Why aren't images showing up in my older posts?

in #steem5 years ago

Starting about 10 days ago I noticed that pictures in old posts aren't displaying properly.

I usually use Busy to make posts to the Steem blockchain, and I frequently drag and drop photos from my desktop to the post editor.

Once I noticed this problem, I found that I can no longer drag and drop for proper display. However, if I can enter a URL for a hosted image, then it WILL show up in my final post.





Anyone know what's going on and how to see old pics again?

















✨💛✨ Sara!

Sort:  

I believe Busy is no longer being maintained and the images were held on their own server, which seems to have been switched off.

This is a common issue for Steem. The text of posts is held on the blockchain but images and videos are not.

Super bummer! Have you seen any articles about this @pennsif?

There have been a few mentions of this issue, for example this one from @adetorrent...

For reference, Partiko has also been abandoned by the developer now.

You could be blocked, or it is an issue with busy! When I was blocked this would happen to me, i think they simply decided to quit hosting pics cause of the data costs.

Who can block me on the blockchain @coininstant? How and why? Where is notice?

The devs can block our images from the nodes. I was blocked all last year. I doubt you are blocked, it's not a blockchain block, but just a front end block. I heard other people talking about this image thing too, so I just assume it's blocked now for everybody. They didn't even notify me officially, I had to figure it out myself.


Hey @coininstant, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Congratulations @eii, you successfuly trended the post shared by @saramiller!
@saramiller will receive 0.04708125 TRDO & @eii will get 0.03138750 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I have been using steemit.com always to try to avoid these types of problems. I didn't trust all the 3th party services and see now many of them are abandoned.

Congratulations @saramiller, your post successfully recieved 0.04708125 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@eii earned : 0.0313875 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34