Sort:  

Thanks. I usually only upvote my own comments when I know that there will be a sea of spam comments. Am I still not supposed to be doing that? :/

Good question. Jerry is somewhat of an "authority" but he does advocate self-voting, in another post which I noticed from a screenshot in the above: https://steemit.com/steemsecrets/@jerrybanfield/earn-24-renting-steem-power-with-minnowbooster-8

I was interesting in reading that other post, because I had used MinnowBooster but recently have found that using http://steemvoter.com is working much better. I'm staying down around 40% voting power, which is fairly low, so I'm probably going to change the 23 (20 from the contest last week which I put a link in a different comment to you, plus 3 from an even earlier contest) from 50% voting power, down to 25%; I already changed them from 100% to 50%, the day after announcing the winners, as my voting power had dropped dramatically.

Anyway, a lot of folks say self-voting is bad, and some whales will downvote/flag self-votes that they see, which both eliminates the earning, and often has a negative effect on the self-voter's reputation. I did, early on, and stopped once it was pointed out.

I have come to be of the opinion that I will never self-vote myself, with two exceptions: one, an "angry whale" decided to attack me a while ago, so I self-voted to undo the damage he had done. Two, when I make a comment to one of my posts and want it to be the first thing seen, I'll upvote it 100% so it will be above the other comments that I've upvoted -- which I generally upvote 10% for everyone who comments on my posts, unless they're obviously fishing for upvotes or follows, and sometimes when I just can't make sense of it, as ambiguity could be positive or negative, so I generally just leave those alone.

Anyway, I see this as a flaw in Jerry's otherwise excellent output. Then again, I still have a lot to learn! :)

uuuuuh no u need to upvote your on POSS just not your own COMMENTS only upvote your own comments if you need to get it seen and to the top of the list!

But I agree with you about waiting ONLY IF Youre already a whale! Some whales 9i wont name names, lets just call him Minertia, will not upvote his own posts untill after a few days when hes seen that everyone ELSE likes it,then he can feel its ok to upvote his own post, and then no one notices!

But when youre a minnow like me, and you only geta few cents to upvote your own post, i dont feel its wrong to have the self vote check box always on, i barely make much in curation so u can be DAMN sure im gonna be upvoting my own pots 10 cents every time. JUST NOT my coments!

Upvoting your own comments is just lame UNLESS youre trying to realy get it seen or raise it up to the top!

But just dont comment spam and upvote bullshit like a period or a blank comment like ther IS abuse and it DOES happen but we will be fine

steem reward pool will be SO BIG you wont even CARE about self upvoting :D

Well, I was responding to his comment which he upvoted himself on, but you're right -- the devs put a checkbox to upvote your post while creating it.

I leave that checkbox unchecked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62678.32
ETH 2438.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66