UFC Fight Night: Almeida vs Garbrandt - Main Event Prediction

in #sport8 years ago

Preview

This weekend, May 29th, Thomas 'Thominhas' Almeida takes on Cody 'No Love' Garbrandt. This is a fantastic match up. However I don’t like it. I don’t like it for the same reason I don’t like the Stephen 'Wonderboy' Thompson vs Rory McDonald fight.

It’s coming too soon.

Almeida and Garbrandt both 24, are two of the best prospects in the UFC. Both are young. hungry and undefeated. Almeida is 21-0. Garbrandt is 8-0. I want to see this match in 18 months to 2 years time. When both fighters game has developed, in what would certainly be a number one contender fight or even a fight for the Bantamweight belt itself.

Whilst a defeat won’t be the end of the world for either fighter, I would have liked to see them kept apart for a bit longer.

Key To The Fight

As for the fight? I expect an all out war. A little feeling out at first, but when they get into it should erupt like a volcano. I can't see either guy taking it to the ground. It promises to be a stand up fist fight between a great boxer in 'No Love' and a Muay Thai supremo in Almeida.

The key to this fight, in my view is Almeida's fight against Brad 'One Punch' Pickett.

Before that fight I would have picked Almeida. He was walking through and wrecking guys. However that fight puts a doubt in my mind. If he stands in the pocket too long, like he did against Pickett and gets caught by No Love, it could be goodnight early. Pickett can bang but Cody Garbrandt is no joke. Almeida needs to stay long and stay patient.

On the other hand, the Pickett fight could be the making of Almeida. It was a real acid test against a tough veteran and he passed. It could be just the tune up he needed going into a pick 'em matchup with Garbrandt.

This is a real tough fight to call, however if you forced me, I'm picking Almeida to win by KO. However I'd still got love for 'No Love' and would expect him to bounce back and go on a tear.


If you'd like my Prediction of a fight on this (or any other) card, let me know in the comments section below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73