Claim rewards self-activation - anyone else?

in #steemlast month

I spent several hours today digging into data. I couldn't say that after all these years in blockchain I'm some kind of expert, or I understand a lot of the essence, I do a lot of things by intuition, but hey, I've always said that blockchains are not for everyone. Now I wonder if they are for me too.🤔

But let's get to the point.

I woke up today with new data on my steemworld.org account - claimed rewards. I've always done this manually until now, so I was amazed that somewhere around 4am (04:21), GMT+3, this feature got activated somewhere and now it turns on every one hour.

To avoid any confusion and leave no room for doubt, I have removed all applications that I have ever authorized. But it's not one of them, of course. All I could do so far was look at what was going on in other people's accounts. And I did find accounts like mine - that also had this feature self-activated around that time of night. But also many others where this did not happen.

Any opinions?

I don't know who to turn to for this 'problem' of mine (should I tag someone?) It's not entirely a private case because it didn't just happen to me. But I would like to know where it came from, should I be worried, should I change passwords, etc...

Sort:  

No, you don't have to change the password.
I am convinced that woxauto had an issue. Since your last account update, with which you removed the authorization for woxauto, there have been no more autoclaimes.
@ubongudofot also authorized woxauto.

Thank you for taking the time to look at my account! At first I also thought the problem might be there, but their claiming option was never enabled by me on their site. And other accounts that I saw with the same case do not have any authorizations at all. After I removed this authorization, no other rewards for claiming came anyway. That's why nothing has been claimed so far. But let's see.

but their claiming option was never enabled by me on their site.

That's what I thought. Otherwise you wouldn't be so surprised.
I think that will be the problem. A bug is causing its bot to claim for users who haven't even activated it.

Here you can see which users authorized woxauto:
https://steemworld.org/authorized-apps/?target=woxauto
But we can't recognise who activated the claim function.

What is the process to remove authority to woxauto?

You can use the steemworld: https://steemworld.org/account-authorities
You have to login (it is safe) and then you are able to cancel the authorization.

I dont see symbol X to remove authorization.

image.png

You should use the link I posted obove.
This will take you to this page:
grafik.png

There are the buttons to remove the authorities. But only remove the ones for woxauto.
However, if you also used the autovoter from woxauto, it will no longer work.

Thank you for your response. This helps me to understood how it works. Earlier I did not notice Login option on top right corner and was looking the same last days, now I know.

It seems you are right. Thank you! By way of comparison with other accounts, I assumed this was not the cause, but I don't seem to be looking for information and data in the right place. 😅

Exactly! Thank you for the clarification.

Do you activated the claim function?

I just deactivated it. Let me watch how it goes now...

Thanks for the heads-up.

I've noticed that....

Oh, you too. Now I looked at your account too. The question is that not everyone is like that and what is it that we have in common and what is it that distinguishes us from others.🤔 Maybe this is not so important at all, but such trifles make a big impression on me in general. I don't know...

Yeah, I've seen that too.

Maybe....allow for some time....

Not sure it's a problem.

What does it do? This piece of code?

It is about claim of rewards. It claims them for you automatically at a certain time interval.

I was just looking at it. It seems pretty cool but I am not used to it yet. Learned it yet. There used to be something like this but that witness left. Can't remember the address. Thanks for pointing this out

auto.steemdb.online of the witness steem-supporter you mean. I read about it today. I've been looking for all possible ways this can be enabled, but haven't found much up-to-date information.
The reassuring thing is that it's not just with my account.

During the migration of woxauto with the customer base to our new app BottoSTEEM, claim rewards were switched on, we apologize for that.
It is a service that can be selected by the users

I know, it can happen. After reading the post with the new bot, I already thought so.
I assume the authorities for woxauto are also used for the new bot.

It would probably have made sense to give the users a quick note after you had noticed this. In the end, claiming is the least of the evils. After all, no token is lost :-)

I stopped getting Tron about 600 Tron ago and I would like to know where it goes

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37