WHY IS THERE SO MUCH DIFFERENCE BETWEEN STEEM POWER AND STEEM BACKED DOLLARS IN MY ACCOUNT BALANCE?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I have noticed a steady decline in the account balance of my steem wallet. The difference between steem power and steem dollars in my account is huge. I don't understand this difference any longer. I hope my account is not being tempered with. Can someone please explain to me what is going on?  Thanks in anticipation. 


Sort:  

Yes. I have noticed that. I converted some sbd into steem using the system of the three days average, and the exchange rate was much less favorable than the current market price. This is due to the prices of SBD and Steem do not fluctuate in tandem. They have different fluctuations with respect to the BTC.
The FAQ claims that 1SB is approximately 1USD, but this is not true. Now it is approximately 1SBD=1.40USB, and some days ago it was near 2USD.

Thanks @nenio. Honestly, I've never had the need to convert SBD TO STEEM. I'm just getting to know of the 3 day average calculation. I know that the value of STEEM and SBD are not the same. When I say that steemit is a school, I'm not wrong. Imagine what I've learnt today - 3 day average calculation. I appreciate your support.

If someone was tampering with your account, they would need your keys to make a transfer. If they moved any of your SBD, that transaction would be registered in your transaction history. I don't see any transactions in your wallet that suggest foul play.

True. That is very correct. I was just frightened. Thanks for your assistance.

I still don't understand why you had the feeling that the amount of SBD in your account was decreasing, but I really don't think it's possible to be moved without that transaction being recorded. I could be wrong about that, though.

Maybe you should take a screen shot once a day if you are still worried about it.

My wallet has decreased too.

Thanks. I understand the challenge that the coinmarket faced 4 days ago and it is still down by about $20 billion. At first the difference was not so much, but now look at the big difference.

Account value is average price of last tree days or something like this. Don't worry too much.

Ah ok. Average price of last 3 days. I was frightened. Actually, it seemed like someone had tempered with my account. Thanks @oldtimer for saving a soul.

Yes @rodbrumleysr, but the difference is not suppose to be this huge.

Thanks Mary, for the steem.

Oh, it's my pleasure. I'm grateful for your support so far.

You are welcome. We rise by lifting each other.

Steem Power and Steem Backed Dollars are entirely separate balances, so there's no particular reason they should be close to the same. Steem Backed Dollars are tokens convertible for 1 US dollar worth of Steem, so they should always be worth at least the same as 1 US dollar. Steem Power is Steem that's locked in a vesting account to give you voting power as part of the community. It's value varies with the exchange price of Steem.

Thanks @troglodactlyl. I understand that there is a difference between steem power and steem backed dollars. However, the difference have never been this big since my 2 months in steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49