Taking Steem News to the next level - translations, social media & charity - would that be a good move for Steem?

in #steem5 years ago

Producing the Steem News every day is a big undertaking.

To do it properly takes at least 4 hours every single day.

With that commitment should we be making more use of it?

So far Steem News has just been telling Steemians about Steem.

What we really need though is to be telling the rest of the world about all the great stuff happening on Steem.

Could Steem News be a vehicle for doing that?

I think so, here's how...


Translations

So far Steem News has all been in English. But that is only catering for one portion of the current, and potential audience of Steem.

It would be great to get Steem News translated into the some of the more popular languages on Steem. In the first instance maybe Spanish, Korean, German. Then perhaps Japanese, Chinese, Turkish, Indonesian?

There may even be scope for including some 'localised' stories that are important for Steem in particular countries but are not getting picked up through the English language posts.


Social Media

Currently I just put out the Steem News posts on my very modestly followed Twitter account.

I don't use other social media so it doesn't get any wider viewership.

Would it be useful to be pushing Steem News (or the stories in it) out to the wider world of social media?

I believe so. Steem needs profile. Steem News could provide ready made, and focused material to push out on social media every day. This could be great for building awareness of all the many different elements of Steem and attracting new users.



How could this all be done?

It would need a team...

Just producing the daily news, every single day, is a big commitment for one person.

We would need translators. (I have found those already)

And we would need a social media coordinator.

And in reality this would need funding. Vote rewards would not sustain a team.

Would this be a suitable proposal for the Steem Proposal System?

Would enough big voters think it valuable enough for Steem to support it to get funding?

I would be very interested in views on this.



And the charity?

As an added sideplay on this I had an extra idea.

Each language version of Steem News (including the main English version) would go out on its own account.

If the team members were rewarded directly (and more consistently) from SPS funding then the post rewards from each of the news accounts could be donated to a central Steem Charity account.

It would not generate a vast fund but it might at a rough estimate reach in the order of $5000 per year even with the current low Steem price.

That could provide the starting point for a Steem Charity as I wrote about a few weeks ago...



This might all seem like an overreaching fantasy.

But Steem needs to build its profile. Every where, every day.

Maybe, just maybe, with the effort and commitment that goes into producing Steem News, it can be put to a greater use...

Sort:  

awesome idea. man, I just started a new job and loads of awesome stuff is happening on steem. I think you should so a proposal :-)

Good luck with the new job - it looks like a good one.

And thank you for your support for doing a proposal.

Great ideas. I think this is a very suitable proposal for the SPS. SPS is all about growing the Steem ecosystem and ultimately, spreading the word is a necessary part of that.

We've been working on the steemleo twitter account as much as possible and that's a vital step as well for Steem. We're tweeting some Steem news and top posts from Steemleo, but more can always be done.

As far as voting support on posts to fund this: I think with the effects of the EIP, there are a lot of whale votes being thrown around to solid projects/creators. If there was ever a time to do this, it would be now.

If I can help in any way, just let me know. You've got my discord 🦁

Thank you for your support on this.

I will see what sort of response this gets, and then move on to the next stage of preparing a proposal if it seems to have enough interest.

Congratulations @minnowspower, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @pennsif!
@pennsif got 6 TRDO & @minnowspower got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

@pennsif,
I do believe FaceBook and Tumblr also good social media platforms to share STEEM news!
$trdo

Cheers~

Sorry, @theguruasia you’ve reach daily limit of 10 successful TRDO calls!
Please try again tomorrow!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

It would be great to get Steem News translated into the some of the more popular languages on Steem. In the first instance maybe Spanish, Korean, German. Then perhaps Russian, Japanese, Chinese, Turkish, Indonesian?

There may even be scope for including some 'localised' stories that are important for Steem in particular countries but are not getting picked up through the English language posts.

#STEEM should have accounts in all social networks - someone should do this - I fully support - if you need my help, write

Thank you.

I think your ideas are great. The old saying goes...

Nothing tried, nothing gained

I don't see anything wrong with submitting a proposal to SPS (Steem Proposal System). What is the worst that could happen, they say no?

Last I checked there were only two dozen proposals of which I have voted to support 4 of them. I would definitely vote for your proposal as it would definitely be a boon to STEEM in the area of marketing.

This is an area only focused on by a few influential people, for example @theycallmedan. Yes I went there and tagged him, hopefully to get his eyeballs on this great idea. It is definitely something I am sure he would be very interested in further investigating given his marketing activities of STEEM.

Charity? Why sure! Having received a great deal of help in the past when I was a homeless Vet, I am all about voluntarism. So much has been accomplished over the years by your Dollar-A-Day initiative and many other noteworthy charities on the Blockchain and also those currently still operating.

Getting a team together? Now that may be the hardest part. Hopefully, folks will wish to help.

I look forward to hopefully seeing all these initiatives coming to fruition!

Thanks for the positive words on this idea @sgt-dan.

I'm still talking with people about it and refining the idea to something most likely to get the required support.

Oh, I promised @guiltyparties I would share his post with you for possible inclusion in your next publication of Steem News In 10. He is looking for input regarding @spaminator.

https://steempeak.com/spaminator/@guiltyparties/spaminator-requesting-your-input

Not a reporter, but something I though you might find news worthy. As you said, it is difficult to find these things all by yourself.

Sorry I missed this one, will look out for the next one.

I would love to help out but have time restraints myself. I can help spreed the word though.

That will be great, thanks.

I share some of the Steem News on Facebook and Twitter through our #SteemPhilippines accounts.

That is excellent, thank you.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69