STEEM Mining for Windows / Linux / Linux VM in Windows

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Last week I came to know about STEEM and was super excited to use this and like the concept and whole thing how it works! I feel its going to change the way Social Media Networking work and this is the future. Its like a decentralized open source social network with transparency and creativity behind the scenes. I love this and tried doing STEEM mining as well on Windows machine referring to https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows. And it was easy to setup a miner which would mine STEEM as per configuration for you. I have created a Youtube Video tutorial for the people who have not tried it yet and would like to experiment with STEEM Mining. Below is the link:

STEEM MINING on Windows

Uploaded by CloudSentinels Studio on 2016-07-14.

Download the Steem Windows Miner created by bitcube.
Windows Binaries : https://github.com/btscube/steem/releases/tag/v0.8.5b

Download the Steem Blockchain provided by steemychicken1.
http://www.steemitup.eu/

Extract the miner and run steemd.exe

Copy blockchain files in \witness_node_data_dir\blockchain\database\block_num_to_block

In the config.ini file replace the appropriate things as described below :

# P2P nodes to connect to on startup (may specify multiple times)
seed-node = 192.99.4.226:2001
seed-node = 46.252.27.1:1337
seed-node = 81.89.101.133:2001
seed-node = 52.4.250.181:39705
seed-node = 85.214.65.220:2001

# name of witness controlled by this node (e.g. initwitness )
witness = "your-steem-account-name"

# name of miner and its private key (e.g. ["account","WIF PRIVATE KEY"] )
miner = ["your-steem-account-name","5YourPrivateWIFKeyIsVeryLong"]

Private key: Permissions -> Active/Owner

# Number of threads to use for proof of work mining
mining-threads = 2

You can define thread as per your configuration and desired CPU usage.

Restart steemd.exe and begin mining!

If you experience any issues and get errors or miner crashes, please refer to my video and other links in this post or feel free to comment here and we will try to resolve them.

You can also refer to https://steemd.com/steemhelp/@joseph/mining-steem-for-dummies
for trying mining on linux and later you can refer to
https://steemd.com/steem/@pfunk/guide-maximize-your-mining-hashrate-in-windows-by-mining-steem-in-a-vm
to further play with the things and get the best results from mining.

Important (Mining from Multiple Computers):

If you have more than one computer mining, then it is critical that only one of those computers is configured as a witness. To configure a steemd process as a witness (but not a miner) you will need the following configuration settings:

# WIF Private Key of a witness, starts with a 5...
witness = "your-account-name"
private-key = <PrivateKey-WIF>

You must not specify a witness with the same account name, your-account-name, on more than one steemd instance that has the necessary private key. If this happens then both instances of steemd will produce a block at the same time. Other nodes on the network will see this double-signing and submit a proof to the network that will allow them to claim your entire account balance.

Sort:  

It's the most easy way I've ever seen, very useful!
After synchronizing the blockchain, I got this error:

10 assert_exception: Assert Exception
head_block_num() == 0: last block ID does not match current chain state
{"last_block->block_num()":3296387,"head_block_num":3202773}
th_a database.cpp:98 steemit::chain::database::open
Image of err

is the miner stuck on that error ? or continued to mine and you get some red errors intermittently?

Try this-
steemd.exe --resync

and then copy paste the downloaded blockchain again in the same folder as you did earlier

re-run steemd.exe

resolved, thank you.

That don't work for me :(

is your config.ini as described above? and please check http://status.steemnodes.com/ steem nodes from that link and update few which are running. Delete the blockchain, re-download it and re-run steemd.exe, check if that resolves the issue

I don't get what you're saying, can you be a bit more specific please
(I started from scratch twice already...)
TIA

download the updated version of miner from here: https://github.com/btscube/steem/releases/tag/v0.12.0

Download updated blockchain, paste in the miner folder and modify the witness, miner, key and threads in config.ini. If this doesnt help you resolve the issue, please reply with your config.ini here and remove the private key from it.

This is the best fast mining guide I found on steemit

thanks :)

first of all I'd like to thank u for ur work. I followed all the steps in ur video and this is the first time I've managed to run steem.exe without closing. But as I understood there's no mining 'cause "mined-false" and it was never written that I "found a pow". Can u help me in this case?

things will take time.. right now you see 1hps it will change to xxxxxx hps in some time when the mining starts and you can monitor the steem power in your wallet to see if mining is increasing your steem power

it is 10 hours past and the picture is the same. Have no idea what i've done wrong.

It might take some more hours, do not close it as long as it does not give you any errors. If its not doing anything even after next 12 hours, then please close it run it again

I'm in the same boat... is that fixed and mining starts?

Hey guys I ran into problem where the window would close after 30 seconds when it tries loading block #3202773 due to some hardfork, however i found a solution to this; I downloaded a more updated version of Steem Windows Miner created by bitcube (same person mentioned in this tutorial) https://github.com/btscube/steem/releases/tag/v0.12.0
and it worked!
now my windows is showing this

am I minning?

everything looks good and mining will begin in few hours! :)

Hi again!
Some steem-nodes from your video are offline now since that was made 1 week ago... one of them it's status is stuck...

Do they all have to be all online for it to work properly? the ones we list in the config that is.

No you don't need all to work but its good if you have more IPs there working. So you can check real time stats of all the nodes for mining here and include the ones you feel are up and running most of the time:

http://status.steemnodes.com/

Hi, how will I know if I mined?

check your steem power regularly, it should increase as you mine

Hello, r3b37. First of all, let me express my gratitude towards the work you do :)
I followed every step, and now I am at syncing process. How long does this usually take?
Also, if succesful, how much will it mine?
Sorry if I'm asking amateur questions, I have just began to explore cryptoworld :)

Thanks @digitalarchitect for me it took few hours to actually start mining and I had 2 cores processor running 2 threads. I cant give you the exact calculations but I am mining 0.001 STEEM per 5 minutes (approx) with miner running on 3 threads 24/7, Intel Xeon E5-2673 v3 @2.4Ghz.

Thank you.
It has been processing for about 10 hours now. Is that normal?
Also, did anyone else pass this syncing stage? Or are you syncing just like me?

the red errors you are getting while mining are okay as long as the miner doesnt crash, you should check your steem power it must be increasing with time

The issue was resolved! I closed steem and run it again and it started mining! Thank you, r3b37!

Alright, thank you for your assistance, once again!
So should I just wait a few more hours? Also, since steem power increases anyways, how will I know if the miner is working?

have you downloaded the updated miner from https://github.com/btscube/steem/releases/ ?

Latest is "steem-win-x64-012.zip" and a updated blockchain from http://www.steemitup.eu/ for the new miner with config.ini modified as per your account and settings.

Yes, I did it last night, so it should be up to date.
The syncing process is over! But unfortunatelly I'm not mining, because I got this error:

Could you please help me solve this?

Loading...

hello and thank you for your very good video it's easy to configure

you can make a video for the cli inintialiser wallet please ???

I will try and make one. :)

Great tutorial! however I keep getting a parse error ! could you please help me by looking t this thread?

https://steemit.com/mining/@erik-prestinary/witness-parse-error-plugininitialize

i have replied on your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45