BTC dominance climbing - How history repeats itself

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
If you are somewhat new to the cryptosphere you might be wondering what is going on. The total marketcap of cryptos is not really climbing as fast as one would hope, however the price of BTC seems to be very bullish at the moment. I've seen this so many times I'm pretty sure it's exactly the same cycle happening all over again.



img src

Alt-coins being dumped


The psychology of the markets is fascinating to me. And in my opinion, the only thing that TA attempts to do is to explain just that. If it does so effectively is another question all together. However, it does not take a degree on economics to speculate what is happening with the alt coins and BTC dominance.



As of writing this post, BTC is at 47% of the cryptomarkets. That number, as unimpressive as it may sound it's the highest its been for a very long time. Prior to publishing this opinion of mine, I tried to see when was the last time BTC dominated the markets with these margins only to confirm my suspicion, December 2017. What does this mean? Well, it simply means that more and more people are choosing to dump their bags, at a loss mind you, and jumping on the BTC wagon in expectation of a higher valuation of the king of crypto.

I could sit here and argue how doing such thing is not very logical, but as we know markets and their traders are famous for being irrational. So, that conversation is kind of moot at the moment. I will however say, that if you take your time to analyze this with a cold heart, you will find yourself standing in front of the cusp of opportunity.

Expectations behind the ETF


A few days ago I wrote a short post about this subject. I'm not one to hold my breath, but it seems to me that this could the main catalyst for this year's bull run and I'm pretty excited about that possibility. However, the cat is not in the bag, and nothing will be concrete until much later in the month of August.

Now, this does not mean that speculators are not salivating at the moment, specially when Bitcoin is rallying up the way it has for the past few weeks. We had a giant green candle on a thirty minute window in one day, injecting billions of dollars into the market as if someone just poured soda into a cup for a good friend. It's a little overwhelming to see in real time these things happen. It's as if my idea of what a whale is constantly gets dwarfed when a real leviathan shows up to the crypto-ocean.

Preparing for the Big Bounce


And this is the part that has my mind racing at the moment. Because, it always happens. Now, before I continue to explain this point, let me show you an image that will put everything in perspective. If you visited coinmarketcap at the moment, you would think wrongfully that the day is nice and green. But, this is not accurate, and that is putting it lightly.

As you can clearly see, all the "big names" are bleeding out. Why? How is this possible? Simply because you are being "tricked" by the USD valuation of the token. I've told plenty of my friends who are either just getting started or who are not to keen intro trading, that thinking in dollars is not the best way to look at markets. You must adapt your brain to think in Satoshis.

Someone with the right approach to crypto markets sees a day like today as a day of great opportunity. All the cryptocurrencies that are in the red, specially the top 10 ones are very likely to bounce. Please note that the key word I'm using is "likely" - I could not say with utmost certainty that they will, but if the market has taught us something is that it seems to obey these cycles.

In other words, someone could be looking to jump into an altcoin at it's lowest point against BTC and when it bounces back, when it catches to bitcoin's throttle, increase his holdings on BTC as a result. Should you do it? Should you take that gamble? That is completely up to you. I would hesitate to give anyone strong recommendations as I'm not a financial advisor and I don't want to be responsible for anyone's choices.

What I Intend to do


I'm going to grab the little bit of BTC I still have and buy some more Steem with it. Steem is looking so cheap at the moment is almost painful or irresistible, depends who you ask, for me to ignore. So, I'm taking a loss on another coin I was holding and I'm going to put all of it into Steem.

Now, that is not the end of my plan of course. I intend to put all the Steem to work, because as I've been saying for the past few weeks. We are in accumulation zone at the moment and I for one won't miss the train this time, no Sir. But please, do take into account that me sharing my strategy, my choices is simply my desire to share and nothing more. I would suggest anyone thinking about making any moves at the moment to do a lot of solid research, get as many opinions as possible and be ready to deal with the consequence of those choices.

I've given myself a goal and I'm ahead of schedule. I want to reach 7000SP before the end of next month. It looks as If I'm going to be able to pull it off and I'm very motivated at the moment as you should. It's so easy right now to collect SP, it feels like someone let a fat kid loose inside a bakery.

What are you planning to do?

Are you staying put? Are you buying more Steem? - What do you think the market is going to do this time around.



Other posts by yours truly

• Introducing mysteem tag - A better way of promoting Steem
• Bamboozld by a pretty face - Comedy Open Mic Round #23
• Open Mic Week 94 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions
• A hard pill to swallow - How I look at money
• Why don't we do more soft Promotion of Steem?

Sort:  

I'm staying put. I believe The bull season is coming. I'm hodling.

Indeed, I've been look at BTC rising and the alts bleeding too. Almost feels like old times...?

I feel like we are back in December prior to the crazy rally!

7000 by the end of the month - nice target. we need more awesome dolphins. I hope you reach your target

I will... dunno how exactly, not at the moment! but I hunger it! so I will! ;p

because you are so determined here is a vote ( every few cent counts right)

Merci Paula!! ;) - btw, are you getting helpie love? You should be... i'll check and if not correct it.

I've got no stomach for any trading strategy that relies on market timing. I just bought a little bit of several coins and expect some of them to take off while others tank. No telling which ones will be the ones to take off or when they will do it. All I know is that when they make their move I will still be holding them.

STEEM is different to me. I use STEEM every day to participate in a facinating social experiment. It has the very unusual property of growing as you use it. Can you think of anything else that you buy once, can use repeatedly, and grows faster the more you use it?

I don't know of anything else like it and that is why I buy STEEM.

Exactly my friend, I you just described me.. hey.. wait.. Did you copy this from my brainium?

I've been considering pulling the trigger on some steem for a couple of weeks now. I think I need to reevaluate my entire portfolio before the next run up happens.

imo its a bargain at the moment. but of course, that's my opinion.

we are in accumulation zone at the moment and I for one won't miss the train this time, no Sir.

Same exact sentiment! I can't wait to sell and then buy back in on a dip so I can have both cash AND crypto for a change 😄

Imagine if you and I had sold in January.... this bear Market would be a fun shopping spree instead of a grueling trial to endure with trepidation. 😄

I think about it all the time my friend, all the freaking time! but... lesson learnt

Technicals tell it is going to go much lower. Steem can go now to 2.1 USD, but it can be a very nice bull trap... then crash to 0.50 then 0.33. Right now it is 10 times more expensive than I want. Between 0.17 and 0.18 is a good level to buy, for 5 years or more long term.
Sorry for not being bullish. It is not a recommendation or advice in any way. ;) Good luck!

I hear you Hedac... but at the same time, there is a compounding effect you might fail to account for thinking of it entirely like that. For example. I've traded SBD's for other tokens, hence all my btc holdings have come from me participating of other markets.

The whole time I've been playing around with other tokens I've stayed active here on Steem, building the Steem wallet as much as possibly can. Since the price of Steem is "sinking" i've decided to bring those tokens back in the form of steem and put them to work. The intent is basically to compound my holdings as much as I can, and if it continues to go down, not slow down, but speed up.

If steem goes to 20 cents... I will be selling this house and I'm only half way joking to buy in. But, if it goes to a dollar, you bet that week i will collect 200 SP just from posting and more if I can.

When Steem goes to 8, or 10... every single token I sold, or did not make will hurt my psyche, and I refuse to endure the torture. hahahah

shared on twitter.PNG

Shared on Twitter - #mysteem Tag

Really today bitcoin was looking so bullish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46