Picking the Winner - HODLing Assistance series

in #steem6 years ago


It's been a little while since the last video of this series, so I figured today is as good a day as any. In truth, many of our negative outlooks when it comes to cryptocurrencies have more to do with the lack of some perspective. I should say, simply as a disclaimer, that I'm not a financial advisor and my opinions are just that, opinions.

However I hope that some of the points I'm bringing to the table make some sense to you, and that the parallels I attempt to draw evoke a healthy conversation on the subject. I've been powering up absolutely everything in sight, recently crossing the 6k SP mark. So this my friends, are not just words, they are accompanied by action.

Much love to you all

@meno


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great job promoting powering up, I think this is the number one sign that someone is in it for the long term. I actually don't mind that so many are inactive or gone - it has shrunk down this place quite well allowing for connecting with the quality folks who have remained!

That is possibly accurate... it did seem hard to keep up with content when it was coming at me by the truck loads.

:)

Hi meno. I had no idea that user retention was that low and I am still here which says something.

you are in the grind muh fren... and doing well :)

Very wise words and splendidly well expressed with blatantly lucid and visionary optics thrown left & right my friend @meno.

You are right! and I agree with your perspective here. As the history has already shown and specially on these days of economic and financial uncertainty, our previous experiences kind of never will be best advisors than our own common sense. Because as I suppose you also already know:

"Experience Is Something You Don't Get Until Just After You Need It." }:)

Oh yes, i love that saying... there is a more nihilistic version of it that is quite comical.

Wisdom is a gifted comb given to a man, right after he has gone completely bald.

Hahahaha just tell me about it... I am already starting to feeling it!! :o)

Tattoo.jpg

Even though i agree with you i can't quote you on that math... 99.9% of 5000 is 4995... so you are telling me only 5 cryptos are going to win? I'm betting on something like 99%-90% which means 50-500 cryptos, i'm betting on 99%, maybe i should use augur and start a bet on how much % of cryptos are going to be around in a couple of years...

Yes, STEEM is also one of those coins i'm betting on, but only if the problems are fixed or at least something is done about them... problems like voting bots voting bad quality content, revenge -flagging and taking out a small user, etc...

I'm being hyperbolic, but yes.. Let's say that when the bubble explodes we have 20k cryptos in existence... completely plausible atm - it might be 1, 2% something of the sort that survives.

Regarding the challenges of Steem - Of course, I agree... Rome was not built on a day, I think an SMT might polish the situation a lot more.

Thank you for the presentation, trying to get a handle on this platform and cryptocurrency. These videos help, thanks!

Best advice I can give any newcomer... Networking is 80% of the game. The other 20% is your content. But make sure your content is the best you can make it, just don't kill yourself.

:)

Clear concise and to the point. very well said.

I'm 29 so at the time of the dot com pop i was still pretty young but old enough to somewhat grasp what was happening. I remember driving in the car with my dad close to the year 2003 - He brought up the bubble - I distinctly remember him telling me something like -

"It will happen again. something new come around that ends up changing everything. You'll get a feeling. Soon its all anyone will talk about. the trick is - find a way to get in before too many people start talking."

5 years later and now we have the largest central bank powered bubble in human history.

Your father is a wise man!

HODL, the only sensible thing to do... I'm still kinda shocked by the fact that more than 90% of users don't stay. But it's good to be part of the top 6% for a change ;-)

hahahha yes, it's a good sign! when the rest jump in, we will be at an advantage.

Steemit Retention Flow....

tumblr_ovm04qPi4d1qckzoqo2_1280.gif

pretty accurate right there.

Bitcoin ETF rejected again... very bullish for bitcoin!

Steem.... so you think one of the winners in the future is not even in the top 30 today... very interesting. What if you are damn right?... mmm ;)

Bitcoin ETF rejected again

that's not actually accurate muh fren...

not accurate, why? I finally said bullish once and then you say not accurate? it seems we are always out of sync hehe

No no my friend, the ETF's proposed were not cancelled. A revision of a prior decision of last years proposed ETF was re evaluated and the final decision was made.

This is disconnected from the proposed ETFs everyone is talking about at the moment. This particular news is 2017-2018

Bullish Yaaah!!

we agree there

Sir your profile is very cute very nice your smaile i like it am new user on steem

Does flagging earn you SP?

actually bro, there is a flagrewards program I kid you not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45