Failure Simply Means Starting Over.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170529_142515.jpg

I remember looking up to the board that hot afternoon knowing that if I failed a maths course that semester, I was going to be advised to withdraw from the faculty.

IMG_20170529_141530.jpg

I remember the heart break I felt when I discovered I would be resuming the next semester in a new faculty, that was the first time I felt what failure is.

IMG_20170529_143836.jpg

I went home that day feeling very sad, I felt like my world was collapsing right in front of me, like there was not going to be an end to that tunnel. I lost interest in everything that once interested me and almost gave up on schooling.

Failure doesn't mean the end.

I had the whole semester break to think about my life. I did a lot of thinking, about what I should have done better, how I should have gone about it and all.

images (13).jpg

After a lot of soul searching , I was finally able to come up with a strategy that helped me throughout the rest of my stay in school and its still helping me till date. I will share these strategies soon. I didn't eventually graduate with the highest honours(a first class), but I was able to put myself together and had to settle for the next best thing(a second class upper).

The fact that you're not doing well now does not mean you won't do well later on.

This is what kept me and have been keeping me going 'Hope'.

Never make the mistake to quit or give up after a failure or a setback.

images (8).jpg

Rather than quit or give up, you're encouraged to soar even higher, set targets for yourself, try to meet those targets. Do not feel dejected. OK, I agree one might actually feel sad and dejected, its allowed but what's not allowed is you letting that sadness or dejection weigh you down.

What do you do for example when the price of steem falls?, you buy more and more and keep buying because you've this hope and believe in steem that the price is eventually going to rise again.

We could transfer that hope and believe to ourselves in such a way that whenever we are down, facing a setback or a challenge, we are sure we will eventually get back on our feet, thus removing all the worries and heart burn.

The road to success is not one you can pass through while entertaining distractions, you need to be focussed and committed.

images (9).jpg

STEPS ON OVERCOMING FAILURE.

  • Admit You've Failed.

This is the first step in tackling and overcoming failure. You've to accept you made a mistake somewhere. And this mistake proved too costly. You don't necessarily have to go around telling people you're a failure, NO, you're to admit it within yourself.

  • Get Up.

images (2).png

Failure makes one weak, I've experienced it first hand, you have no desire to get anything done, you just want to lay miserably in bed all day long filled with regret.
After admitting to yourself that you've failed, the next thing you need to do is to ## Get Up. Get up from that self pity, get up from that depression, get up from that heart break. You need to get yourself prepared for the tasks ahead.

  • Figure Out What Went Wrong.

The next thing you need to do is to figure out what exactly made you fail, what went wrong. You can't deal with a problem if you don't know or can't identify the cause of the problem.
I advice you probably get a pen and paper this time, try to trace your actions back and find out where you got it all wrong.

  • Draw Out A Plan.

After identifying what must have gone wrong, you then go ahead to create a plan of action. Proper planning is needed to turn failure into success. You plan how you're going to correct your mistakes and how you're going to do things better this time around.

  • Follow Your Plan.

I need not tell you this. After going through all the stress of drawing out a perfect plan, you will be doing yourself a whole lot of good by following them through. No matter how difficult they might seem, never back down. Always picture yourself crossing that finish line, the joy, the satisfaction, the feeling of self actualization. All these should be your drive during this stage.

  • Wait For The Result.

After you might have followed through on your plan to the latter, the waiting period begins. The length could vary depending on the situation. Be it an examination, a marriage proposal or even asking that special person out on a date. We wait for the outcome. If the result is a success, that's good for you, I rejoice with you. But if its otherwise again, you move on to the next step.

  • Start Over Again

Yes you read it right. You dare not give up again, you start all over from admitting you've just failed and then follow through all those steps till you eventually get that good news and people are able to rejoice with you.

images (6).jpg

Persevere, don't give up. You will overcome and be successful in no time.

images (2).jpg

The race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, nor wisdom to men of understanding, but time and chance happeneth to them all.

Let's not focus on the fact that our neighbours are making it and we are not. Your time will come, let's just patiently wait for our time while we continue the hardwork, giving it all our best.

Success will come to those that deserve it.

Remember Failure Is Not The End, It Simply Means Start Over.

images (4).jpg

THANK YOU.

HOPE THIS POST HAS HELPED YOU. KINDLY UPVOTE, LEAVE A COMMENT, SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES TO HELP MOTIVATE OTHERS. DON'T FORGET TO RESTEEM FOR YOUR FOLLOWERS.

STAY MOTIVATED.

IMG_20170525_082842.jpg

Sort:  

There is no such thing as failure, only feedback

Thanks for stopping by.
@surgewisdom do you mean 'setback'?

No i mean Feedback .

Ooh ok, i think i just got an understanding of what you're talking about.
Thanks for the contribution, its highly appreciated.
Steem on!

Great post bro. Everyone needs to see this

Spread the word my friend.
Steemit is beautiful

Thanks @timoshey

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "promote" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/promote

Thanks a lot for the free promotion. I really appreciate the help.
Steemit is beautiful

Wow. Just wow!!

@the23chronicles thanks for that. I just wanted to help everyone with my past experience

your'e welcom ,pleas visit my post

Will definitely do my friend.
Steem on!

Great to see you rethinking! Growing up requires defining and redefining in a loop!

Thanks so much for taking time to go through my post. I sure am the most awesome person today.
Steemit is beautiful

Great post Thank you very much for your time and your thoughts 😎👍
Have a nice day with best regards from Cologne Germany my name is Lars @laloelectrix
#follow you now #upvoted and #resteemed

Thanks a lot @laloelectrix. You're far too kind

Nice, deep reflections @timoshey

Thanks for going through my post.
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46