How We All Can Strengthen The Steemit Platform Through New Users. A Suggestion For A Grassroots Initiative.

in #steem7 years ago


(image credit: branddignity.com)

Here recently I was reading a few posts centered on contributing to Steemit through producing content that will help the platform grow rather than just producing content that will promote ourselves as individual users. Now don't get me wrong, a lot of people produce amazing stuff and work real hard on it, it's high quality and is reflected in their votes on the post. Though Steemit always needs high quality content, it also needs content and efforts to promote new users who just joined. For those of you who have a ranking over 40 and started out as a grass roots user working hard on hit or miss posts, you know how hard it is to get followers, network, and still produce good quality content. It can be easy to get disenfranchised after spending six hours at a keyboard hammering out thoughtful and sincere post and not get any votes or comments due to it becoming lost in the tumble of the Steemit feed. For the new user something like a resteem from someone who is an experienced user is a massive boost to moral. It increases their posts exposure and helps your followers to see their hard work.

So what I'd like to propose is that those of you who have a ranking of 40 or above and a following of 500 or more find a new user who is still low ranking but working hard and suggest in comments below that they are resteemed. In return I or another user suggest you resteem another new users content they picked and we basically resteem each others suggestion. We can also reach out to that new user and tell them we have resteemed them, offer any help or support they might require, and encourage their efforts. If you are ranked as I described at 40 or over with 500 followers then of course you're still a minnow, but you're far from new. Chances are you received a boost up and helping hand somewhere along the way and have gained a great deal of experience from it. We have a chance to not only pay that forward, but also help the new users get engaged with Steemit and want to stay with it. It also helps all of us to take part in strengthening and contributing to the platform with more than our own content and posts.

(image credit: commonswikimedia.org)

Some Suggested Guidelines For Suggested Resteeming Content From New Users:

  1. That they have a small following and only just joined this month or thereabouts.
  2. We all know crap content when we see it. I.e. Vote raping content or posts that just say "hi". Let's avoid those types of suggestions.
  3. They have a ranking below 30 and clearly are working hard. I.e. regular sincere contributions.
  4. Every three post you put up pop over to this post and chat to someone in comments and swap a new users post suggestion for resteeming. Hopefully we have lot's of people in the comments. Fingers crossed. :)
  5. When you do resteem the new user let them know. Offer help, advice, guidance, etc.

Ideally I'd like people making suggestions for new users who could use a resteem in the comments section of this post. To me, to each other, dialogue in general. Most of us know what type of followers we have for the most part and know good content when we see it. Resteeming two to three brand new hard working Steemit users won't clog your blog and you supporting them strengthens the platform. If we all took three resteeming suggestions a week for new users it could over time have a real positive impact. Not a huge one, but every little helps. I'm cancelling payout on this post as it's my humble effort to start an initiative and contribute to Steemit for the benefit of Steemit. Thank you so much for reading, many blessings, and Steem on.

Sort:  

This platform definitely needs more community-centric people like you my friend 🙂 I've been following your good example and trying to encourage and resteem new people and some of them are already doing really well. It's very cool to see 😊

Thanks Holo, appreciate you reading. I'm hoping it will take off but if it doesn't then I'll keep up my normal. Catch new users and help where and when able. Glad you liked the write up mate and Steem on. :)

Have Resteemed this one :)

Thank you, that's incredibly kind. :)

Both you and @davemccoy are some of the hardest working people I know helping new comers without a lot of the support that other groups and users have been delegated, but I think that the people who you have been able to help out appreciate it even more :)

Thank you @plushzilla. For reading and the very high praise. Any ideas you might have would be awesome and of course welcome. If every person on this post picked one new user and helped them along for a couple weeks and that effort was sustained for two months, the diffrence we could have a real positive impact. Granted, not whale sized, but every little helps.

I really like the fact that you are going out there and meeting people in person, and I had some ideas about how we might be able to encourage more face-to-face interactions.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@plushzilla/how-to-reward-the-effort-and-not-the-post-a-proposal-for-real-life-activity-reward-systems

Would love to chat to you about it (unfortunately probably not in person), but maybe on Discord?

I like it. Very good idea... Let's talk about how we can get you some more support.... I think I can get you some more eyeballs too. Since this post is 6 days old, I say we talk about it and you doing a new one... I have some good thoughts, I hope to hear from you...

ps thanks for the heads up @plushzilla

That sounds absolutely amazing. Any help in launching any organised effort to help strengthen the platform at a grass roots level would be happily accepted. Feel free to reach out to me anytime with any thoughts on the matter. Thank you so much for reading the post and look forward to hearing from you.

Here are my thoughts.

First I completely agree with what you are doing and love the concept.
Second, I think we can start a new hash tag and call it #newbieresteemday. We will both write a post to promote the concept of "regulars" (note: not sure what to call us over 40 minnows, so if you have a better description that's cool) taking a single day to devote their blog to resteeming new and interesting people... So if I have a slow day and I want to help in this way, then I as a "regular" will use my blog for this purpose (in the way you describe above).

The reason I suggest a "day" is so that people don't try to do this everyday and get distracted with other things. Its like saying to yourself, "today I'm going to help 20 newbies and that's my goal and objective". Of course probably wouldn't do it every day, but as me and you do it, then others might decide to do it too. FYI, I'm willing to devote a day to making a blog posts like you did and using it to take suggestions from others to resteem. Its like being a point-guard in basketball and assisting teammates.

Third. I think we should "name it"... as silly as it sounds, I've learned that when you name an initiative or program it will over time take hold. I suggest something simple that is self-descriptive like the tagline I suggested: The Newbie Resteem Day Initiative.

Fourth, I suggest we ask for volunteers to join this iniative and become "founding members"... So technically we would both first send out a post asking which of our members would like to be a founding member and pledge to do what we are doing at least one day a week. We might get 10 or 20 more to join us.

Fifth, I suggest that we get a logo created by one of the more artistic people here. We could have a contest to have people make submissions and use the upvote of the contest to give the SBD earned as a prize.

Sixth, I have made enough suggestions but I would say that I like your approach. You have given "suggested guidelines" which is cool and we can see how many "founding members" join us and then we can have a majority rules guideline selection for rules going forward.

Let me know what you think, and make any changes or suggestions as you feel appropriate. Its a great idea and I think we can make an impact with it.

Absolutely awesome suggestions. You and I both could begin this as a project under the structure you just suggested and of it could have a real positive impact. In regards to setting a "Newbie Resteem Initiative Day" we could approach it as follows: Start with the invite post as you suggested inviting members to join the initiative,
set a day every week in which we publish a post talking about the project and promoting it to other users. Then set another day in which you or I or both write a news letter of sorts on how the initiative is going, talk about promising new users who we have found who arrived on the platform and benefited from advice, resteeming, and any guidance offered, in each weekly news letter pick ten five or three or one new users promising post and use the pay out from the votes gained on the posts to promote it. If the post we have put up on the initiative hasn't flown then I'll put 1 SBD in to get it into promoted, if the posts do fly with a high payout on either of our blogs then a portion of the post pay out in SBD can go towards the promoted post or posts we have picked. A voting structure from founding members can be used to decide this as well. In regards to founding members, that's an awesome idea. The question is how small we keep that number or how large it is in regards to founding members. I have seen a lot of initiatives picked up and dropped on Steemit so we would have to ask ourselves which users we know of who will truly stay committed to promoting new users and not just ride a tag for votes. I have a couple of users in mind who are great blokes that may be interested and I'm sure you know a few as well. In regards to art logo's, it's funny you mention that as I found a newbie today who struck me as a great person to ask about this as art is her main theme on Steemit. I'll make inquiries today if she is interested in helping. If you would really like to joint me in running point on this as an initiative I'm more than happy to star it over the weekend. Tonight I will set up an email specifically for this initiative and for contacting me off site and relay that to you, and from there you can contact me with suggestions and ideas around it. I apologize for the sloppy structure of the response btw. It's one of those freezing cold mornings in the UK and I'm just waking up and brushing the cobwebs off. If you respond today I'm back at the keyboard tonight and will be straight on it as I'm quite keen to start something like this for the benefit of the platform. I'm out today doing a Steemit meet up with two other members and we are touring old villages monasteries and churches in our quite corner of Ol' Blighty so today is pretty much a full Steeming day. Look forward to your response and thank you for your wonderful suggestions.

We are definitely on the same page... I think we agree on everything. I have one issue that I'm not sure I made clear that I want to see what your thoughts are. That is my thoughts on the concept of "newbie resteem day".

The way I see it is that any of us "regulars" who want to support a newbie pledge to do so on any day of our choice. In other words, today I might choose as my day, but next week I might choose weds for instance. Of course it is voluntary and anyone can decide to make their day "newbie resteem day", and they would tag their "declaration post" with the hashtag #newbieresteemday so that we could all follow what they are doing and learn from each other and share best practices (plus see what works best with many creative ideas).

My idea was that anyone could decide to use their day to support newbies by using resteems based on the rules set (initially by you, later by the founding members). This would enable us to not only grow the practice of helping newbies, but would enable us to cover many different days as more join our effort. Hopefully people jump on the program and we have every day covered by multiple people.

I mention this because I think its important to encourage others to take a day and help the newbies with their resteem feed, and by making it a flexible as to which day of the week, it will encourage contributors to decide what works best for them.

That is just my thought, but of course I would be happy to hear input from you if you agree or not.

Also I love the concept of using the money from the posts to promote the newbie in some way. I will follow your lead on this as well. I would imagine that if we set the precedent of doing so (without mandating it) it would catch fire with the others too. (Note: its a subtle way to send a message without turning off those that might help but are afraid they will lose income for the day.)

I think I agree with everything you said and I agree with you on the plan of action. I also will prepare a post this weekend and of course I want to join you. I won't release anything or do any recruiting until you have sent me your post though. You are the leader and have the idea, I'm here to support you and will do what you need. And obviously I'm also one of the members that will take one day a week every week to make my day a #newbieresteemday ... Also any money I will receive from the post, I will also give back by boosting with the proceeds. I have finally figured out how to calculate the value of a post, so I can estimate the value and thus use the day's efforts to make an impact instantaneously.

I'm ready to go and excited to get moving, so let me know any thoughts you have and realize I'm on your team right now. I think this will do very well and do a lot of good. I think the idea of helping the newbies get going will be something that everyone can support.

I hope you have a great day with your fellow steemers and make sure to take lots of pics and post them. I'm usually on here most of the time right now so that I can make contacts and support people like you. If I don't reply within a day, please re-contact me because that would just mean I missed it. I get lots of replies to deal with already and I occasionally miss one. But I am super excited to join you and ready to get going!

Have a great day and awaiting your green light :)

Awesome. I agree about the day allocation as well. I just got waylaid with incoming unexpected arrivals for the evening so I'm going to do my Steemit post and jump on email set up and launching everything tomorrow. Sadly I have to prepare drinks and rooms for unexpected visitors arriving at nine. The meet up and walk went well today so I'm going to quickly get that post up then onto house work, and tomorrow once I've bustled everyone out the door onto steeming and launching all of this. I am incredibly grateful for your help and support. Thank you so much. :)

I am happy that you took this initiative and I'm excited at where it will go. I take my cue from your post, so let me know when it's out. Have a nice evening with your friends.

Right'o, I've posted the first post in the newbie resteem initiative. I'd love for you to take a look. I also mentioned you in it as you're helping me out so much with this. I'm incredibly grateful for that.

I'm going to check it out right now and will do my own post to introduce it.

My ranking is up (on Steemit just 3 weeks now) already, also from getting some boosts from bigger users, so I feel lucky! And I have to say that's partly what motivated me to stay on Steemit and invest more of my time :-) Not yet at the 500 followers count, but if I find a newbie user I'll think of your post :-) Thanks for doing this!

I have always enjoyed visiting your blog @soyrosa. Your eye for beautiful photography alone makes it a pleasurable experience. It's even been helpful as at the moment I am trying to work towards developing my eye at photography and I find looking at others perspectives and methods immensely rewarding. Thank you for reading my post, and above all considering what I am suggesting. Steem on.

Thank you! That's so cool to hear! I'm available if you need a long-time photographer to look at your pictures and help you advance a bit more, it's a pleasure doing so don't hesitate to ask! :-)

Good suggestion. I'm not even sure why I have never resteemed any posts. I guess it's just laziness and cognitive dissonance. It's the same with YouTube; I rarely click Like even if I really enjoyed the video. I'm such an ass lol. I will try from now on to resteem posts from users that I think are putting in work.

I had never used social media before Steemit as I always found something I would disagree with in regards to terms of use and use of my data. I never click agree until I read in full. I think Steemit has been a great first experience simply due to the amount of feed back I received from experienced users when I started.It has overall been awesome. I appreciate the read and above all you considering the feed back. Many blessings and Steem on.

I will be organising a steemit seminar in my school @ www.afebabalolauniversity.com.ng and it would be a novel one as a lot of people are unaware of the possiblities available on steemit. Cheers

Meet up's are always great no matter what your resources. If you can find just one person on the platform to meet up then you've got a steemit meet up in the works, keep up the effort and eventually that number will grow. A good way to conceptualize this is like a small caught spark in a small amount of tinder. If you nurture it and continue to add effort you can start a huge fire. I've went to your blog and checked it out and will continue to watch. Any help I can give then just ask. Thank you for reading and Steem on.

Interesting, I'm still new here and learning so much about how this platform works, it is fascinating.

It's great fun but still in early days so there's always something we can do to help play a part in its continuity. Thanks for reading.

Yes, true. Thanks for the insights.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62887.03
ETH 2682.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55