You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journey to 100k Steem Power!

in #steem6 years ago

Hehehehe... @khaleelkazi it's simply Afang soup of the Calabar people of southern Nigeria. Afang-soup-7.jpg
Truth is man, if you ever taste this soup or the Ekpangnkukwu of the same Calabar ethnic cuisine, you would shoot twenty men next time just to grab a plate.

Oh okay, I know maybe am exaggerating with the shooting but I just can't explain the joy of having a plate of it. If you don't know about the Calabar people, they are the tribe in Nigeria that host the famous yearly Calabar Carnival. If you ever fly down here and needs a plate, I'll sure make sure you return home with a testimony. Cheers man and congratulations on the steps you've made so far On your goals.

Sort:  

Wow, that looks amazing! I definitely want to try it, maybe I should fly out there and grab myself a plate! When is the carnival and is it open to anyone? That sounds like a lot of fun!

Carnival-Calabar-2017-12.jpg

The carnival is a whole month festival from 1st - 31st Dec every year. But I usually go there the last three days when it will be at its peak. It's the biggest Africa street carnival open to everyone and usually draws participant from all over the world. Would you like to see a sailing boat on land? Well here it is.
IMG_20180301_043440.jpg
Or perhaps a ride on a scorpion bike
IMG_20180301_043350.jpg

You can read about it on wikipedia and check last year's photo's here

Preparation are already on against this year's carnival as reported here.

You remember your review on the alchemist about finding happiness and I told you am writing a similar post. Well, Calabar carnival is one of those moments I relax to enjoy the beauty of life while planning for the next business year. Hope you will make it there some day. Have a beautiful day @khaleelkazi.

Wow that looks amazing and it sounds like a really great time! I may have to journey over there to experience it this year in-person! Thanks for sharing and I will read more about it!

I also have your post saved in a tab still but haven't gotten the chance to read it yet, I promise to read it tonight!! Have a wonderful day as well @lordjames!

That food looks amazing, I don't think I've ever tried Nigerian food, what are the spices?

Am not really grounded in this cooking thing. I think I enjoy cooking more when it is in the plate, lol. But you can check out donneys kitchens recipe for the Afang soup here. I hope you will be able to get the necessary vegetables to prepare it.

Thanks, very good post !!!!

Awesome Work!

Keep it up!!!

@cryptoinvestinfo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43