POVERTY: NOT GOOD! Nominate A Quality Small Stake Holder For My Bot. ACCEPTING 10 USERS!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

colby_tyler_13-765-copy.jpg
Photo Credit: Stacy Kranitz: The Rape of Appalachia

Poverty.

The above word means a lot of different things to a lot of different people. When people hear it, a lot of different things come to mind based on the individual's experience with it. Some might think of third world countries, some may think of it as "lazy welfare recipients," some may think of people being dealt a shitty hand in life and simply struggling to survive. To me, that word hits extremely close to home, because it WAS home my entire life up until recently. It wasn't a pretty one for me and it surely isn't a pretty one for anyone else. One thing that I do have to appreciate from my experience with it is that it made me a very frugal person, I know the value of a dollar and I am not wasteful, I can survive and be comfortable in nearly any condition, I am humble and appreciative, I do not take things for granted, I can sympathize with people who are struggling to "make it," and I know how it feels to want but not be able to have.

The headlining photo is a photo from the part of the world that I grew up in: Eastern Kentucky. The trailer depicted is actually nearly the same exact color and model of the one I grew up in except we had a couple cinder blocks for steps, plastic for windows, and no underpinning. We also didn't have water or indoor plumbing. A lot of times we didn't have power. When we had cable TV or phone service, it was because my dad stole it and each stint of enjoying either didn't last very long. Clothes were whatever was given to us by local churches. Food was commodities from the government as well as the cheapest shit food stamps could buy. Breaking food stamps on cheap stuff like packs of gum to get actual USD back in change was a common theme. Life was a struggle and I understand the plight of others in similar scenarios. Alcoholism, drug abuse, lack of opportunities, seclusion, and mental illness do not make for a great combination to raise a family. Neither does a landscape that has been destroyed by extractive industries, leaving the watershelves/watersheds underground completely destroyed and a paid in full EPA to assist it in the grueling task of overlooking it all. The future of Eastern Kentucky is an interesting one.

Many people think that third-world conditions do not exist in America; they most certainly do.

Anyways! My rant is over. Being poor sucks. I understand that stuggle and now that I'm in a position to help spread some wealth around, I'd like to do that. That's where you guys come into play!

I NEED RECOMMENDATIONS OF PEOPLE TO PUT ON MY BOT. GIVE THEM TO ME!!!

Here are the rules:

  1. You must know this person.
  2. This person must have an account value of LESS than $500 USD.
  3. This person MUST be an active member.
  4. This person MUST have a track record of NOT posting low-effort content, e.g. just posting a meme, posting YouTube videos with nothing else to add, replies that are effortless such as lol, hehe, cool, etc. In other words, this person has to have put for visible effort to CONTRIBUTE to the community in a meaningful manner. Are they helpful? Informative? Inquisitive? Do they try to create a discussion?

What I need from YOU, the nominator:


ALL of this criteria must be answered or I will not consider your nomination, please make this easy!

  1. The username of who you are nominating.
  2. How much is their account worth?
  3. Preferably an example of a quality post they have made.
  4. WHY you think that they deserve it.

That's about it!

Each person that I accept will have their posts voted on by me at 100% for the foreseeable future. However, I do reserve the right to remove anyone that abuses their position such as they start posting lots of low-effort posts in order to game the bot and disrespect the rewards pool.

USERS ACCEPTED/ADDED TO THE BOT:


UPDATED: 06-06-2017 @ 12:09 PM EST

  1. @feekayo
  2. @timoshey
  3. @creativeusername
  4. @inna-yatsuk
  5. @bigbear
  6. @giantbear
  7. @rickyjrx
  8. @tradz
  9. @maya7

SIDE NOTE: Please check my thread out here: https://steemit.com/eos/@matt-a/free-eos-stickers-round-2-only-silver-are-left-claim-them-while-you-can-one-black-remains-o
I am giving away free EOS stickers to anyone that wants them, free of charge, mailed to you at NO cost! Please resteem to spread the word, I do no need anymore upvotes on that post, all expenses have been covered already. Thanks!

So what're you waiting for? Start thinking and nominate someone!

Thanks for reading!!!

Suggestions of people to follow: @robrigo, @kotturinn, @intrepidthinker, @sensei, @timothy-archer, @rahulyadav, @wakeupjohnny

Sort:  

Wow! This is great. I nominate
@feekayo
Account worth: $107.09
A quality post: https://steemit.com/steem/@feekayo/creating-value-how-i-developed-a-new-understanding-of-steem

I've known @feekayo for quite sometime now, i had the opportunity to have a meetup with him recently. Hes a really cool guy and also intellectually smart. He has this strong desire to create value for his followers and not just create value for himself.
Though he is quite new to steemit but he is gradually imbibing the right steemit character and I think with this opportunity he has to understand the core values of steemit early on, he has a bright future in the community and he's going to do very well.
Thanks for the nomination.

Steemit is beautiful!

Seconded on @feekayo.

Thanks @robrigo

@feekayo is going on the list! Thanks for the nomination and elaborate response, you made this easy for me.

Awww awwwwwwn 🙈. Thanks man

That life circumstance = You. Being grown in a immovable sickened enviroment caused you to engage with your mind, to continuously search for a way out. Strengthening your creativity , drive, imagination, and will to rise above!

I witnessed all of this first hand, and can confirm to the readers; spending many of nights at your house growing up.

You Made It Man!!!!

I'm proud of you, and everything you have single handedly accomplished for yourself! You inspire me to do and be better. Thanks for all the years of positive influence, and reinforcment! I'm sure it played a hand in sculpting me into who I am today.

Keep taring shit up!

You're murdering Steemit in the best way possible! Thanks for the mention by the way.

Yeah, one thing, if anything, that it's good for is making you crafty when it comes to survival haha.

Haven't made it yet, dude! Life ain't over, got a (hopefully) long way to go!

Thanks! I'm glad I could be of some positive influence, I try to set a good example, although a lot of times I know I don't. I try to always hope for the best, regardless. Nothing to gain in life from being a pessimist or from not looking on the bright side.

You're welcome for the mention! I try to always remember my gang haha.

EDIT: I got that SBD exchanged for you, should be in your account now in the form of Steem!

@timoshey

$165.41

https://steemit.com/life/@timoshey/failure-simply-means-starting-over

Great guy, he has been working so hard on his steemit account and blogging his ass off. Great articles everyone should see. Die hard volunteer for causes for the African child and altogether great guy

Perfect response! I am adding them now, thanks for making this easy.

Wow brother ! You nailed it .....the poverty in Appalachian mountains is brutal and overlooked by the masses .....the once hard working coal mining towns have collapsed into drug dens of thieves and viscous circles of betrayal leaving the majority of recent robberies and murders unsolved .....
Thank you once again for this post ....man im glad @intrepidthinker led me to you....you the man

Thanks, man. Yeah, it is getting uglier there. Each time I come back, things have changed pretty drastically. Less people hang out, more people are comfortable with not moving forward. I see a lot of giving up there, and it bums me out. More people are on harder drugs, more people are dead, more people are in jail, etc. Something has gotta give eventually . . .

Poverty its made by them they don't care about others,
but you care about others, you are a good man,
Thank you.

Thanks, man :-). I try.

Being from Kentucky myself, I too have seen third world conditions in a "first world" country.

This is a wonderful idea, man!
As I can't nominate my struggling self, i'll find an ideal candidate to add.

@tradz less then 500

Simply because he's always positive. If he didn't resteemed my post months ago. Which I made ten cents on. I maybe would have gave up.
Besides the quality content you need positive contribution.(imo)

Great initiative

peace

True. I just went over their posting history and didn't see much in terms of contribution with new blog posts, but I saw a lot of community engagement.

Thanks for the suggestion! I added them.

Thank you.

He will definitely appreciate it.

Peace

Hi @matt-a) Can I appoint @kostiayatsuk ?
Account for the amount $131.95
His post. https://steemit.com/yblog/@kostiayatsuk/my-stats-for-3-months
To achieve something in this life, Kostya works hard, he is very ambitious and purposeful. Now he works day after day, because he loves his work. We could make it easier for him, but Kostya wants to do everything himself. He has a fast career, in his 23 years, he achieved a lot, becoming the chief of the kitchen of a large restaurant.

I've actually had Kostya on my bot for a long time already! And I just put you on there. I thought that I had you on there already but I guess that the rule didn't save. You're on there now, though! Thanks for the thoughtful suggestion! Keep up the good work here!

Ok) Thank you for the answer))

Welcome! Gotta help my Eastern European people out! I miss Ukraine & Russia!

Excellent! I also try to help children from the orphanage.

I kept on checking on some of my favorite minnows, but they all were over the $500 mark.

Followed a few of your suggested people!

Well if you find some, please post them here!

Thanks, man!

"Many people think that third-world conditions do not exist in America; they most certainly do" - You sure got that right. I am always inspirited when you tell about your past, and what you came out of. Well done.

Thanks! I try to keep it as real as possible haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66