You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help! Why is it so hard to recruit new active users to Steemit!

in #steem7 years ago

Well being a new user I'm looking for the same kind of help you want to provide to people close to you. Looking at your account it looks like you've done relatively well so far. Show them the success you've already had.
Certainly you can't earn that much blogging on a typical website like blogger or Wordpress without a massive following. I started an account back in May but didn't do anything with it until this month, those are some missed months.

If they're already interested in blogging it's much better to do it on Steemit because there are people here already looking for your content. If they want to start Blogging on there own blog they're going to have to sit in the Google Sandbox for at least 6 months before they start to rank, so tell them to come to where there is already an audience waiting for them.

Personally I've been working hard to create good content and share it with as many as possible and have already made a few friends along the way. I'm an artist so it's nice to have such a big art community here on Steemit.

In time people will start to understand and accept that this is a better platform then what's currently widely accepted. Good luck to you!

Sort:  

I have to agree with you on this. I've been a local food blogger for more than 5 years, but I see people get more success even with just months here in Steemit.

I guess not everybody is into the process of writing something. Maybe they just want to read. I also tried promoting this with my friend, but they just say they don't have the "time" and "skills". Well, maybe they just don't want to try. :(

Well, writing and creating content isn't necessarily for everyone but we can certainly use readers for all this content we're creating. :) I'll check out your blog here on Steemit!

I do think that many people overthink the idea of blogging and the kind of content the need to produce. For me one of my favorite think about steemit is that it's a one stop shop for everything or interest. I can follow other silverbugs, garderner and homesteaders, parenting advice, I can check in for some comedy and also get all my crypto advice in one place. I feel like I can really be a full me here, instead of just showcase the silver side like I had to do on our coin blog.

As for advice that one thing I always tell new users is to find your niche and community and get involved in it, steemit is also big enough that if there isn't a community for you, then start one, there's others here that will have the same interest. Commenting an engaging is just as important (if not more) than blogging. I wish you the best of luck here and will follow your progress.

You're right there's a broad array of topics that you can find with good content on Steemit. As far as finding my niche I would have to say that's painting with oils and fine art and I've posted some here and seen some success with a few of them. But I have many interests that I like to write about and that I have an interest in, do you think it's better to stick with creating content around one idea? Last night I wrote a few posts about forbidden archaeology.

I imagine it's probably because I'm new here and lot's of people are creating content so you're not going to get every post noticed but I've seen several decent fall flat. I've been looking at into different communities but I'm not sure what I'm looking for at this point. When you say join a community do you mean getting to know people for example who post under the tag art or do you mean join a community? And if you mean join a community where do you find them? By the way I'm following you as well, so I'll definitely check out posts as too!

Yeah a community around a tag, I don't know the art community well, but I'm sure there is kinda an established group around some sort of tag. I'm most active in the #steemsilvergold community and #teamcanada community. but also #teamaustralia and #thealliance. There are just groups of motivated bloggers that band together it's just a matter of seeking them out.

Here's a post with some community and some other ideas

One thing I have heard and think is good advice is focus on commenting and building your audience first till you get maybe 200 followers, then balance with you blogs and comments still. I know how frustrating it is to make an amazing blog for hours only to get like 10 views and 0.50.

I personally think minnow support project is a great community and many have associated discord channels which is worth while checking out.

Sorry you asked about focus too. I'm a bad one to ask, my blog is very erratic. I have been layering though, and adding more as I go. For example it was quick to saturate the silver community and theirs a ceiling as to just how well you can do with laser focus like that, but it was totally where I started.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29