The Dolphin Chronicles - 8/12/2016 - Helping Minnows Is Our Duty

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I've been a member of Steemit community for a long time. Even back to the days before Protoshares (PTS) was launched. I remember waking up at 7:00am the morning of Nov 5, 2013, learning now to mine PTS. Only to discover I was late, because the time was 7:00am GMT not 7:00am EST. This was only the beginning of my learning journey.



Dan Larimer and Charles Hoskinson, Atlanta Cryptocurrency Conference 2013


As a Dolphin on Steemit, I believe in the platform and its ability to bring about real change. I have been recruiting members to the platform that would have never downloaded a Bitcoin wallet. Steemit has created a platform that allows everyday people, not crypto nerds, to join the digital currency revolution.

The following a list of the everyday people (minnows) that I've personally recruited:

@hellomrcole - A professional musician turned entrepreneur
@michaelpair4 - A 19 year college student
@iamdavidl - A professional music producer and business man
@tskeene - A publisher of 3 Books featured on Amazon
@conductor123 - A performing artist with a love for Ministry

Helping New Users

Each of these minnows knew nothing about Bitcoin, digital currency, or Keynesian economics. However, they knew how to post content and each has their own unique story to tell. Whatever was required to get them to create their first post, I helped them with it. I took photos, taught Markup language, created video tutorials, held conference calls, edited and formatted posts. They had varying degrees of success with their respective introduceyourself posts.

Those that had successful post wanted to know how to turn their STEEM into USD. This required more teaching and walking them through the process of creating accounts on cryptocurrencies exchanges like Bittrex and Poloniex and USD off ramps such as Coinbase and Circle.

Helping Minnows Grow, Teaching them to Swim

I've encouraged them to continue going forward. I told them while they are thinking about their next topic, to start curating content and writing comments. I will help them in any way I can to succeed. I didn’t write this post to highlight what I’ve been doing personally, but to emphasize the fact that we are a community.

Members of a community help each to succeed and as a result we all benefit.

Stay tuned for future episodes of the Dolphin Chronicles. If you are a Dolphin, I’d like to hear how you are assisting others to help the Steemit community grow. Let’s share ideas.

Thanks,

@pairmike


FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

Thanks for the upvote for my The Edible Outdoors post on Wild Lettuce. Honestly, if it weren't for the upvotes, I would have quit weeks ago, but the support of followers and people upvoting encourage me to word hard, do my best, and become a better writer and presenter on steemit. Thanks again.

You are quite welcome. I enjoy your posts. Someone on Steemit referred you... I think it was the guy building a green house.

Excellent, thanks for following his reference.

I organise and facilitate a weekly photography contest called Steemit Photo Challenge with prizes upwards of 300 Steem each week.. They encourage users to post more original work, gives exposure to sometimes unknown or undervalued users, and prizes are always nice. We've had 4 so far, the 4th is currently running.

I also did a nice interview with the first winner and highlighted more of his photos, @sharker

They certainly encourage me. I'm going to go photo some insects right now.

We were just in chat talking about helping people. I hope to have the power to help some day. For now, I will offer a helping hand.

What chat channel are you in?

Great work @pairmike. You deserve credit for encouraging others for sure.
Upvote a coming when I can garner energy to hit the buttooon.
BTW, does anyone truly understand Keynesian economics?
Cheers
@Booky.

nice post take this upvote

Thanks for taking the time to read and vote. Much appreciated.

Minnow here, thanks! Want to grow up to be a dolphin - lol! Seriously, lots to learn - thanks for being great!

Thanks, let me know how I can help.

I don't think I will ever even make it to minnow status stuck at algae.

You can. Don't give up. Put a list together of topics you want to write about. Also, you can help others format their posts, include graphics and other tasks for a fee, in Steem of course.

405 posts so far and the most I made was from a reply to a person that started a flag war. They lost big time.

I'm following you now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37