Yes It's another damn Censorship PoststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I feel I've stumbled onto some legitimate concerns in regards to this whole censorship discussion on the blockchain.

Perhaps some more savvy steemians other than myself can clarify these issues as I see them.

I myself being a mobile user only ever use steemit to occasionally power up when can, so for me steemit is my wallet. Ive been told there are other 3rd party options I can utilise to access my wallet and make transactions however I'm under the impression they would require a desktop or laptop. Either way, it's not exactly common knowledge and of course there is no central faq or anything I'm aware of to answer such inquiries. Furthermore if stinc deems an account against their TOS then do the keys still work to process rewards gained from any other front ends ?

Not that I ever see myself posting anything to get banned, but I can see this as a possible slippery slope..

Also, a morbid point that this situation has made me ponder, when someone dies or loses their keys etc. That stake is just forever static? Seems like the answer is obviously, but in a big picture of crypto shifting into the 21st century the whole how doth one bequeath their assets to another gets a bit convoluted. Most of the world's wealth is passed down to heirs, so large holdings of diversified crypto currency creates a need for some sort of encrypted last will and testament litigious maneuvers.

Say freedom the Lord of the blockchain dies today, does that mean we're basically stuck with his top 20 witnesses circle jerk until someone can overstake him?

Just my morning coffee ramblings..

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Steemit is just a website tapping into the Steem blockchain. So they can censor all they want. People just can't see the content on the website, but all blockchain functionalities will still work and undisturbed. Some of us are thinking of a steem hub where people can choose the websites to view steem content and access wallet functionalities (yes keys and all still work).

I attempted to reply yesterday but got an unknown key error message and lost the comment.

A hub would be dope, along with some steem for Bodoh like me newbs.. Steem could be the flagship for education of blockchain for all those that only know bitcoin is some form of magic money they don't trust.

That's the mass adoption angle.

Thx for clarifying the wallet issue, and all the other knowledge drops..

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly the same WEKU works. Most posts can not be found if you search for them or only for 1 day. So it actually is a closed community

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by skramatters from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @skramatters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Well I work the same way you do. At first I used steemit.com at my phone, next steepshot (partly it did not work at all in the end not at all) and now it is Partiko.
If there is freedom of/censorship I don't know, it would not surprise me if you use an app and it is everywhere anyway. By now it is not really bothering me anylonger. There are people who do not like what I write or say, they even hate me for it and love to threaten me as well. I learned from it, to continue posting/saying/wake up people

Posted using Partiko Android

I have not heard anything good about weku.

I like to think if you're not being hated on you're not doing it right. But, threats are overboard, I've been nasty to a few people here, but absolutely cannot abide threats or ill will wishing bc of difference of opinions.

Keep doing your thing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I will no matter what

Posted using Partiko Android

... and of course there is no central faq or anything I'm aware of to answer such inquiries.

You may find the link below helpful in answering.questions about steem.

https://www.steemithelp.net

... how doth one bequeath their assets to another gets a bit convoluted.

My approach are two safety deposit boxes which hold my will, password/keys cheat sheet, deed to my home, 4 memory sticks holding copies of my wallet.dat files, gold, silver and fiat collectables.

Two stops and my daughter should have it covered. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49