Changes are Afoot! Halt the Power-down!

in #steem8 years ago

With Steemit's official Proposal Changes to Steem Economy released yesterday and the upcoming November 16th hardfork seeing implementation of most of the proposed changes we're already starting to see a reversal in the STEEM / Steem Backed Dollar markets.

Over the course of the last 24 hours we've seen a major influx of new capital flow into STEEM and a raise of nearly 100%. This is in part due to renewed morale among both witnesses and veteran STEEM users but also partly caused in my opinion by the fact we're going to see a massive drop in the STEEM inflation rate on the network. Read that first link for more info.

Stopping the Power Down Cycle

The past month has been uneasy with the steadily declining STEEM price but now with favorable changes have been proposed with what looks like a majority witness vote backing it we're very likely to see more growth here in the near future. One aspect of the upcoming changes that I personally am excited for is that I'll no longer have to power down in order to recoup my infrastructure costs. Currently the operating costs between my witness node, the steem.global seed node, streemit.online and it's high performance streeming server total a little over +$250 per month. I was extremely lucky to find community support from various sponsors on the STEEM network, a page on streemit will be created shortly to list donators and their amounts pledged.

I'd like to personally thank @pharesim for sponsoring the next 3 months of server costs for the streemit project! Not only does this significantly decrease the out of pocket costs of myself on the development of the site it also goes to show you that some of the veteran witnesses are using their current power-downs to support STEEM projects.

Many others have donated as well towards the running of streemit. I'll post a link to the sponsors page when completed.

Optimistic Future Outlook

With previous months seeing a steady decline in STEEM value it's refreshing to see changes being proposed and implemented with such speed. As a network STEEM is still very much in it's early stages and we're likely to see more positive changes implemented in the future as the machine is further dialed in to create the perfect platform for immutable content sharing and delivery. STEEM is here to stay, and we're just getting started.


Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You can vote for me easily by clicking the link above and upvoting klye:



A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada
(News on @steemcanada Campaign Soon!)

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Great piece. Upvoted. I think people are finally waking up to the future potential of STEEMIT's Technology. Like Bitcoin, STEEMIT is turning out to be a Global Game Changing application of BLOCKCHAIN. Cheers. Stephen

Thanks for the reply and feedback.

We truly do sit on a world changing piece of technology here in my opinion.

You may like this....
https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/795033437677768704
Thanks again for sharing your post. Stephen

StephenPKendal Stephen P Kendal tweeted @ 05 Nov 2016 - 22:41 UTC

"We truly do sit on a world changing piece of technology here in my opinion."..!! #GameChanger #SocialMedia @steemit https://t.co/BSOW2ydSb6

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

As an artist and a goof, I sure am happy I've followed a few smart people who seem to know what they are talking about. Thanks for this information, keep up the good work. I'd be a liar if I said the money aspect isn't important to me. Learning about how it works here is very important.

While the money part is awesome.. The very fact we are all pilots on a globally distributed immutable social media network... Well.. That's where the real value of STEEM is in my opinion!

I could not possibly achieve a higher level of agreement. Though some like to abuse the flag system in an attempt to mute the things they do not like. I hope soon the opinion portion of the current flagging system will be removed and the abusers put in their place. That is my opinion. Now if someone were to flag it, the way this system works, I'd be calling bullshit because that is causing harm to our social network. We cannot walk around slapping people when they say something we don't like. We could, but we choose not to. If we did, it would be deemed antisocial behavior. See what I mean?

Ned took the piss bro at the price of steems expense.

I support steemit. Not neds back pocket. No excuse for what he did if he truly cared for the continued rise in the price of steem. Shocking behavior from the dev himself.

@ned dumped a ton of steem just after the announcements. To cash in on the rise but also it held the price back. As a result of said major dump the price dropped from people panic selling. On average it rose regardless but because of those 3 major dumps that happened the price in my opinion has been held back easily 20-25% less than it would have been. People who bought steem cheap and seen the price drop due to a huge sell order panic sold. All of the loyal people hold on. Ned has no excuse to dump when he did as any one with huge faith in steemit would have held. Why dump if it will be worth a ton more in a few days? (because he doesn't think it will be) i have been quiet recently due to trading on polo and i watched steemit real time. I watched the 3 seperate dumps happen around 40 mins apart. Everytime it rose to 0.0003 they dumped. then waited for the prise to rise again. So basically @ned you take the piss mate. You should have held for the good of steemit and you would have even made more money. Although these ass holes dumping major amounts of steem is in NO way good for the steemit economy. I will not be a silent fan boy when the devs are pulling this shit. Ned won't even response to these questions because he knows we are all fucking right.

I'm not sure of all the details of that.. But I can't get angry with Steemit Inc getting funding for more development.

I am sorry but steemit would have got more funding if that steem was sold on steemit itself. Instead of dumping on polo and affecting the price? i can no longer be blinded by my support of him. I am sorry but after i seen the questionable withdrawals i thought "whats he doing, curious" then without mere hours of the transfer around 35% the total amount sent was dumped? pfft. no chance man :/ i was watching the market myself real time. I am disappointed above all else :/

Hi @klye, your greatest fan here

Maybe you could put some ideas forward for me. Let me know what you think of these proposals to add to the fork.
https://steemit.com/steem/@beanz/powering-down-going-from-104-weeks-down-to-13-options-to-power-down-slow-and-other-ideas

I'll have a look at it and s if I can whisper it in the right ears. :)

Get on up there bro... We need more positive...

Vote Kyle and keep kittens safe worldwide!

Thank you for the support. We're all on the same team and in this together.
Up to us to direct STEEM in the direction we as a community decide is best.

Yes, and "best: at this point in time is for you to upvote my well thought out comment...

We need to save as many kittens as possible Kyle...

I've often suggested this myself @scammymythingiewhatnot

It just goes to show some folks talk a good show but when the cat is on the tracks they fail to see the train :(

lol, I reckon it is also possible to beat a dead cat. Let's not do that :)

I wasn't worried at all.
I think the only thing about the changes that I'm not completely partial to is the need to vote witnesses every 3 months. I wrote my opinions about it on steemitblog's post about the changes. That being said, it's nice to see the value of my wallet increasing. :) Keep up the great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48