[Alpha] Introducing Screem - Bringing twitter to the blockchain age

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmTwPD4ngPLpsKxiAUN1yyEHqBCYafA5q2bXBu79zBKGGd

Screem

Bringing social networking to the blockchain age.

What is screem?

Steem's value comes from its prospects. It is a content creation network that is fit to replace current models of social networking. The first iteration of social networks is steemit. Steemit allows content creators to get paid for well thought out and interesting blog posts. Unfortunately, this does not fit the style of all users. Twitter did not get huge because of well thought out blog posts, it got huge because of witty sentences. I believe this model of social networking can be added to steem as well. This is why I am introducing the Alpha of Screem (working title). Screem is a twitter clone that allows users to follow there friends and give them money for making them laugh. As of right now it's a CLI client and a web front end. This is a very buggy proof of concept. It only allows for sign in, discover, post, and vote functionality, but I believe it can be more as it has economic incentives of steem and all the social incentives of twitter.

Screenshot

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmWzw3KZZK8xdWhutTXW8yEFNppaknFvxKNABFVehW4Uca

Alpha

And Finally, on to the alpha. You can go here to access the online demo.

Final words

Thank you all for reading my article. I hope to get more attention to this project. I am passionate about building the steem ecosystem and I think it is important initial apps are done right, so if you have any gripes or want to help out I would gladly accept any pull requests you have here at my github

https://github.com/NateBrune/Screem

Anything else please just talk with me in the comments or on steemit.chat. I am natebrune on there and you can join our community at #screem. Thank you one last time, I hope you enjoy.

Sort:  

Well done, great to see projects like this with so much initiative & enthusiasm behind them. People like you are what will make the steem community compete with the massive incumbents.

I am particularly interested in revenue models & incentive structures for apps like yours, as I indicated in Steem.chat, so I'll post here in case any knowledgeable people are hovering around.

Can Screem pull a fraction of the content & curation rewards on its platform into a central wallet?

Will the incentives be aligned to the most productive model for Screem, potentially showing individuals to vote on ~60 posts instead of the ~20 on Steemit? Will rewards on Screem, for short form posts, be the same as those on Steemit, but longer for posts? How much flex is there for app developers to tailor their own rewards systems? Will they require their own subchain Steem replica coin pegged to Steem?

The answers to these questions will reveal the extent to which Steem to change the web as we know it and how close we are to revolution in our online environments.

Imagine a Screem app that connected your screen account with your Twitter account, whereby popular Twitter users could migrate to Screem but auto post everything they post on Screem on twitter as well... With a short link to Screem.

Popular Twitter users could get all of these benefits & exposure of Twitter while getting paid on Screem.

Screem with be acting like a parasite, leeching value out of Twitter and feeding it directly to its own most popular users, while possibly generating revenue itself at the steem protocol level.

Twitter wouldn't see it coming until it was far too late. Investors would pull their money out. Twitter would implode in months.

They'd have to adopt Steem themselves just to compete, validating the potential and security of cryptocurrency the world over. There price of every crypto-coin with any kind of value proposition would explode!

Hit up SteemBlubber get it going dude.

Just remember us small minnows when you become big :) haha...
But no on a serious note I'm so pumped for this thanks for doing this!
edit: I'm BTCtips under that.

Congrats! I've been following this project the past few days and I'm really excited to see it take off. I'm more of a Twitter person than a Medium person so I love the premises.

Looking great :)
@mrgrey

You've got a follower in me. I'm interested to see how this goes. I'd definitely be more comfortable "screeming" on a regular basis than blogging.

Login is done with steemit username and password?

How to know that the login is "browser-only" and not being transmitted in the clear / to your server?

(NOT an accusation)

Yeah I get it. Two factors. I hosted it on IPFS which means there is no server. Its like bittorrent with just an html file. ipfs.io is not my website. The second thing is you can look at the source code of the web page. specifically you can just look at steemlogin() function and see that it's all being done in browser. It's not a bad question. I appreciate your question.

Hey guys! Nice work! I still want to contribute with my design skills. Right now I am focused in making the SteemPress theme for @jesta but as soon I have some time this week I will send to you my mockups.
Really impressive job! Well done!

Hello picokernel.
I appreciate your contribution to the community.
It's nice that you build an interface similar to steemit.com, I have highlighted the importance of that in a post that I wrote a week ago https://steemit.com/steem/@snowflake/steem-vision-short-introduction

In the future your website could be merged with steemit.com so that people can go from one site to another without needing to log in again. Let me know what do you think

Peace

What are you writing this in? Do you have a mobile app yet? I'm a developer with a growing interest in blockchain tech.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77