You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One up, One Down Steemit Networking Challenge #2

in #steem6 years ago

Hey, @stever82. I've never read the series or watched the show. I get the feeling I'm in the vast minority that hasn't. It's kind of hard not to know about some things that happen in it, though, because of all of the talk surrounding them, especially after main characters are killed off. As a writer, it would drive me crazy. :)

Sort:  

So there isn't a clear main character in the books. Each chapter is the name of a character and you follow there points of views of the same events often. It can be madding at times to reach the end of a arch for one and start over in the past with someone else but then you see the same things happen from that point of view. The name people in the book that get lots of chapters are at least 10 to 15 each book. So when main people die it is hard. Book 3 I tossed into my closet and walked way for weeks after one of the deaths. I was pretty mad. But I came back to it. Haha only time I have ever got that mad a book.

I can imagine! I haven't been fond of multi-perspective books myself. The one or two I've read weren't by such a well-known author, though, so maybe that was it. The problem can be too many voices if it's not done right.

I've seen a movie though that I really liked that came from different points of view as it played out, so it was more or less starting over, but with other characters' points of reference. It was a thriller, though, and so it actually helped to further the story because you got new, pertinent information (along with some misdirection), rather than endless exposition about how a character felt about a situation.

I'm glad you were able to get back to the series. I'm sure the fact that the book is good lured you in again. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71