Sort:  

The official wallet can be run from the command line if you're comfortable with it and technical. I can give you some links if you're interested.

If you're not, right now the only thing released is eSteem, which is for mobile. It's maintained by @good-karma and he's also working on a desktop version. The website itself is the wallet for the bulk of the userbase, but most people with large funds use the command line wallet.

I would very much like to use the command line based wallet but unfortunately have little knowledge and I am not comfortable using mobile one just yet. but thanks anyways

Hopefully we'll get some more desktop wallets in the near future :)

Hello dear friends, how are you?
It's been a months after the Palu earthquake in Indonesia, Palu is still paralyzed. Hundreds of thousands of refugees injured after the earthquake and tsunami. Medical assistance is a very urgently needed. They depend on the help and generosity of others.
We from Asia Association Medical Donation (AAMD) the organization communities for physician, nurse, psychologist, and other medical workers focusing medical assistance in emergency response and providing quality healthcare, invite you to support their well being.
The donation will be use to provide an ambulance, medicine supplies, healthcare devices for hundreds of thousands refugees in needs in Palu, Indonesia. We provide wide range of donation method, support us from your preferred channel at:
http://aamedicaldonation.org/donation/

you have to trade your steem into bitcoin on poloniex and transfer your bitcoin to your wallet on steemit website

I guess there is no direct transfer method yet. Thanks
Edit: Apparently there is a direct address to transfer from Poloniex, check out @maryfavour 's reply

Hi @mrmeansoup, there is no offline wallet for STEEM. Your wallet is contained in your steemit address. Regarding your question about how to transfer STEEM from poloniex, I think this might help. You can find your STEEM address thus. 1. Click on your photo icon 2. Use the drop down button to find 'wallet'. 3. Click on 'wallet' 4. Find 'permissions' on the left side of your PC and click on it. 5. Click on 'active'. 6 . Select and copy the wallet address on 'active' (e.g. STM64ifx...) and paste on poloneix, the field where you should enter your address. I hope this helps you.

Got it! Thanks for your help.

Oh, I'm glad to know that. You are welcome. Anytime.

Hi @Maryfavour. I have tried transferring the coin to what it looks like my STEEM wallet address (The one on 'Active'), but transfer was not successful. it gave errors on Polo multiple times. Do you know the reason why ?

@mrmeansoup or anyone else it might help, forget the 'Active' key, in the address field you just need to put your username rather than any keys - I got the same issue!

Did you solve it? I can not send: with my address "Active" gives me error.

oh nice, thats what i was looking for. thx

That helps a lot, what about the other public keys used for... posting?, owner? and memo?... why not have one public address? and yes this might be a stupid question, but i am new on Steemit

I just made a discovery about mining Ethereum on Genesis mining. When you select ETH as the allocation you get the option to have it sent as Steem to your Steem Wallet. This means you can mine Steem on Genesis. I'm not recommending you spend money on cloud mining. If I had known about Steem when a put some cash into mining ETH on GenesisMining.com I would have passed on mining and invested in Steem. But since I'm stuck in a two year contract. at least, now I can mine Steem. If you check out GM and decide to give it go, you can get a 3% discount using my affiliate code, ckxJAN which gives me a boost in Steem hashing power on GM which means more Steem goes into my Steem Wallet.

Congratulations @mrmeansoup! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51