the atmosphere that's making you feel like crap. :)

SF was an eyeopening experience for me and many like yourself as we got a view of who is behind the names and got to see how personally interested and invested they are. It is a view not many have the privilege of experiencing.

Imagine if you grew up reading tabloid magazines only, I wonder what you would write about and, what style you would have. Everything has some impact on our lives that shunt our direction along different tracks.

I totally agree and think if you are outgoing and positive you look for like minded people. I don't know what the others do as they are loners and this place mirrors real life in so many ways. I think if more users actually put themselves out there they may be surprised that they may actually not see this as a grind but fun.

It's only a grind if you are trying to make money from it. For the people who are just here because they love it then there is no grind. You can just have fun and let the STEEM build up in the background. Especially here where you can be part of a great group of people rather than some of the trolls that tend to frequent a lot of the other sites.

That is how it should be. We love it as we enjoy everyone around us and most of us are very social.

I love the time that i spend in the STEEM eco system. The people, the discords, the apps. There is no comparison to the crap that i used to waste time on before with facebook and other apps on my phone. If there is money to be made at some stage that will only be a bonus.

There will be a bonus at some point. This place is to good to not go mainstream.

Here's to hoping =)

So true. It's your own cove if you make it a grind. I'm reaching the point where I sometimes forget to check my wallet, because my priority is the comments and interactions now. The Steem is beyond my control, so what's the point of stressing about it.

There was a point where I'd be constantly disappointed that I couldn't give much reward with my upvote to some amazing posts. So I've taken to using it more as a like button. If my VP is getting low it might only be a 5% like, but it's there and hopefully says that I appreciate the sharing of the post or comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

I still look at the wallet but only in terms of seeing my SP growing never the monetary value. I don't care about the markets right now since I am not trying to sell. There is a lot of work going on behind the scenes and eventually the prices will come back up some bit. Until then I will just keep doing what I'm doing.

Posted using Partiko Android

'as @niallon11 said, only a grind when trying to make money from it. I would add as the only thing though.

Indeed interaction Spurs growth. Discomfort or getting out of the comfort zone can also spur growth. I suppose that's why they call it Growing Pains. Social interaction is good on many levels. Thanks for sharing @tarazkp

It is good to get out and about and see who and what is in the neighbourhood :)

You got a 47.20% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50