You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I highly respect those who do not use Steemit for selfish ambitions!!

in #steem6 years ago

I don't blame you at all for being a profit-seeker. The way I see it, my time is a scarce resource, and I expect compensation for sharing it. It does seem to result in a lot of garbage posting and those posts getting upvoted, certainly, but if that is the way the system is working in the short run, people are going to act in ways that maximize the return on their time-investment.

I have come and gone from the platform several times, and my opinion is that it doesn't have to be an "either-or" situation. If you are producing quality content that has appeal to other Steemians, the trick still is to get on the radar of those potential upvoters, commenters, and followers. The only way to do that, it seems, comes from investing yourself in the curating and commenting side of things, which builds community and brings attention to your own efforts. That way, you not only have to produce popular content; you have to consume the content of others. I definitely upvote and comment on some of the more popular blogs, but I balance that with saving some of my voting power for those blog posts I find compelling, like this one.

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback :) I know, 98% of the people here want to make a profit from Steemit, and that is really fine... and I know that a way to hopefully catch the attention of some whales is by commenting and upvoting their content. That is also reasonable! But, for me, it has kind of become so wrong when I with my little voting power still almost only vote for content, not even because it is a whale, or because the content is good, but simply because I hope to get a curation reward that is worth something.

Of course, I do not have time to look through Steemit searching for great content all day, but I will do my best at maybe being a bit less selfish and rather upvote some great content worthy of an upvote, instead of upvoting posts I never intend on reading or posts I am not even able to read (because they are in a different language)...

When I find good content, I typically make it a point to follow the author as well, to enjoy (and reward) consistently good writing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Following authors with good content is a great thing to do, will for sure make it easier to find the same authors again later at least (and upvote their future great content as well)! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60767.58
ETH 2376.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57