✍💭Thought For The Day #20: Are you HONESTLY enjoying your days?💭✍steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” - Eleanor Roosevelt

This post is inspired by a train journey on the way home from London the other day.

blue sqaure.png

I had spent a lovely day out in London and was feeling very happy, calm and grateful. Little did i know I was at the train station bang on rush hour in London. Oh what a great place to find myself in. I was observing the other passengers; boarding the train there was pushing and shoving and shouting to one another. Once we were on the train I had never witness such as lifeless bunch of people. Everybody was immediately glued to their phones, almost hypnotized into a distraction from the reality they all seemed like they had. Their phones served the purpose of keeping them distracted and not having to really ask themselves if they were living their life, fitting with the above quotation. If people weren't engulfed in their phones then they were drinking alcohoI on the train. One lady opposite me actually had to reach for her Gin. The alcohol just seemed to make these people numb and vacuous to their current reality. I doubt 90% of the passengers on that train could be true to themselves and no BS themselves and really say that they were happy with their lives. Yet, they ALL still have unlimited choices when they wake up in the morning yet, as ignorant as they may be, are choosing to lead the life that they live. There was a time when this could have been me, getting dragged into the treadmill and rat race of life. But upon observing and honestly feeling as if i have jumped out of the matrix, i ask myself: 'is this really what life has to offer'? Continuous, repetitive, depressing cycles of dis-empowerment. That is what I saw in the people around me. I am so glad and grateful that I am not that person/those people. I pray for them and wish them the best. But I try to live a life somewhat fitting to Eleanor Roosevelt's quotation.

Let me know your thoughts below:

Best,

@luppers

Sort:  

Yep @luppers that's the tube for you, everyone distracted living in the past or the future and not realising that life is about the now. I went to a meetup with some Steemeans in London yesterday, which was a lot of fun, they all seem to be living in the now, it seems to me that this site attracts the open minded free thinkers, have a great weekend

How was it? Unfortunately I couldn't make it. Would love to go to the next one. Are you guys keeping in touch somehow? Discord?

It was a lot of fun, I'll let you know when I hear of the next one, or if you follow @redrica as she was the beautiful sole who organised it

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow nice post friend.I did what you said😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @luppers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.066 which ranks you at #24212 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 171 places in the last three days (old rank 24383).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #223.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44