Market Action and Instant Gratification

in #steem6 years ago

Way back in the old days it took the stock market 30 years to go from 1000 points on the Dow Jones Industrial Average to 3000 points. Sounds like a long time when we think about it now a days. They didn’t have all of the hedge funds, high frequency trading, and government manipulation back then though. This is when chartists honed their craft and economists actually made sense. The laws of cause and effect actually mean something.

We’ve seen a precipitous drop in the values of cryptos throughout 2018 with a large upwards spike happen about a week or two ago that renewed all the crypto bulls. The thing is, was this a dead cat bounce or was there an newly emerged catalyst that will support these recent gains? I saw that Bitcoin rose from the high 6000s to push above 8000 in a matter of hours while Steem even rose some 40+ percent. What has changed in these cryptos that could reinforce this uptick in value?

I think that a lot of us have gotten spoiled with these massive increases in values in cryptos and the market space and expect this sort of thing to continue (upwards of course). We expect this instant gratification in our perceived valuations to happen immediately and the good times to roll on. Can’t say I blame anyone, it’s the new norm. The good times have been rolling on for the last decade.

What I think people should take away from this article is that volatility is not a sign of health. If your vital signs are volatile and all over the place you may just end up having a heart attack. The same way is with respect to the markets. The more violent the swing (in either direction) the more violent the opposite action can occur. These sorts of movements can wipe people out. This is especially the case in the realm of high risk assets like crypto currencies.

We need to pay attention to values objectively and rationally. Don’t invest more than you are prepared to lose. And, just because you are up 1000 points doesn’t mean you can’t me down 2000 points tomorrow. Volatility can be your friend but it can also be your worst enemy. Let’s not let our emotions get in the way of our judgment and live to invest another day!

Image source: bigthink.com

Sort:  

I couldn't have put it better. Even relationships can have violent swings.

Hi Read! Been missing your comment on my blog, thought i better stop by say hello! See what you're up to. Crypto markets, eh! When i heard of blockchain about 2012ish it totally interested me. I encouraged my x to get a rig up mining some bit coin. But, stayed clueless other then that. Until last fall, when i got into Steem. Then i was like hey mr. X, about that bitcoin! I'd like half pls. Still waiting to get half of the forked coins but glad to be a little more in the know now. What's your background in cryptos?

Hey Jill, sorry about that! I haven't been posting as much as I used to or have been quite as active. Initially I wrote mostly on Yoga topics with some on economic things mixed in there. I think that this platform is more of a platform for the latter so that's what I've been talking about in the blogs. That, and when I read a lot of what I read on here regarding "spiritual" matters turns me off. For example, seems like quite a few people on here are having or had kundalini experiences, one person claims to have given himself shaktipat, it's ridiculous. You don't hear about too many people doing actual sadhana only people achieving very rare attainments. But I digress, I hope you're able to get that bitcoin pretty soon. My background is mostly in business and real estate. The only crypto I own is steem which I'm actually bearish on. I've written quite a few articles along the lines of why but it's mainly because they're part of a risk trade that I don't think is going to last much longer. Steemit may still be around though, I think the tokenization aspect may be different though.

Very interesting concepts you bring up Read. I sort of had a crazy week mentally and emotionally last week. Sorry for the late reply. But, i don't see too many posts about spirituality either. Aside from my friend wwf, have you come across his work? And, cabelindsey doing vision quest type challenges. I guess my practice is more subtle and personal at this point. I enjoy offering prayers as they arise. I understand what you're saying though. It's like the more, harder, bigger mindset is gripping people in the yoga world too. From complex (often unsafe) asana images, to the spiritual extremes you mentioned. I like to travel the consistent sustainable path. And, sometimes those moments of bliss and accomplishment arrive! But, to me those are sacred personal moments. I like to keep them close. The spaces between those are where the real practice comes from. And, the discipline to stay the course or correct and continue as needed is what matters. It seems we have lots in common. I helped my x run a residential construction company for 15.5 years. We did some commercial. And, were close to the developer side of things which taught me a lot. I was a realtor for 5 or 6 years. Doing mostly all residential most of that being new condo sales. It's a fun business. Once the new condo sales project ended (economy bottomed out) i didn't enjoy the solo grind of sales all the time. Quite honestly, i lost ambition for financial gain. Started focusing more on spiritual health. Do you have a personal yoga practice that you stick to? Bearish on steem eh. I feel like we will see increases here for the rest of the year. I like the markets. It's exciting. I worked on a trading floor a few years. Was in my last few months of that when 911 happened.

Hi Jill, it's actually Dan (read was for Real Estate Agent Dan). Spirituality has gotten very commercialized and maybe that's a good thing if it gets more people interested. As far as making progress and evolving, people can delude themselves all they want. I won't have any part in it.
I liked Real Estate sales, it was the easiest job in the world! I transitioned into management because I felt like that was the way things were trending. I was right for a while but then it slowed down over the past couple years and has just started to pick back up. This economy is like a rollercoaster sometimes.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Wonderful post ..Best of luck friend ✫
resteemid
Transfer 0.200 SBD/ steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 50 UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76