I really don't understand steem it... do you?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Hey guys this is just a short post I wanted to do and I'm going to be real honest here.

I have absolutely no idea how this thing works and I'm being straight forward, everyone has there own idea on how to earn with steemit but none of them really seem certain on exactly how it's done. They give wish washy ideas that work specifically for them but they are unable to explain what makes it work for them, which tells me that they don't really know how they actually do it, they just tend to do it.

What baffled me the most was this, My first 2 blogs which were about myself and my life earned approximately $30 each (I have no idea how) and then my next 2-3 posts earned $0.10c. They were well written, informative, helpful and bringing value to the steemit community. I would say personally they were even better then the first two posts. They had upvotes and comments too so what went wrong??

I'm not expecting to make millions of dollars per post, that is not what I'm saying. I just really don't understand how my first two posts earn $30 and the next two earn cents... where is the consistency. Shouldn't it really be the other way round????

Could you guys please help me make sense of this because I'm really failing to understand this platform. I have been through the FAQ section and in all honesty it isn't that helpful. The Facts are so basic it doesn't really explain the platform in the kind of detail we require.

Sorry for my rant but I just needed to get this out there.

I would love your input below and any help or support you could provide. It would also help those who read this blog and read your comments after.

Thank you and God Bless You ALL!!

Sort:  

I'm getting similar problems, I started of very slow and the allof a sudden for like a week I was raving and bringing in $60 to $80 every post I was buzzing infact over the moon.

My writing skills improved and so did my structure, to be honest I look at my work now and compare it to then and be like wow major difference ...

But I'm having problems now, my post starts of really good I'll blog it would hit $2 or $3 in a second or two. The comments will fly in and people will honestly love the post but the upvotes stay how they are and even if I get votes there's just no growth.

Obviously I need to understand what helps it build. I know Storing and the longer you hold SP it helps your blogging but the problem is I been doing that for nearly two months now , I've never withdrew so I have a significant amount yet I'm still a minnows.. and my content is very low... I just keep going on to be honest .. I have upto 200 followed now it's not made a major difference but has made a little difference just wondering what's next!.

All I can say is Annoying!!!

It happens to everyone.. The introduceyourself tag gets attention from whales who want to attract new users to the site.. Don't expect to make more money with more followers either.. I think the only way to have more fun here is to buy steem power..

I have to completely agree with you... I have seen guys with thousands of followers whom make no money with their posts. On the other hand I see people with no followers are tonnes of money,

I just want a system that works, short term long term it doesn't matter. Just like a plan which is actually proven to work.

It is a capitalist Blockchain

I think it can be kinda random depending on who happens to see your post and maybe how much their votes matter. Just take it as how much you average that matters more.

It's kind of weird though don't you think?

I think it's all about the steem power if you ask me. People buy it and get more money per each of their posts. I think that's all it comes down to, to be honest.

yeah, it seems kind of strange if the incentive is to spend real money to lock it up to increase your play money account, but then you can't really withdraw it when you want to. Seems to me if I want to invest in Steem, it should be on it's own merits, and convertible at any time, not locked up in a confusing scheme. Or maybe I just don't understand it fully yet, like you, haha

Lol
I think we're both just super confused right now.

How and where do we learn no one is telling us lol!

Here's something that helped me learn something I was confused about, Steem, Steem Dollars, and Steem Power. https://steemit.com/steem/@investing/steem-steem-dollars-and-steem-power-explained

If anyone has any information on the algorithm that defines the relationship between STEEM, Power, and upvote $, this would be very enlightening.

It sure would lol because I am so annoyed!!! I just can't figure it out lol!!

hi @shaf1991 i understand your frustration.. you may want to add and follow @adil ...he has very useful posts for newbies like us that include tips on how to make the most of Steem.. try to check his older posts which explains how he made a good start in just 2 weeks and the do's & don'ts for us to apply. hope you don't give up & continue Steeming! 😊

Thanks for this comment I appreciate it and I'm sure it it'll help loads of others too :)

passing it on to lessen our frustrations :) let's help build this community!

Less about why certain posts do well and others don't (though I don't really understand that either, I just have only posted twice so I don't have enough experience with it yet...though one did "well" and the other it seems as though nobody even saw), but I'm such a noob I also don't really understand the difference between steem dollars, steem power, and steem yet. I'm sure that'll come with time. Is there a post anyone would recommend explaining those?

This post has received a 9.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shaf1991.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44