Is your account auto upvoting @steemsports & @minnowbooster "without your permission"? No need to freak out like I did - If you're using @steemvoter, you gave consent!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I'm hereby editing a post I made less than an hour ago:


I saw "unauthorized" upvotes in my name for @steemsports & @minnowbooster. I didn't understand why, made a rash conclusion that @steemvoter was doing something shady, and made a post asking WTF was going on.

@edb responsibly called me on it:

THANK YOU @edb for being a responsible community member and pointing out my error in judgment so that I may correct myself!

THANK YOU @steemvoter for disclosing the terms of your service and realistically for being pretty reliable over the years.

My bad, y'all - STEEM ON!




ORIGINAL POST

I use @steemvoter to enhance my steemy experience.



I use this service to auto upvote accounts I deem worthy so that I can consistently support them without missing a single post. I am opted out of their guild vote service, wherein they take 1 full upvote a day to support some account chosen by the community.



Steemvoter is the only service I use to auto upvote posts, and I'm seeing something unsettling:

My account @saramiller is auto upvoting @steemsports & @minnowbooster - 2 accounts I DID NOT GIVE PERMISSION to upvote!

Why is my account automatically upvoting @steemsports & @minnowbooster?



I'm seeing this happen to multiple accounts (thanks to @quinneaker for bringing it to my attention), so the intention of this post is to ask if anyone else encountering this problem?
WTF is happening?
Is this a glitch from @steemvoter or another service?
Most importantly, where do I go to find resolution?

This is not acceptable.








💛 Sara!


Sort:  

They're not using my vote, but I did give them permission. Please read the FAQ before creating drama:

We reserve the right to use one vote every day from every non-premium account to self-promote. This may not happen exactly every day and we may catch up on historical votes due in small batches.

Self-promotion may occur on any @steemvoter post or posts of or our umbrella corporation @buildteam and other current and future sister projects such as @minnowbooster and @steemsports.

THANK YOU @edb!
Appreciate your response & that you're holding ME responsible for jumping the gun to call foul.

Happy to admit my mistake, and even happier to know this service is NOT being dishonorable.

I will edit this post to reflect the answer you provided...which @steemvoter provided all along too.

Yes, tacit consent is totally consent, and this is disclosed as the "fee" so to speak of using their service. I did not read closely, so my bad.

On a fairly side-stepped topic: what app can I use to auto schedule my posts? I had been using streemian, but they are shutting down. Apologies for the randomness, but I would really appreciate any input.

I'm glad this is sorted :)

Thanks @edb for pointing out the terms, we are glad that this issue has been resolved and our terms and conditions clarified, thank you for your continued patronage. Steemvoter is a subsidiary of BuildTeam and we always endeavour to provide a socially responsible service.

Great to highlight this issue.
This is a concern coz people try to use the bot by trusting it and it could be a disaster if the bot is doing this thing.

Holy shit it's happening with me too for Minnowbooster.

Ya wtf???

Well, it's good that you brought this to our notice
I am not experiencing such as I do not use steemvoter.
I use steemauto instead.
I hope you find a solution to this
So sorry about that

Damn it!
How is this possible!???
Thanks for the information.
Have to watch out

Pay attention!

very good information and can add to my knowledge. thank you

use steemauto. It's free.

To thought this bot could be trust, so why that trash

You got a 2.64% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @saramiller!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

What ever happened to the decline payout method of posting? I found that useful for putting up other people's content...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86