You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One up, One Down Steemit Networking Challenge #2

in #steem6 years ago

Hello, it has been nice to start to follow this community.
My Favorite book of the last few years was A Game Of Thrones the first GoT book. I would like to say I read all the books before there was show. Also a bit bummed that the show lead to the last books having a major delay. One good thing is the books are very different than the show so even after that ends if I ever get those last books I will still read them.

Sort:  

I love the series and I've always said that I wanted to read the books. With the long delay before the next season comes out I might actually do just that.

Ya the books will trip you out. People you just might hate on the show you will start to like. The line of who is good and bad is blurry in the books. But we really need the books finished and I worry he won't get around to it soon winds of winter has been delayed so long.

Interesting, I got quite confused while watching the series so it'll be interesting to keep that in mind. I had no idea that the book series wasn't even finished yet, makes me wonder if it's a marketing strategy.

I got the first 2 books as a christmas present and I still didn't had the time to read them because I had other books waiting, but I am really looking forward to. Nice to hear that it's still worth it even if I have already seen all episodes on TV.

Hey, @stever82. I've never read the series or watched the show. I get the feeling I'm in the vast minority that hasn't. It's kind of hard not to know about some things that happen in it, though, because of all of the talk surrounding them, especially after main characters are killed off. As a writer, it would drive me crazy. :)

So there isn't a clear main character in the books. Each chapter is the name of a character and you follow there points of views of the same events often. It can be madding at times to reach the end of a arch for one and start over in the past with someone else but then you see the same things happen from that point of view. The name people in the book that get lots of chapters are at least 10 to 15 each book. So when main people die it is hard. Book 3 I tossed into my closet and walked way for weeks after one of the deaths. I was pretty mad. But I came back to it. Haha only time I have ever got that mad a book.

I can imagine! I haven't been fond of multi-perspective books myself. The one or two I've read weren't by such a well-known author, though, so maybe that was it. The problem can be too many voices if it's not done right.

I've seen a movie though that I really liked that came from different points of view as it played out, so it was more or less starting over, but with other characters' points of reference. It was a thriller, though, and so it actually helped to further the story because you got new, pertinent information (along with some misdirection), rather than endless exposition about how a character felt about a situation.

I'm glad you were able to get back to the series. I'm sure the fact that the book is good lured you in again. :)

So when is book 6 coming out??? He did this with Dance of Dragons...it came out 3yrs after the release date. And the show really branched off in some areas. I haven't watched after season 5 because the last thing I read was Jon Snow was dead. That Rheagar did have a son by Elia that survived ...oh too much to ponder.

Even though I figured out a while ago who Jon Snow's parents are.

ya I wasn't going to keep watching the show but it is so different that the books now that I don't mind. Lady Stoneheart isn't in the shows she is coming back into the books. So people are going to play a larger roll in the books that in the show. But that is cause they can work people into the story in the books can't do that in the show the same way.

Game of Thrones is a good book. I haven't read this book and also I have not watched all of its seires.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72