We have one of the best blockchains out there and one of the best communities but...can we handle real mass adoption? Are people ready to enter the crypto world?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

smart-cities.jpg

Image Source

It's been a while since the last time I saw a post sitting on the trending page without the use of bid bots. Well this happened today. And that's because @niallon11's gem describes with simplicity and precision what steem blockchain is all about.

There are so many advantages, possibilities and probabilities when it comes to steem. There are no limits actually,not even the sky as they say...but we already know that, right? Right.

The ones that don't know it, are the millions of people out there who are ignorant. And I ain't talking about big funds and investors or companies the size of GM. I am talking about the average person...the ordinary social media user who is wasting their time on crappy social media platforms...for nothing.

I know what you're gonna say..."we've all been there" and yes, this is true. So the question is how are we going to bring those millions of users to steem right? Before we get there let me ask you one simple question.

You really think that the average user is willing to get involved in the crypto sphere?

@niallon11 pointed this out really well:

For the majority of people when they hear crypto they hear the word bitcoin or to a lesser extent ethereum if they have looked a little closer. If I asked a thousand people in my city what they though of the STEEM blockchain I would be shocked if anybody knew what I was talking about. To be fair, if I asked 100,000 people in my city it would be interesting if anybody knew about what it is.
That is the stage that STEEM is at right now. People know about bitcoin because it has been on the news, it was the first mover in a new industry and therefore it is a household name.

I can tell you from personal experience that most people out there are either "afraid" of this new world, or they simply don't care and prefer to live their ordinary lives the way an ordinary person would do. Let's see some facts shall we?

According to numbers we are what? 40K daily active users? 30K? Let's say we are 10K. I am sure each and every one of us has mentioned steem to at least 5 people that are close to him (I've mentioned it to like 50) yet, how many people have you managed to persuade to join steem? To buy a few tokens maybe? To create an account and be active?

Don't get me wrong here. I want steem to become what it is destined to be. "The people's blockchain!" In fact I myself, have built my dreams upon steem.

Which raises another question. Hypothetically speaking, if for some reason 5 million new users were about to be registered tomorrow...how long would they have to wait if they were to be registered with the old fashioned way? Even the biggest apps which are creating new accounts on daily basis, how many new users can they onboard if we sum up all the new accounts that are waiting to be used since the HF 20?

Are we ready for real mass adoption?

I just feel that it will take longer than someone would expect...

Of course all these are completely irrelevant with the price of steem. I mean the whole steem market cap is valued at 151 million $ as we speak. This is nothing...A guy who lives a few miles from me has more money than the value of steem as a whole. And I am pretty sure there are thousands if not millions like him all over the world. What I mean is...all it takes is a huge whale or a big company to be willing to invest in steem and price will go up in no time.

As for the real mass adoption...we just have to be patient.

*All the above are my personal thoughts and nothing more. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Sort:  

That guy, just living a few miles from you, maybe he's interested in becoming a Steemwhale ... lol.

Hehehe he might already be...who knows, the ones with these riches are involved in every kind of investments...although I doubt he knows about steem...BTC maybe...

It is a good question and the quick answer I have is slowly.

These days, when I mention steem and crypto, I get less of that confused look as people know crypto.

Given that, when you think about the steemit interface, Wallets, steem and sbi, bits and dapps and witnesses and networking and the whole deal, it is a little daunting for the masses.

A multi-year beta is a contradiction in terms as far as I am concerned but there is still much work to be done to streamline and make it so that the early majority will join and stay.

Give us early adopters the head start on amassing which is great for us.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think too that it is a bit confusing and complicated for those who have no clue. Some things are confusing even for us who spend many hours here for months now

A guy who lives a few miles from me has more money than the value of steem as a whole.

Can you knock on his door and get him to buy some STEEM already? :')

But indeed, a sudden influx of users would create some challenges - and automation of accounts should be on the list right after we've optimized both cost of running witness servers as well as a better Steemit.com (I believe that is next on the list after the social/wallet split...)

I'm not sure under what scenario suddenly 5 mil Steemians would sign up, but it would be amazing - in a few months or so ;-)

That 5 mill users was just an example. I am sure we wouldn’t even handle 100K or 50.
So I guess the answer is...we are not ready yet??

Can you knock on his door and get him to buy some STEEM already? :')

I would have probably gotten shot the moment I stepped on his pavement by the guards

I feel like I've made it famous. Made it on trending and now a post about my post. 😂😂

I've already put a lot of my thoughts into the original post but I like some of the points that you have taken up.

The possibilities that we have on here. The new opportunities we will see this year. The businesses that are being built and the people that will come.

Everything is being put together and when it falls into place we will see the price follow. It's not there yet but this will be a big year. We will see a stage in the future when people are asking us how they can join the blockchain rather than us begging them. That's when you know we have won.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79