Low Steem Price Claims Another Victim?

in #busy5 years ago

I am probably one of the biggest users of the Busy.org platform on the Steem blockchain. Over the years, I've made hundreds of posts using the Platform, and many of the post - if not all, included images.

I noticed a few days ago that I could no longer drag images into Busy the way I used to. I had to updload the image to an external host, and then use the URL in the post instead.

What I didn't realise, but do now, is that posts going back to two years since I've been using Busy have all now lost their images. I actually noticed this when looking through another person's profile, and noticed all their images were missing.

Screen Shot 2020-01-28 at 21.35.43.png


@phortun, I looked at your profile too. Many of those amazing images you uploaded are now gone!

It's so terrible, since so many of my posts were carefully arranged with images, but now look odd with error icons all over the place. I would love to go back and replace all those image links to fix them, but I truly can't remember what photo was which, and it's just too much work. Besides, I'm not sure how far back I'm allowed to edit posts on the blockchain.

Going forward, I'm just going to learn another lesson that you can never trust someone else with your stuff. I guess the low Steem price has claimed another victim.

One odd thing though. Some of the photos are still there, so it may have to do with IPFS and not Busy.org particularly. Maybe this is the image version of what used to happen to DTube videos on IPFS storage

My signature banner for instance is sitting on "ipfs.busy.org", and it's still visible in my posts. I just can't upload an new image unto it that IPFS server.

As much as I love Busy.org, and the lovely twenty something cents upvote I get from them, this may well be farewell. I hope to see this condenser come back to life since it's my favourite one.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

oh man that's too bad.. I rarely use it.. but have liked it when I did..

first @partiko and now busy..

Did you get any feedback from them on it? Anyway to confirm if it's not just a temporary bug?

Busy devs haven't said a word on here since SteemFest 3!! They stopped blogging, and stopped responding.

Oh man, that's not good..

.. but I guess it's hard to make money when you rely on payouts from something that pays pennies per post..

too bad really, cause the more options the faster the tech will develop,,

Hey Ade, I noticed the issue with uploading photos to Busy too, I also use this platform very often. Actually, for all my content except longer travel posts that I publish through the TravelFeed app. However, I cannot see any of my previously uploaded images removed from the posts. I scrolled down to a couple of months ago and it´s all there. Can you give me some examples please?

Ah you know what? When I view them on Busy, they don't show the images anymore, but I can still see the images when viewed from Steemit.com.

Hmm. Interesting.

Here's what I see from Busy.org
Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 11.48.00.png

And this is what I see on Steemit.com

![](Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 11.52.56.png)

Ahh, that´s why... I was only checking them on Steemit. I actually use Busy just for posting (to get that upvote you mentioned :D), other than that I do everything else on Steemit... But the pictures can disappear from Steemit too one day. Or from other platforms. From what I understand, photos and videos featured in our posts are stored in some external serves that have nothing to do with our blockchain so they all can be gone one day... Just like it happened with DLive videos already...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36