You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buried Treasure: Make Money Upvoting Reply Posts on Steemit

in #steem8 years ago

Another useful post thank you!

However I think you may be missing a dark horse over here! @nanzo-scoop (aka me!)

  • 25 posts - $294 per post (all time)
  • Last 8 posts - $752 dollars per post

I've also been known to throw in some decent replies too (one scooped $600+). Most of all I think the content I post is pretty decent! :)

PS - and MOST IMPORTANTLY:

I think it is important to ensure we attract contract providers that post high quality material about subjects that are unlikely to appeal to the current Steemit audience/ high rollers. Not just engage in a game of 'chase the Whale.' Good content providers are not just a footnote in Steemit, they are the central to it.

If we are to grow and attract a wider audience (to whom making money to read, see, hear stuff they like is incidently), it's important that we have as much good content as possible on as diverse subjects as possible. If I think I can write a good piece on UFC, Boxing or both, I'm going to do that. Stats and tactical voters be damn! Yes, I might make more money if I spent that time writing on topics that have earned good money in the past, however Steemit as a platform requires proponents (that are also content providers) to think beyond that.

While it's nice to advise voters on how to earn, we need to be careful of the message it sends to content providers.

So my advice to CONTENT PROVIDERS is, yes know how Steemit Voting works however don't be put off providing quality content of value to Steemit even if your audience isn't on the platform yet. They will come as long as you (and people like you) are here. And when they do, you (and they) will reap the rewards.

Personally, when I get my STEEM 'power up' I will make it my MISSION to support quality content, no matter what area it is found in. I'm passionate about that.

Sort:  

Agreed re: good content. In terms of your posts and income, yes it's impressive. In my Voting Cheat Sheet I came up with an admittedly imperfect list of All Star posters. It's imperfect because I started by looking at the top 25 or so posts on the Votes view, and went from there. I applied some criteria (including post frequency) that narrowed the list to some very profitable names to follow. But I was frank in that article that I probably missed some high-value posters who had never scored a Top 25 post in terms of votes. No doubt there are more people like you who did not show up on my list, but still would be quite profitable to follow. I'll update it at some point soon and include some more names.

Cool - thanks, although as long as people get the take home message, I'm easy about whether I make the list.

This is definitely a good point. I am wondering how this is going to turn out. I wrote a few articles already without making too much money and I am really wondering whether anybody is going to go back to any of these articles. Seems to me right now that people are just chasing new posts and hot stuff to make money on upvotes. Not sure who is going to upvote posts that are weeks and months old. They can barely count on making money on upvotes I guess. In case the post didn't make money when published, why would it suddenly raise money months later. So only people supporting good content by heart will do so. Let's see how many are out there. But perhaps my predictions are not correct, we will see :-)

For now it is not too much fun, trying to be original for $50, watching others making thousands. It is only natural not to be trying anything new as long as people are upvoting the same topic over and over again.

I've had old posts double in value weeks later from late upvotes, so some missed Jems can be picked up later. Try writing a post with links back to older posts if they are appropriate and this way they may be rediscovered.

This is actually what happened after @steemship voted for one of my posts today, so definitely true :-) Good idea, linking back to older posts. I am actually trying to do that where it makes sense.

I've enjoyed your posts so far. They are thoughtful and well written. You generally won't get thousands of dollars for smaller postings, though, unless they really cover something new that people haven't seen before. I think $30 or $50 is more realistic for most posts. If they are longer and more informative, then yes, I think more voters are ready to reward that extra work.

True. I haven't been really writing posts with much planning or so, I usually just dump what comes up my mind. Perhaps I will try a different approach next time, thanks for the advice :-)

On the other hand, seems to me that you never know here on Steemit. I've seen posts of questionable quality getting thousands of $. But I guess that other people did consider these posts informative and there is not much to say. People decide :-)

$50 - $5 today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94