Is STEEM Working For You?

in #steem5 years ago

“Yes, of course it is!” - Is the obvious answer. Blocks are getting processed every three seconds as they have been for years, people are writing blogs, commenting, posting videos, playing games, working out, and otherwise interacting with the blockchain. STEEM has proven itself as a stable, scalable blockchain with low block times, no fees, and tons of applications.

However, do I, as a regular person on this platform, think that STEEM is working for me personally, for my own blog? No, not necessarily. Very few readers, less commenters, mostly from bots. Not exactly ideal, but happy to keep posting in case someone is watching or someone cares.

I play a lot of SteemMonsters. SteemMonsters is fucking working. It’s an engaging game that gives out in-game smart contract tokens as an in game currency! How nuts is that? I’ve often thought about how crazy it would be if RuneScape or World of Warcraft had a crypto-backed protocol tied to the game, allowing real-money exchanges at the Grand Exchange or the Auction House. After what I’ve seen from the developers on STEEM these ideas don’t seem too far off.

STEEM is working for people who are large stakeholders in the system, those who self vote, sell votes, or delegate for substantial profit. This is the reality we live in here. It sounds to me like HF21 is aiming to incentivize curation and effectively crowdfunding projects (Steem Proposal System) from those larger accounts. An interesting tactic, and I think worth a shot to engage with staked users and encourage the ecosystem to grow. I think the conversation surrounding SMTs is way played out now, especially given that we have Steem-Engine doing a lot of that work. However, I understand that creating tokens on a Steemit-based SMT protocol is supposed to be cheaper, and have other advantages being coded by the same group as condenser and everything. So, like most others, I would love to see some action there but I don’t think a pinned post announcing new attention given to SMTs really helps all that much at this point. A new timeline? Maybe, but even then the STINC team has lost some serious credibility when it comes to their SMT project. In the end, I hope that they persevere and make it work.

Is STEEM working for you?

image

Sort:  

We have a lot of products based on the steem blockchain, steemengine, steem monsters, busy, partiko, dtube, steemhunt, actifit, dsound, and despite some of them having received some initial steem power, (taken away), they have all pretty much made their own products with out the help of SPS, or steemit, so I question the need for SPS. If a group of dedicated people want to build, they build, they take the attitude if they build it people will come. It worked, people came to those applications. Now compare them to some of the Steemit backed projects, have they succeeded? Or did they end up being vaporware, or off to greener pastures.

What was/is the purpose of the steemalliance the non-profit back steem projects project? Were they not initially tasked with deciding how steemit resources such as SP should be delegated? What projects should receive backing? I may have completely misunderstood the whole purpose for it, and I am not saying I did not misunderstand, but that was and is my understanding of what they were designed and voted in to do.

Is Steem working, absolutely not a doubt in my mind, is steemit working? that is where I am not to sure. It seems to me SPS is nothing more than a non-government decentralized-centered tax. Steemit made a deal with someone, not busy, not partiko, not steem monsters, not any of the other front ends or applications on the steem blockchain, yet they and their customers are being taxed on a decentralized platform by a centralized organization via SPS.

It seems to be working for some people, though like you I don't have much interaction on my posts, sometimes I do... But generally it's mostly crickets outside of a few regular people and some possible bots/people in poorer places of the world trying to mine/fish upvotes.

I'm still here because I run a contest here and because I have hope it will be better in the future, though the censorship resistance and all the other perks don't mean very much if no one is commenting or interacting with my posts.

There's a lot of problems here for sure, though a lot of good people who I respect are still trying to make something happen and are not giving up, so... I'm sort of just using it like I use other social media and hoping some day it will change and become more popular and not feel like such a ghost town.

I think the model of one account one user is probably not going to work in steem's case, but I think steem as infrastructure for projects is incredibly useful and attractive proposition still - perhaps even more especially with the relative drop in price.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @k0wsk1!

You just got a 5.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @k0wsk1!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.723 which ranks you at #4879 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 161 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55