You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help! Why is it so hard to recruit new active users to Steemit!

in #steem7 years ago

I’ve been on SteemIt for about 3 months now and I still feel like I don’t know what I’ doing. To be honest: SteemIt is not a very newcomer-friendly site.
First of all, There’s no real, clear and complete Manuel provided (or maybe I haven’t found it yet). One needs to learn by reading other people’s post; useful information on how to get started is scattered all around.
Secondly, there’s an awful lot to learn: curation reward time windows, curation trails, guilds, powering up, upvoting wisely, not to mention having to use markdown to style your post. (And the list is an awful lot longer)
Also, there’s all those sideons. Visit this website to see your voting power, visit the other one to see your stats, go to steemvp, or to steemsupply...

In fact, the only Reason I’m still here is because I’m stubborn and I made a deal with myself to not quit.

I’m not even trying to invite others to SteemIt. After 3 months, I’m starting to get the basics, but there’s a terrible lot I don’t understand yet, which makes I’m probably missing out on a lot of money and SP. That’s really frustrating.

It’s not just: make money blogging. It’s not as simple as it sounds. To stay and learn, you need to put in more of your time and energy than most people can spare...

Sort:  

I have this older post that gives help for when you are new. I also just posted another minnow tip post. It's not easy, but it's worth it. Don't give up. I almost did in October and now I'm so glad i just worked harder instead.
Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

Yeah, you have some good points about the views as a new comer. I think I'm going to write a post about this very thing.

I'm kinda an ignorance is bliss guy, so for the first few months i ignored all that stuff your talking about curation and voting. I just voted for everything and didn't worry. I slowly learned over the first first few months, it really doesn't make a huge difference till you have a slider anyways.

I'd just concentrate on commenting, making friends, building your following and blogging.

You can have a slider as a minnow. I’ve just written a post about it: https://steemit.com/busy/@mike314-0005/a-post-vote-slider-for-minnows-and-monetizing-old-posts-it-is-possible

That's interesting, If I remember correctly I think you have a slider if you use busy.org as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67