Steem at 45p? Rude not tosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

IMG_2258.PNG

I'd been steadily buying from May through to August when I exhausted the budget I'd set aside from my savings for steem. I've noticed that the price drops every time I've bought some, but I try not to take it personally and just stick to my plans :D.

I did set up a business plan when I started on steem back in July 2017 and had started to put aside small amounts of money to invest in this new extension of my activities. I wasn't expecting to make a lot of money or even to have much of an audience, certainly not in the first two years or so. Initially, it was much more about learning how it all worked. That took some doing, both the technical aspects and the social side of it.

Along the way some interesting things happened, which I'll write about in another post, suffice to say here that coming on to steem and being exposed to the people and communities here had a transformative effect on my life that I hadn't anticipated. It began to offer more than maybe I would become skilled in the social and economic implications of a new(-ish) technology and maybe even earn some small part-time income from it.

It took me longer to learn how to buy steem, but eventually I did and started to buy regularly. At first, I thought it was going to take me a long time to reach dolphin status and then the price dropped again and it suddenly came in reach. The original budget was exhausted, but for not very much more I could reach the dolphin threshold. I still had day-to-day savings in my account.

IMG_2259.PNG

I say savings, but the funds were earning exactly no interest in that particular account and I was paying £5 or £6 a month bank charges. There were other options, of course - long-term savings, ISAs, even my pension plan. I have already made some provision for those and there has to be some balance between saving for a future which may not happen and quality of life in the present. (Is this rationalising developing a gambling addiction)?

Anyway, I bought some more steem then, became a dolphin, realised there were other things I wanted to do, and bought some more. Then I settled into a plateau. Steem wasn't doing it for me any more, I wasn't getting the same pleasure from either writing or from engaging with other people. Like many of us, I had "stuff" going on in my life (and which, far from resolving, has grown exponentially, as stuff seems to do sometimes) which coloured how I was feeling.

But the other big issue was feeling that I had to, and was attempting to, blog every day rather than the two to four times a week I had been doing. Suddenly everything became work, another pressure, and I really went down in the doldrums. My own fault entirely, I'm forever saying to other people, do what you want to do.

One of the factors in this was the introduction of ranks on @actifit. I'd been cruising along, enjoying posting two, three, four times a week, pleased to be tracking activity in a low-key, helpful way and enjoying getting a fat vote for it. When ranks were introduced, one of the elements in the calculation was recent activity. I got some even bigger votes, thanks, I think, to the delegation to @actifit. But this ranks thing became relentless.

In the first few days it was great to see older women like @mariannewest and myself (yes me, the woman who hadn't run for decades and was more likely to be seen with a book and a glass of red wine than anything in lycra) heading the ranks. It really changed the dynamic and gave a message that being active is for everyone not just young fit strong people. But I was also caught up in the challenges of self-tracking. I even experienced that frustration and rage when you've done 12,000 steps and you can't publish your flipping post because of some dastardly technical glitch grrr.

So along came life big-time and put a stop to all that. A family member had been ill for a little while and I was needed, my attention needed to be elsewhere. I wasn't sorry, it was relief to get away from steem and all its challenges. And it provided some time to think about what I was doing and how had I become jaded and disinterested. What was I even doing on steem, should I just sink into a coma and come back ... later ...? I even thought of starting a new account free of all the baggage I seemed to have acquired (I'm laughing as I'm writing that - having to develop a plan to abandon self acquired baggage as if you couldn't just check it in, anyway).

I'd been watching the price and wondering whether to buy any more. It was going so low, it seemed rude not to. If we were talking about quality of life (rather than essentials or prudence), my favourite bottle of wine would buy 15.5 steem, a coffee in a mainstream coffee shop 6.7 steem, a snickers bar 1.75 steem (or 2.2 steem if you went for the two bars for £1 option) or 6.4 steem for the Saturday edition of my favourite newspaper.

IMG_2260.JPG
This little set of Denby oddments, picked up from my local Oxfam shop (browsing charity shops is a favourite Saturday pastime) cost the same as 15.9 steem and the books I bought earlier this week would be 42 steem.

Into all this horrible mess came Steemfest. It was a great experience. I fulfilled my mission for work (which had paid for me and a colleague to be there), soaked up all that is steem, met many glorious people, some new, some I have known online for some time. But that mix of energy, people travelling such a long way to be together, the chance for social chats as well as the organised presentations and discussions. Amazing, re-vitalising and re-orienting.

Being only half a gambler, I waited until I got home and checked my accounts before buying any more steem. I did buy some that will take me to 6,000SP by the end of the month and some to invest in more steem basic income shares. This last allows me to do two things - get a steady return when I post and helps to provide an income for the community accounts I support. But more about the latter in another post.

I'm still decompressing after Steemfest: I feel clearer about steem, in the sense that I am in the right place, and I'm still thinking about what I want for me. I might take some time off work for that.

And this time, the price of steem went up after I bought some ;)

PS: thanks to @roelandp and his team for steemfest, it was a really great feat of organising and done so well.

Sort:  

What route do you use to buy your steem? I've a few pennies that I fancy investing.

I have an account on coinbase where I buy an intermediary coin (bitcoin, the first time I did it, just for the romance), and then I trade with blocktrades. This is not the cheapest way - @slobberchops, @revisesociology and @gillianpearce all might have better ideas and bring some comments ... or even write a post 😊

I used coinbase pro (used to be called gdax) to do the transactions @shanibeer because you pay no fees there if you do a limit buy. All that means is you say the price you want to pay (make it just below what it currently is) and when the market hits that price it buys automatically. 😊

I had a look at that and I must say I felt like I wanted someone sitting beside me to explain it all! Perhaps when I'm fully de-compressed, I can go and have another look. 😊

i would be happy to get on Zoom at some point with you @shanibeer, where we can share screens, and I could walk you through it. 😁

I use coinbase if I'm feeling lazy, Kraken if making larger purchases.

I actually ltc then btc then steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

So why not ltc-steem?

Oh can you do that?

The fees are minimal anyway!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

Similar to @shanibeer, bank account > coinbase (buy etherium - takes seconds), then coinbase > gdax (same company so seconds again), send to blocktrades (about 2 minutes). The whole cycle takes less than 5 minutes.

You incur a 4% fee for buying etherium from coinbase, that's the price for speed and convenience.

I use etherium as the bitcoin transfers are really slow (or were).

Okay, I'm guessing putting gdax in the mix reduces the transaction costs a bit?
It's all superfast, though, isn't it? Lovely 😊

You can bypass the 4% charge if you use Revolut to send the cash to coinbase via a sepa transfer but it takes most of the day to get there and only works on 'working' days, not weekends.

That's how I used to do it before the banks 'allowed' us to directly connect to coinbase.

I'm not good at that, I like the five minutes done and dusted thing. I had the same problem when I looked at gdax, suddenly the process stretches out and I find it difficult (with everything else) to keep track of it.

gdax looks intimidating but its really easy when you find your way around.

Okay, perhaps we can have a skype tutorial one day: I'm a two computer person :D

As I earlier only had time to read about half of your post, I was tempted to beam me to England for an uplifting tea and some chatting together. Now as I read the more hopeful second part..... I still want to come and share a tea 😆😆😆 I have worked during my studies part time at a tea shop (and at university... it was a funny combination) and I loooooved the job. As my chef was very into English tea pots (and Russian ones) we naturally had many different pots and tea sets for example from Dunoon and from Denby. To some extant I still remember the prices :-D
I so hope your family member is feeling a bit better. This is so saddening, when someone loved fells ill. As I am the queen of negative thought circles, such crises often lead to an overall bad and negative mood for me. But after reading the end of your post, I got the impression you are tad more constructive in dealing with tough times.
Nevertheless, I send you big hugs and some sunbeams <3

I realised when I read this that I probably passed over where you live on my way back from Poland: if I was more organised I would have stopped on the way! However, you are always welcome here, Leicester has several places that do very beautiful afternoon tea, with lovely china. I like some Denbyware, not all of it. I have found a passion for collecting jugs and small covered tureens are always useful. These items are so inexpensive in charity shops - perhaps 20% of the "new" value.
Well, it is a very elderly family member (91 years) and making sure she has everything to have as nice a life as possible. It is causing some upheaval among other family members, because she needs more attention now and things have to be a little more organised. It falls hardest on my partner, I think (it is his mum), he is very tired sometimes. But we look after each other :) We have a small break planned this weekend. so that will be refreshing! Thank you for the hugs and sunbeams ... a gloomy day here :)

I will answer you on discord :-D

I'm glad to hear you are feeling revitalized! Very cool that your work paid for you to be at Steemfest!

Thank you, yes, work have been very supportive and interested in these ideas.
How are you? I know you have been avoiding inclement weather (so sensible). Until now, it has been very mild here, but this morning it was distinctly frosty, and this afternoon is gloomy and overcast. I don't mind too much - it is excellent weather to curl up in the warm and knit :)

ps I am just trying another @treeplanter voting circle ... after only two minutes, I thought "why am I doing this?" hehe ... I thought that people might have learned how to do it. Silly me!

LOL! Oh no, is it at NWM? I haven't seen it yet. I'm down.
I've been, well, overcast, but getting through, lol. Very low energy, not doing much. But nothing terrible, either. The weather came and went and came back and went again. Denver weather never stays long (well, usually). :)
I need to get baking though, because American Thanksgiving is just two days away and I'm on bread duty. ^_^

Oh, that sounds good. What kind of bread are you planning?
I miss your posts (no pressure, just saying), they're one of the nice little things that pop up, makes me think I'll get a cup of tea and enjoy reading that. Take care and have a fabulous Thanksgiving.

Aw, thank you, that makes me happy to hear that you like my posts. 💚 I'll be making @lyndsaybowes' bun recipe for dinner rolls. Nom!

You are doing well my friend. I remember when we met here, thanks for being an active and supportive steemian, I’m sure our efforts pay off in the future.

Thank you - you, too 😊

Well done you! It's a risk for sure but I have money in shares that are in negative positions and the good old fashioned bank accounts are paying 1.5% APR (Santander 123).

Is there anything better unless you use Bank of Pakistan or something like that?

I think it's the same thing all the time, isn't it? Considered risk. We have to make sure the bills are paid and money put aside for the future, whether that's old age, replacing the boiler or supporting young ones. But after that, then it's about what kind of future do we want to see. I've lost more money on fraudulent tradesmen or excessive insurance, to be honest 😂.
I don't want to give away any spoilers but I'm looking forward to your ROI post (and no pressure, by the way) 😊.

but I'm looking forward to your ROI post

I haven't forgotten, and noticed your kind delegation, thank you :)

Hi Shanibeer, now is definitely a good time buy steem...

The UK definitely needs more Dolphins, and a few Whales would be good too.



Blimey, that would be a lifelong work! Thank you for your support 😊

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.151 which ranks you at #8928 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 8945).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83