Go Big or Go Home on Steem

in #steem6 years ago


Welcome, friend. @kenmelendez here with some motivation to help you succeed with Steem.

There's a chance that you may not be taking the amount of action neccessary to achieve your goals. You are playing it too safe.

If you're anything like me, you have high-standards and want to build something substantial on this platform. The word that I have for you today is this...Go big or go home!

We've heard this phrase in the past, but have we applied it to our Steem lives? To our blogging routines? To our video creation?

Grant Cardone @grantcardone wrote an incredible book called The 10X Rule. In this book, he describes the different levels of action which are retreat, do nothing, normal levels of action, or massive action.

He goes into detail and explains that normal levels of action is actually the most harmful to society, because it tricks us into thinking that we are doing enough to "get by" and reach success. In reality, this is not true because normal levels of action cause us to simply spin our wheels and not make significant progress.

onelovedtube.png

The only level of action that will separate you from the rest of the crowd, is massive action. To put this practically, consider the following example.

Say that you are producing one video per week and posting it on @dtube. You might think that this is acceptable because it is "normal" or "average".

When in all reality, if you want to go BIG on Steem, posting a minimum of once per day is more in the massive action realm. Some creators are publishing 2-3 videos per day which is truly massive!

This message aligns well with my previous video where I encouraged you to keep showing up no matter the circumstances.

To put things plainly, what I am saying to you is to take risks. Step out on a limb and take action like never before. Now is the time to build your profile and make Steem your vehicle to success in 2018 and beyond.

templte_banner.png

If you have any questions or comments on this topic, feel free to leave your thoughts below and I will respond to them.

Allow this message to be your encouragement that anything is possible if your properly assess the amount of action your goal requires, and then hitting that goal by taking the actions neccessary.

Once you do this, you will see the momentum building, which will build your excitement, which will then encourage you to take more actions.

Thank you for stopping by today, friend. I hope the rest of your day is amazing because you deserve that.

Until next time, remember...YOU ARE AWESOME. See you in the next one.

-Ken
@kenmelendez

P.S. Help me in celebrating the 500 follower milestone by entering my contest to win 25 SBD! Go here for details.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I disagree with this. The basis of this disagreement is empirical observation. I observe that 90% of the posts, particularly those coming from users that are hyperproductive, are mostly empty noise and they should be posting 1/10th as much as they do.

I understand where this 10X rule comes from in this context -- there is so much noise that for us to have our signal heard we need to increase our volume. This happens in social media; this happens in my professional career as a scientist. There is so much noise that for me to get noticed I am expected to publish 2-3X the average. Yes, increasing my production, by writing content that is a little less important, does yield short term rewards because I get noticed.

The problem is that this only contributes to the noise and as everyone around me recognizes that the noise is increasing, they increase their volume as well. This is not a sustainable model. We talk all the time about sustainability when it comes to building communities, the environment, and business models, yet here we are standing in a room of 100,000,000 other twitter users shouting the same 140 character message as loud as we can over and over again.

To be honest, I've only been on Steemit for about a month and I'm already muting users that I followed because I find that they fill my feed with low quality noise. I'll probably simply wind up unfollowing them. It reminds me a little of when I used facebook. I found myself unhappy and cranky after reading my feed during the 2012 election so I started muting people -- any person that posted anything dealing with politics or religion I blocked. It made me happier. I went on to discover that the more people I blocked the happier I was. Eventually in 2013 I quit facebook entirely.

At this time Steemit isn't as bad as facebook, but it has the potential. I'm still very optimistic about this platform. However, returning to my original thesis, I disagree with the 10X rule when it comes to posting on Steemit.

By the way, I don't disagree with the 10X rule in general., https://youtu.be/_UwbpGU75r4 but in the context of posting more fluff more frequently, this shouldn't be encouraged.

My comment begs the question, How does one get noticed over the noise? That is another question for another time. :)

Hi @spbeckman. Thank you for your honest feedback. This message was geared towards content creators on Steem who desire to build a long-term legacy on Steem by consistently providing high-quality content to the community.

I agree with you in the fact that people who put out low-quality posts should not post more frequently. They need to first put their energy into creating valuable and informative posts that contribute to the community at large.

Wish you much success in Steem if that is your desire. If not, I hope your experience is positive regardless and that I can aid in that experience.

Cheers.

-Ken

My comment was a bit off the cuff. I didn't think it through all the way, and I hope that it wasn't too harsh. I'm sorry if I was -- I don't intend to be.

As I think more about it, the point that I want to make is that the 10X rule is about "giving 10X of what is expected." That doesn't necessarily mean 10X the number of posts. In my mind having 10X the quality of post is more important.

Having said this, we're not living in that world.

In the scientific community we're judged based on our publication record and we have a saying, "Quality of subjective. Quantity is not" People know if I publish X papers per year, but they don't know if I'm just writing fluff or high quality science.

The funny thing is that truthfully, we all do know, and we can tell when we read a paper if the author is trying to contribute or trying to boost his paper count. But nobody is willing to make a statement about quality. I've never seen a tenure case in which someone says, "Mary only wrote three papers, but they were all outstanding, lets keep her." or "John, wrote 15 papers, but they were basically fluff articles, lets fire him."

But this comes back to the 10X rule meaning 10X more -- in 2000 the average engineering professor wrote about 10 papers for tenure. In 2015, the number was closer to 20. The expectation continues to rise. It isn't sustainable.

Again, I apologize if I sounded gruff in my comment. I don't intend to be, this is just a topic that I'm very passionate about. (I see the young people today that I teach and how hard their lives are, compared to mine when I was their age due to the elevated expectations and I worry about what my daughter's world is going to look like when she becomes an adult.)

Regarding Steemit, I'm going to be successful here, but I'm looking for my own path for success. The more time I have on this site, and the more people that I meet, including yourself, I become increasingly excited about the potential of Steem. I'm starting to develop ideas about "real world" applications that involve the Steem token.

Fantastic @spbeckman. Appreciate you and hope you have an amazing week. Thanks for this...You definitely get the award for most thorough comments! 😀

Go big or go home and go big on steem!

Thanks SHIFFU!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50