You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One up, One Down Steemit Networking Challenge #2

in #steem6 years ago

I've read so many awesome books in my life and seen so many fabulous films it is hard to choose just one.
Although I'm a huge Stephen King fan, I think I'd rather go for the Earth Children's series, wfitten by Jean M. Auel.
Normally, I only read horror, and when someone first told me about these novels that were set in prehistoric Europe, I simply laughed at his face. No way in the world I would read that.
I don't know how come that I finally started reading them, but I was hooked from the 1st one ('The Clan Of The Cave Bear').
All books are well researched and well written. I read the first 5 one after another. The sixth one was only released 9 years after the fifth one, and I managed to pick up the story again like I had read the other ones a week before.

This is a series you definitely need to read - don't let the prehistoric theme stop you from doing so.

Sort:  

Liking the sound of the Clan of the Cave Bear. Sounds like something completely fresh.

I read a lot of Stephen King through my teenage years, although I managed to get to the end of them, there is a book by Graham Masterton that I had stop reading because I really didn't want to find out what was in the attic!

Also had phases of reading Wilbur Smith and particularly enjoy a good murder these days whether that be a cozy mystery like Agatha Raisin, or something more gritty like Luther.

You should really put your prejudice aside and give it a try. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly sursprised :0)

I didn't know there was a series of books. I was aware of the first one, and the movie with Darryl Hannah in it. Intriguing choice of books, coming from the self-described horror reader. :)

Lol. I think it's about the only thing outside the horror genre I have read (apart from some fantasy and the accidental thriller of which I thought it would be horror.) But they made a huge impact on me.

I didn't even know they ever made a movie. But then again, Daryll Hannah.... no wonder I missed it, lol

I haven't ever watched it either. Daryll Hannah is okay in some things, but mostly not so good in others, and just the little snippets I've seen of the movie, I'm not inclined to watch it. However, I am curious about the books now, since you like them so much. Not sure when I'll get to them (I've got a reading list myself to figure out time for eventually), but I think I should at least try and read the first book and see where it leads, right? :)

If you don't try, you'll never know :0)
I'm going to see if I can get my hands on the movie. It will probabaly be horrible, but you got me curious, lol

Nah, don't do that on my account. I think you can probably watch the entire movie on YouTube. That seemed to be the case when I went searching for it. I think it was something like 90 minutes long. If you get ten minutes in and you're just not feeling it, don't keep going. It won't be worth it. :)

I expect it to be hilarious, lol.
I'll let you know how it goes :0)

Wow what an awesome review as you have sold the series to me. i actually think im going to read these books. Nice share. Kudos

Glad you liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72