Steem is back on 24 hour rounds and fighting off bots effectively

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

This is about the Steem developement hardfork number 13, my lucky number. And therefore SteemIt posts will have 24 hours rounds again, or payout in the 25 hour after posting, if you like. To my opinion that is better because then every post counts for the whole planet. The hardfork went live on monday 15th of august 2016. Also addressing some other issues.

You might have noticed some changes in the text 'payout', it now is know as 'potential payout', a site update, done before the Steem hardfork. One major change is that there is a minimal threshold for curations to count. In effect meaning that low powered 'mass' voters have no effect in the potential payout buildup proces. This is done so meaningless and bad programmed 'copy-paste-vote-reply' spam bots can be stopped effectively. Because often they are used by accounts that have no meaningfull Steem Power. And in this manor they would not be able to gain any by trying to trick the system, creating a lot of useless content and curation in the process. Bad in many ways...

What would this have for an effect on new users? Or those with VESTS, Steem Power, below the threshold? And what happens if those 'get-rich-quick' bot owners buy just enough Steem to Power Up, just over the treshold limit? If you have any thoughts on that, please let me know in a reply.

And mining got repared

Then there is the fix that makes it impossible to trick the mining system. Some effect that SteemIt users, like me, might not even have noticed. But at one point it seemed possible to skip the complex math done by a 'miner' and this was taken advantage off. Luckily that got fixed with the new Steem release.

Now I do understand that it is in everybody's interest to keep spam to a minimum, to keep scammers out and to create a platform that prefers original human created content. The latter one may sound easy, logical even, but in day to day practise it might be difficult to notice what is real fresh original content, human made. And there are some human behaviour factors to consider that could help build a good filtering system.

We can only read a certain amount of words per minute, on average. So we can only digest a certain amount of posts per day. And this is also limiting our maximum amount of replies we can make. Also the amount of posts we can make on a daily base does have its limits. Humans tend to need some sleep, some time to eat etcetera. This knowledge could help to proof true human activity on SteemIt and filter bots out. But, then those bad bot programming crooks could use timers for different bots, to mimic human behaviour. And share it again for others to copy-paste with little or no effort to it.

And even though the curating threshold might seem a good idea, even with a possible downside for new Steemers, or ones with no score yet, it might not be enough to stop the spamming copy-paste bots. It is a pitty that these kind of measures need to be applied, in order to keep Steem going. But it is a part of the SteemIt reality.

Hopefully there is a certain way in the nearby future to automaticly notice if an account is spamming copy-paste bot driven, or used by a real breathing human being. One that creates fresh new original content on a regular base. And I guess it would help if Steemers would think about what they curate and reply to, cause after all, it is in their own interest that spamming copy-paste bots are ruled out.

Any thoughts on this subject? Feel free to share them in a reply. Also, if you are convinced that I made a wrong assumption about the changed threshold 'curation system', then please let me know. Always willing to learn more.

Sort:  

That is really interesting - what is the minimum curation threshold - is it decided by SteemPower or the number of votes?

Good question. As I came to understand it is related to Steem Power.

Ahh - so that's what happened! I wonder if I would have got more votes on my best post yet:

https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@adamt/house-in-a-rain-drop-steemitphotochallenge

(he says, hopefully!)

well here is an up vote @adamt and I will do so there too.
full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle

Thankyou and will check!

That will take another 4 weeks. ;-)
Still you got mine.

After the first round of 24, it takes another 4 weeks, so in september you might have a surprise.

Wow I noticed I didn't recieve many curation rewards yesterday. I guess this is why. Now I can Check only once a day without feeling I missed anything. Thanks for the update.

Yes, no need to get out off bed in the middle of the night anymore. ;-)

You are welcome Denny.

YES!

I'm only just over 3 weeks on Steemit, just when they had switched from 24 hours down to 12. I was just thinking yesterday how I felt like my posts could really use another 12 hours to gain an audience and potentially earn more, so this news is a wish come true.

Since I'm a little minnow in a growing sea, I suppose I should concentrate on my content and interacting with the community in order to build my reputation and standing. Rome wasn't built in a day!

Indeed, that seems to be the best way, concetrate on your posts and replies.

Good luck, you've gained 12 hours time for everyone of the next you publish!

I would like to give some feedback from a Newbie point of view, firstly I new about this great site even before the interview was done on the Lets Talk Bitcoin platform, and I commented then about the signing up process (I am BikerGSX) having to use Facebook which I don't like but that's another story, I understand why it's done thou but would like other options explored.

I know this site is for writers and bloggers and I don't have any gripes for what they get paid, and on this point there are some excellent posts that don't get well paid, for who I feel for. Now I would put myself in another group as I love reading and then commentating and encouraging discussion and debates about a posted article, where to me that's how relationships are built and strengthened which in turn builds a strong community. At the end of the day we need each other, but I would like the "reward" pendulum to shift slightly towards the reader, especially the reader that takes time to vote ( after reading the article) and then posts comments and gives feedback.

Having come to the end of my feedback, I did get the image which some in my "group" might have and that is; arriving at a large rock concert and receiving a couple of Dollars on entering and seeing all the writers and bloggers on stage under the lights while we all cheer and screem, while some are passing out because they overwhelmed by it all, and the rest of us getting thrown a few pieces of popcorn now and again. Just can't help what thoughts appear.

Please give feedback and do feel free to kick my ass and throw abuse.

Thanks for your reply, no need for whooping or cursing, I think. ;-)

Your thoughts are well layed out and I get the analogy you've sketched. There are some things that could be changed, and in fact Steem(It), Beta, is in a process of constant change.

The reader is also valued/ rewarded, as far as I know. And without readers there is no use for content. So they are important, as they do curate what they read. Sometimes the replies do get well payed by the way. It is a delicate balance. Feedback, reply, on content is important. Readers are an important part of this community too, as without them, it would seize to exist.

And maybe you could layout your thoughts in a post, from a readers point of view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63788.71
ETH 3393.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62