Sort:  

We've already had one for four years, I'll gladly take 17 that can be voted in or out.

Except without transparency, we can't know who these 17 are, and what they stand for.
Who is actually holding the witnesses accountable?
I see some witnesses being voted in based on charisma, propaganda, misinformation and even dishonesty rather than on merit.
The level of apathy is concerning. It's like people don't know, and don't care to know, and certainly don't care to do anything about it.
I'd be happy to vote 17 "good" witnesses in. Who have a clear and unified vision. Who are professional. Who are willing to work together. Who know what they are doing. Who know what they need to do. Who have the skills, resources and know how to get what needs to be done, done.
But who are they? How can I know? I have had some real shit experiences here on Steem. I don't know who to trust anymore.
Man alive!
Maybe this is the wakeup call the community needs. Maybe they can finally get their ducks in a row?

I haven't concluded that Justin is a moron (yet).
At least one man has one vision. And from what I can discern at least he is business savvy.
I can't say the same about the witnesses we had. From what I can see they struggled to work together. They struggled to solve problems. They struggled to get this project to take off.
I feel like they have had their shake at it and we've witnessed the results.
I personally would have liked more transparency and more say.
I would like that moving forward.
I don't know what will happen. I "hear" Justin wants to be able to power down over a 24 hour period now. That should be available for everyone or no one. And, that really scares me. Is it the way people have behaved? I mean, I have observed the way people have behaved. It's, I don't even have words. Appalling. Disgusting.
I really am left not knowing what to do. Honestly. I haven't pulled any funds out yet. Should I pull them out, should I re-vest them? I honestly don't know at this moment. What a freaking gong show!

Honestly. I haven't pulled any funds out yet. Should I pull them out, should I re-vest them?

I'm personally keeping my powered-up steem where it is. If the chain forks, you'll still have all your tokens and associated on-chain benefits, but the market price will likely drop significantly.

Justin also might just dump all his steem on the open market out of spite in order to crash the price.

So, if you can't afford to lose the cash-equivalent of what you've "invested" in steem, you might consider cashing out until this whole thing blows over.

I have already burned this account by speaking up.
It's hard to discern what is real and what is talk. I have heard "talk" of hacking and nulling accounts. So I can risk leaving it here, but why, and at risk of losing it all. It's not like "I need" the money. But, I could give it to charity or do something nice with it. I don't like what my money is currently promoting. I am ashamed by how people have behaved, the things said. I hate being represented in such a way. Ugh! Yeah, I have wondered with recent rumors if he is getting ready to dump everything. Somehow, I can see it as a possibility. From .17/Steem to .017. LOL. face palm I just don't know what to think anymore. I appreciate you talking me through this insanity. I really do. I value your point of view and intellect. I appreciate that you substantiate your points of view. I can't see a different point of view if there is nothing to see. I think people don't understand that.
And you, do you think things will ever change? How can we make that happen? Is there a way?

And you, do you think things will ever change? How can we make that happen? Is there a way?

This will all blow-over in about a year we won't even remember it.

If The Sun fails their hostile-take-over attempt, they will probably get mad and dump their steem.

Sure, this might cause steem to drop down to 0.0017 USD, but there are lots of cryptos even lower that are still viable blockchains.

And if "the steem community" is real, and we actually survive this trial-by-fire, the value of steem will recover, my guess is a "natural" free-market-value should be about 0.01 USD. And it should stabilize around that mark and will increase in value slowly as the COMMUNITY grows.

I have already burned this account by speaking up.

Your tokens are safe.

Their value may crash, but your tokens are not going to be "stolen" or "frozen" by the top 17 witnesses (regardless of who they are or might be in the future).

Because if that happened, then steem would be worth zero and they have a lot more to lose than you do.

And, I don't even think it's technically possible (nobody has a copy of your steem-keys).

Yeah, and when it comes to my account. I am pretty much cooked because I spoke up. I think given the circumstances, it was worth it. I can only hope there is a future, a brighter future for Steem. Perhaps, I am naive for hoping. Perhaps. Sometimes, I know I can be too much of an idealist. Sigh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72