We Need Your Help to Protect Steem

in #steem4 years ago

Dear Steemians,

After the recent chain split (ver. 0.23 Hardfork), the Steem Blockchain had been in major threat during the process coming directly from former Top witnesses of Steem. As top consensus witnesses, the duty and task would have been to maintain the integrity of the Steem Blockchain but it was decided to abandon the chain they promised to protect.

There were some opportunities to understand each other between Steemit Inc and Steem community members/investors but unfortunately, it didn't work well. The former witness group bought the domain for the fork after the day when a town hall meeting with representatives of each group gathered together on the 11th of March 2020 to discuss the shared value and find out solutions. The decision for a Hardfork from Steem had been prepared and made official on the 18th of March 2020.

The biggest threat that occurred to the Steem Blockchain was when the Hardfork was executed. Before the chain split still 50% of witnesses were running a hostile version 0.23 and were in the Top 20 of the Steem witness list. If that status had been kept that way, it could have resulted in breaking the Steem Blockchain, because these witnesses would not work anymore for the Steem Blockchain directly after the Hardfork. Shortly before the Hardfork, it needed a high effort from the Steem community to gather enough voting power to have at least 65% of witnesses running a non-hostile version and avoid breaking the Steem Blockchain.

As the history now shows, neutral witnesses from the now split Blockchain were technically able to run a non-hostile version and still support the Hardfork. This is not the case for witnesses that have executed a 0.23 version on the Steem Blockchain during the Hardfork.

To ensure the security of the Steem Blockchain, here we suggest updating to a temporary protocol -- Softfork 22.888. This so-called Softfork update is reversible but not limited to this version. We are using it to secure the Steem Blockchain but allowing affected accounts to appeal through the SPS system.

History Review based on facts

Feb 14th, 2020 - Steemit Inc. sold to the Tron Foundation. Concerned voices from the community about tweets and postings that the Steem blockchain may migrate to Tron
Feb 23th, 2020 - Previous witnesses execute Softfork 0.22.2 and limit Steemit Inc.'s stake as a proactive measurement for negotiation.
Mar 2nd, 2020 - With the help of the exchange's stake, Steemit Inc. executes Softfork 0.22.5 to reverse 0.22.2 and place 20 witnesses of their own. Exchanges withdraw their votes shortly after.
Mar 2nd~18th, 2020. - Communications on several layers between different parties like witnesses, communities, Steemit Inc. and investors. Former Steem consensus witnesses gathering part of the community for a Hardfork
Mar 18th, 2020 - Announcement of the 0.23 Hardfork
Mar 20th, 2020 - Chain split and 0.23 Hardfork at 10 AM EST.

Softfork 0.22.888

This temporary Softfork is to adjust the future of the Steem community, which is in the moment still influenced due to the Hardfork.

Due to the uncertain threat that the leaders and main influencers of the new Hardfork represented to the Steem Blockchain, the Softfork will include accounts with the following rules, and restrict a group of operations by these accounts. The barrier for these rules can be lowered at any time when the circumstances require it and consensus is reached.

  • Accounts that ran the version 0.23 during the Hardfork on Steem and were still in the Top 20 rank, shortly before the Hardfork.
  • Accounts that proxied or directly voted to more than 10 witnesses running the version 0.23 on the Steem Blockchain during the hardfork with high influence.
  • Accounts directly associated with operating these accounts.

We'll suggest no more than 20 accounts be included in the list.

Why Softfork 0.22.888 is Necessary to Protect Steem?

The recent evidence showes that a major part of previous witnesses had decided to fork a separate chain as early as Feburary 2020. During this process, the previous witnesses threatened the stability of the Steem Blockchain while running a hostile Hardfork version on Steem, still being Top witnesses.

Additionally, they decided to implement a selective distribution of their forked chain, not only excluding the Steemit Inc. stake but also from normal users that proxied or voted on Steemit Inc.'s witnesses. These users mainly voted partly to Steemit Inc.'s witnesses and also for previous witnesses as part of a protest that they were not confirming the actions of the previous witnesses and kept the balance between the two parties, as it was encouraged from the previous witnesses.

Moreover, different members from the forked Blockchain are still actively spamming and milking the Steem ecosystem. Hostile actions, such as downvoting, against Steem users with different opinions were taken by the the forked Blockchain.

As for now, there is no clear declaration from the leadership or accounts of the forked Blockchain that it is not the goal to harm the Steem Blockchain and community. The hostile attacks may never stop.

Based on all these facts, we have seen the need of a temporary adjustment with Softfork 0.22.888

Call For Your Assistance

We are at an extremely difficult time in the history of Steem, and the power of communities are the key to make Steem great again. We're still here and stand out to protect Steem, because our communities are staying here. They didn't leave if you have really looked around.

Unlike Softfork 222, which is decided by a small group of the previous witnesses with no transparency to the community. We want everybody's voice to be heard about how to move forward. We don't love fight, but actions have to be taken to protect Steem NOW, before it's too late.

  • The current Steem Witnesses please kindly decide whether you will support Softfork 22.888 or not in 12 hours. We'll send an instruction shortly about how to upgrade to Softfork 22.888 for those who join to protect Steem.
  • Every Steemian please kindly share your opinions and suggestions to the witnesses that you support about how to fight and build for the future of Steem. We understand that other forked chain's messages may flood here, but the voices of those who really love Steem in the past 4 years and look forward to a better future should not be ignored.

All rewards from this post are sent to @null.

Sort:  

Accounts that ran the version 0.23 during the Hardfork on Steem and were still in the Top 20 rank, shortly before the Hardfork.

Accounts that proxied or directly voted to more than 10 witnesses running the version 0.23 on the Steem Blockchain during the hardfork with high influence.

Accounts directly associated with operating these accounts.

So basically you want to target tens of thousands of accounts that voted for the REAL top20? That's the most retarded plan I've ever heard. Good luck with the PR nightmare ahead, if you don't fuck up the fork before that.

That would literally target everyone supporting hive knowingly !!

"with high influence". The wording is terrible but basically they are saying they are going to freeze the major stakeholders. Presumably worded that way to include @theycallmedan as he didn't actually run a witness in the top 20

They want to mess with big stake holders who have lawyers and contacts. Good luck with that.

I hope they do it

As your Steem Pope, I assure you that my influence is the Highest, and as such, this fork is clearly a threat to crypto liberty and religious liberty!

:P

Why would you think they would include him ?
I thought he wanted to stay on here. or have I got that wrong?

nah once Steemit started censoring posts from the blockchain Dan and 3speak declared full move to Hive, Dan is in middle of full power down. He didn't get included in this first wave of account freezes though so I was wrong about that part. Of course, still could be frozen in the next group of accounts and who at this point seriously doubts that more account freezes aren't coming?

Wow how strange.
He must know that people have been censored her from the beginning?
@thedarkoverlord years ago more recently @joe.public and many more completely ghosted before J Sun got here. Is Dan a bit slow? I saw a comment some days ago someone saying they dont have access to their wallet on hive so reality will not be any better there !

This problem of governance is very interesting. How would you deal with this childish behavior of continually voting witnesses into the top twenty then out again ? this is just one account another has been the merky mark
https://steemworld.org/@steempress
If I were Sun I would use my stake to stabilize the governance
How would you deal with people creating thousands of hostile accounts created only to flag people ? As seen by this account on steemworld day 6 https://steemworld.org/@gtg

I also have a very longlist of Steemit.inc funded accounts that started way before J Sun only ever used to flag people

"censorship" via flags is a completely different thing. You can still click into and see posts that have been flagged down. JSun and crew have literally filtered out posts and entire user histories from the Steemit API nodes they run, so that these posts and entire user histories do not appear on ANY steem front ends. For instance visit: https://steempeak.com/@themarkymark and you will see that it appears as if he has never made a single post. And note this is not even on steemit.com which is directly controlled by JSun, as I said they are doing this through the API nodes. I can, today, visit @joe.public and read everything he has ever written on the blockchain on any Steem front end. He has not been censored.

I just went to the joe.public page clicked a comment and got the ''this page does not exist'' msg That is not from just flags.
I just went to themarky page and steemworld and nothing exist FUCK no trace whatsoever.
I notice his wallet is still in tact on steepeak thank heavens for small mercies as they say.
So he will still be playing games with witness votes and flags I guess ? or have they taken that function away?

What front end are you using? @Joe.public comments are readable on steempeak. See screencap. Also his posts. I just checked.
image.png

Loading...

None of them are related to me and yet you mentioned me in that context.

I know who's accounts they are and I know they are not yours.
You were implying that I am some kind of delusional drug using hippie making up some bullshit, so providing some evidence of my statement was appropriate.

And yes, I just went back and read my original comment. It did imply you for which I apologize. I did not mean to link you to those accounts as I know who operates them.
(As a side note, I think clearly enough but not in words. I got a kick in head as a child and it fucked up the part of my brain that deals with language. Its difficult to link different things together in a completely coherent way. Steem has helped me immensely, but I still have work to do in that regard)

You wrote that I was creating accounts to spam and flag.
And that is a lie.

I actually made the valid observation that you have been 'claiming' lots of accounts and posed the question 'I wonder what they will be used for'. I have never seen you spam or seen much of you around at all, and I certainly did not even mention spam, let alone accuse you of spamming.

As you appear to be more invested in the growth of Hive which is fair enough, I have no idea why you would be claiming more accounts, unless you are expecting a big demand created by new users. That seems highly unlikely in the foreseeable future.

So let me ask you, why bother to claim more accounts if Steem is over for you? What possible use could they have?
Or are you actually fighting for the survival of Steem ?

I really appreciate the feedback

That is absolutely right

So basically you want to target tens of thousands of accounts that voted for the REAL top20? That's the most retarded plan I've ever heard. Good luck with the PR nightmare ahead, if you don't fuck up the fork before that.

Ya, this is absurd.

Please feel free to include me in this list, because right now it sounds like the plan is to attempt to harm anyone you feel has too high of stake, regardless of your previous statements that all of you took your witness positions with an oath to never 'adjust' the ledger, temporary or otherwise. It didn't take long to prove that a lie. I recognize you think this is clever, but it's truly very sad- critical escalation against people who have moved on away from your governance will drive many of the people left here from you, and should you do it I should hope you will be thorough. We shut down our witness here and have encouraged people to vote with their hearts for witnesses who care about Steem still. I do not think that includes any of you, but that's just my opinion.

I truly didn't think I could more shocked by the rash overnight actions that directly contradict the words of Steemit Inc, but here we are again. I could set my watch by the consistency of how thoroughly each cheery announcement is blasted into a smoking crater a few hours later by hilariously antithetical actions.

Given that I am happily available to the community around me, both here and on Hive, and have never shied away from my intent, the reason for my past actions, or my future dreams, I am commenting here for you to reach out if you need to. You seem to be struggling with logic, codebase, consistency, critical thinking, and honestly, even the ability to write a post that doesn't copy the exact one of the group you purport to fear who have moved away from you to pursue a new chain.

Please feel free to include me in this list

I will.

From steemitblog:

All this being said, we are fully committed to supporting witnesses that vow to protect all Steemians’ stake. We will support any witnesses who publicly announce their promise to secure accounts, as well as update to SF 22.5.

You lost the high ground that you might have had.

What do I need to do to get added? So far I've:

  • Made Milk posts
  • Talked countless shit about Steem
  • Ran 23.0 and abandoned Steem
  • Upvoted other milkers
  • Dumped my Steem

Is there anything else I need to do? Do I not have enough stake? Have I not angered daddy Sun enough? I can try harder, please tell me what I must do.

HIVE = Honouring Ideas Values & Efforts
STEEM = Stupid Tron Enforces Engaged Madness

This isn't securing the STEEM platform.. This looks like straight up theft actually..

I said TEMPORARY.
It is called TRON-DEFI.

I can't agree with this at all. I'm a witness that tried to talk to Eli, Sun, David and multiple others about a peaceful resolution and at the same time, I wanted Steem to stay Steem, no HIVE. So I voted on witnesses that were in the top 20 to maintain some kind of neutrality in the hopes you all could set your differences aside. This is just another mud slinging campaign and I will leave Steem because you'll force me to. Not because I want to, because I fall into 2 of those categories of accounts up there! Please, do not run this!!

I'm really surprised it took you this long to realize what you were supporting all along. Justin Sun directly attacked the chain and you went along with it and continued supporting it. Now you're upset when you realize how these actions can impact you personally. Very disappointing. I had more respect for you before all this.

Sorry, was trying hard to believe there was hope.

Hope for what? Once he attacked the chain, you continued supporting him? How is that protecting the blockchain community which is the one job a witness is elected to do? It's really disappointing that it took this long for you to understand.

As I said, hope. Hope that Sun and others would just stop the fighting and the spamming and the all the negative nonsense that nobody needs. Just hope for people to get along and coexist. That's what builds dreams my man. Not enough of it in the world. I 'hope' you understand.

I thought you love me! Please don't go!

This may be the most hilarious thing I have ever read. I have observed the ongoing complete takeover of Steem by Sun Yuchen with a weather eye, and note far too many revelations of the incapacity of DPoS to effect decentralized governance. For the education I have been granted, I thank you all. Money is a shit way to decide who governs you, is the sum total of what I have learned.

That's not funny.

This is what's funny: you seduced some community members to support your hostile takeover, presumably making representations and promises of profitable association with you to gain their support. This is SOP in revolutions.

To create the appearance of being injured by unscrupulous hackers, you got your new minions to parrot a pledge to resist freezing stake, vowing to respect property rights that you allege 22.2 violated.

Now, them as actually uphold those pledges are in the way, and you hesitate not at all to simply rescind your support and replace them with new minions, eagerly lapping up your absolutely vapid and meritless promises.

I have seen a lot of stupid things. Q larpers. Zoomers deriding Boomers because they have experience. The Two-Party System. DPoS posturing as decentralized. All of these reduced my respect for humanity to some degree, but of all the stupid things I have seen, this is the best example of the incapacity of some people to care for themselves in a world that presents dangers and impacts people negatively from time to time.

Anyone that runs this code is absolutely incapable of independent living and probably needs to wear a helmet at all times. I am sure your caregivers praise you loudly and joyfully every time you even attempt to tie your shoes.

Thank you so very much for this wonderful entertainment.

Not everyone speaking out against the Hive witnesses/founders is bought or even likes Justin Sun. I'm not on Justin's side really, I just think the thought leaders and Hive witnesses, save for Luke Stokes and Aggroed, have really revealed themselves to be dicks.

You and me both. I'm currently not absolutely convinced of any true dedication to actual decentralization by any of them, and @aggroed and @lukestokes both keep me on their bad side as a result of my insalubrious remonstrances.

Not that I blame them. Hell, I'd censor anyone that used the phrase 'insalubrious remonstrances' in polite company.

This is one of the most incoherent things I've ever read. It manages to both say a lot and say nothing at all. This post is so poorly written, it should be reported as spam/low quality content.

The future of Steem is death. Censorship and pettiness is the death of this place. Who cares what witnesses who abandoned this place do? Steem isn't the Mafia. Nobody has to have an allegiance to Steem or any blockchain. Could you imagine if Ethereum tried to shun people who abandoned it for EOS. Or a better example, when Dan left Steemit and created EOS, nobody was petty he left and started a rival blockchain, threatening to remove his posts, rewards or account.

People left and started a rival fork, get over it you bunch of pathetic children. Justin and Steem lost. This place was the community and the majority left for Hive because this place is now a digital version of China.

nobody was petty he left and started a rival blockchain

@ned was, he even downvoted him. And he still seems to be defining the culture here.

Probably personal bad blood in that case. If @ned was using Steemit stake to down vote Dan, fair enough. Or threatening to freeze his account, fork him out of the chain. Ned might have been mild in comparison, but he is still the reason Steem turned to shit and pushed people away.

What Justin and his lap puppets have done and are planning to do goes well beyond even what Ned's tiny capitalist brain was capable of. Nobody is going to take this place seriously. Justin is clearly very insecure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66