To Join Or Not To Join

in #steem8 years ago

Always Faithful! That is the USMC motto and that is a commitment I am willing to make. Ever since I was 12 years old I have wanted to join the Marines. Lately, this is something I have been considering because it's something I have always been passionate about. Besides my family, I have never been so passionate about anything in my life. I wasn't going to tell anyone in fear that I would be rejected as a woman because I wanted to do this. Second I was fearful my friends and family wouldn't support me. My best friend said she didn't agree, but she supports whatever decision I made; however, I did not feel any support. I am not doing this for the money or to support my family. I know I could go months or years without seeing them, but I want to teach my children to be passionate about something they hold dear to their hearts. Even if all I did was become an engineer for the USMC I truly believe I could be happy. Although she did not agree, I understand where my friend and her husband are coming from. The world has gone to shit. Plain and simple! It is corrupt and manipulated by the worst president and Presidential candidates possible. I truly believe I could help the world though. Even if it is only one child or adult at a time. This is my dream. To help our country become a safer and better living environment for my children and for the children of my friends and everyone else. Joining the Marines does not mean I would become a sniper. I could be an engineer! Who knows!

I know they are concerned about me and about the way the world is today. I know they are concerned about my safety and my kids safety. I know they don't want me to die without watching my kids grow up. I know that my kids will need a mother. However, I want to teach my children to chase their dreams and do what they are passionate about. I don't want them to sit down later in their lives and regret not doing something they have wanted. I have always said I never regretted anything, but that was a lie. Not joining the USMC has always been my biggest regret. I know they heartache, struggle, sadness, and regret I have felt my whole life for not doing what I wanted. I do not want the same for my children. I do not want the same for your children or your children's children. I want to say that I tried my best and I did all I could do. I know that I am the only one that can truly make this decision, but yes, everyone else's opinion matter to me no matter how hard I try not to let it matter. So please, keep my family and I in your thoughts as I struggle with the best decision I can make for my family, and thank you for taking the time out of your day to do so.

Until Next Time....

Maria Vincent

Sort:  

Congratulations @maria.vincent! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maria.vincent! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43