You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you think you own your content on steem – Sorry to tell you…..

in #steem5 years ago

I agree that fraudulently reporting false canonicals is 100% unethical and should stop immediately.

That means you: @elipowell @andrarchy @doxie-tx @gerbino @justinw @roadscape @vandeberg

You are actively committing fraud by representing your site as the original publisher of other works.

STEEM as a blockchain is tricky since the source of the data is a publicly available blockchain. That is why proper canonical references are important to let the world know where the content was initially created and submitted.

If this isn't fixed, users will have to start using DMCA and GDPR legal tools.

Sort:  

going down a legal road is not what I nor most people want to do. I have issued DMCAs before, as my content has been stolen and my courses sold on download sites. However this is a little different in that I published directly to steem my self. Also, to give steemit inc the benefit of the doubt here, I don't think this was malicious, most people dont have their own sites that are posting to steem.

Going legal is definitely a last resort.

This wasn't an accident though. I believe this was the change that overwrote everyone else's canonicals:

https://github.com/steemit/condenser/pull/3515

Whether you are posting to your own custom, wordpress, steempeak, a nitrous site like palnet.io doesn't matter. What does matter is that you are using a site to publish content that is not steemit.com

Good find on github! Yeah, no accident. We discussed this some days ago, but I don't see mention of one issue I noticed: that even if one publishes on a tribe website, the post timestamp shows that the steemit version is one block before the tribe version.

I hadn't noticed that. That's even more diabolical.

What are these tools you are talking bout?

DMCA take down requests and eventual civil suits. I'm not up on GDPR enough to know what is built into that regulation.

@nealmcspadden Thanks for taking the time to answer. I will ask.around a bit snd change my habits a bit more.

I wish you a great weekend ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56